We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the prize!”
Review of The Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Genarp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Due to the prize our expectations were high. We have been to different spas in Sweden before, which were all perfect. This was NOT, I’m sorry to say, because the concept is good.
The dinner was very disappointing: no white wine available, the only rose wine left was lukewarm. The barbecue was chaotic; people did not get what they’d ordered, or they might have forgotten after 45 minutes waiting… The langoustines (written on the menu on their home page) were simply not there! Not one of them. And those were what we most wanted. TIP: Changing a home page only takes a minute! The side dishes were not even worth mentioning. We cannot argue that the Lodge never serves gourmet food, but we surely assert that the food we got was far from gourmet food. Also, there were not enough deserts for all, we are sorry to say. The breakfast followed the same pattern; few dishes, not attractive. We arrived 15 minutes after start, 8 am. It looked as 20 people had already eaten, but nothing was replaced or rearranged. We suddenly did not feel hungry any more.
The staffs were not attentive and when leaving nobody asked for our opinion if everything was OK or so.
The rooms were quite big. But the advantages we appreciated were first the enjoyable and well-marked tracks in the forest and second the spa treatment, which was SUCH A TREAT!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AroundTheWorld000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla P, Director of Sales at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your review.
All staff at The Lodge are constantly working to improve our standards, among other things by being attentive to how our customers perceive us. We have after your review had a staff meeting with all staff to ensure that our high standards are followed. This summer, we served a BBQ Pick & Choose followed by a generous dessert buffet which has been highly appreciated and which we received a lot of praise for, so it's sad to hear that you had a different experience. We have a large wine cellar and always have cold white/rosé wine available. In the autumn, we are thinking about modifying the concept of our breakfast a bit, however, we will continue to serve organic and locally produced food here at The Lodge (as much as possible), that we will not change. Finally, we would like to get in touch with you so that we can handle your feedback and hopefully be able to welcome you as a satisfied guest again in the future. Please email us at info@thelodge.se.
We are looking forward to hearing from you!

Best regards,
The Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 166 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

The rooms are very tiny and not very equipped. Beds are worst kind of cheap stuff. Felt like a 90-year-old after spending one night.

The spa: Two shared bubble baths and a sauna. Does that qualify as a spa?..

The 5-course dinner: Quite average level kind of stuff. Same "beetroot paste thing" reused in at least 3 of the courses. Obvious that the menu is mass produced and served in parallel to all the guests. Service is below average with much waiting between courses, little attention. Wines somewhat boring.

Breakfast and afternoon tea included, which were ok.

We payed 4900 SEK for 2 people which is the least value for money I've had in a long time.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wormskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieLinblad, Manager at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Hi Wormskin

Thank you for your review.

Sorry to hear that you were not comfortable in our beds. Its very individual what guest´s think of the beds, however we hardly ever get any complaints.

With regards to our spa, we are currently in the process of building a larger spa facility, which is the building on the right of the original spa that you saw. We are following the development plan which unfortunatly takes time.
You might not seen it, but we have 2 nice treatment rooms for massage and facial treathments.

Surprised that you feel that our gourmet dinner was “Quite average level kind of stuff” since our restaurant is renowned for serving gourmet food. Which reflects the fact that we are often invited to participate in gourmet events. e.g. Nordic Cooking.

“Same "beetroot paste thing reused in at least 3 of the courses” – sorry to say that you are mistaken, beetroot was only used in one course. - The menu you can see here;
1: Fennel risotto, safran and capers
2: Cured salmon, mixed beetroot, creme cheese, and sea buckthorn
3: Venison, chanterelles, corn and cherrys
4: cheese
5: Poached pears, rosemary, blackberry´s and bluecheese icecream

“Obvious that the menu is mass produced and served in parallel to all the guests.”
- We are not an a la´carte restaurant, so yes all guest are offered the same menu, which changes monthly and seasonally. The kitchen is small and limited, so we cannot mass produce anything.

Very sorry to hear “Service is below average with much waiting between courses, little attention” since our staff are higly trained and professionals.
-However, this has been taken up with staff and we hope that you have been the last guest to experience that!

Finally we are sorry to hear that you are “not going back”. However, you are more than welcome back, hopefully you will have a much better experience if you do so.

Best Regards
The Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I dont agree with the other review of this hotel. There´s no artificial timber and plastic decor, but it is a resort build in an New England Marican style. Its very charming and cosy. But the rooms are VERY small, We stayed in a cottage with a double bed, only one bedside tabel and one nightlamp. There wasnt room for more. The room was preheated and very hot, to hot!! The beds were nice but the room much to small.
When you buy a packet to the hotel you can get a 4-5 course gourmet dinner and there is a spa and a selection of beauty treatments. We had the 4 course gourmet dinner, but there wasnt that much gourmet about it. It was a nice dinner, but to claim its a gourmet dinner would be to exadurate. The view from the restaurant is priceless, if you go in the summer you can sitt on the deck and enjoy the sunset and the beautiful nature.
The breakfast was ok, but nothing special and all in all, the price is to high for what you get, and we even got a discount, but still to pricy. Perhaps a room in the main building offers some more comfort, but the bungalows are very small.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla P, Director of Sales at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay. Our 9 cabins have a little less space than the rooms in the Treetop Lodge, but many people prefer them because they are peaceful and quiet. We have changed both our breakfast and dinner concept a bit since you were here, so I hope you will be even more pleased next time you make a visit to us! Welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Bought a discount voucher for and overnight including a snack, spa, 3-course dinner, night and breakfast.
Pro's - very nice surroundings, a real hidyaway, bathrobes & slippers. Free coffe, tea, fruit, dried snacks and water. Waiter Joachim!

Con's - American Lodge alike - If you fancy artificical timber, plastic decorations, way to go!
Double room includes 1 rocking chair, no toiletries, noisy fans, dust balls hanging out from the shower fan and blinds needs a good cleaning(room 4).
Cannot remember when I last stayed at a hotel (this claims to be a conference hotel / SPA) not providing a hairdryer in-room (am a frequent business traveller) when asking at reception - none was avaible the one they had "might be broken"!!!
Breakfast - was down around 8.45 (breakfast hours 8 - 10) facing COLD eggs, both the 3 and 6 minutes eggs - when asking reception weater this was a Swedish habit I was a told that the eggs were warm when the buffet was arranged - never were the egges replaced or topped up during breakfast????
SPA - 2 x jacuzzies, shower and a sauna - not my idea of a SPA-retreat - wonder what the business delevopment plan will be?
The outside sitting area could have been blessed by the beatyful view - however the designer choose to put up a bamboo fence instead of glas walls!
Wonder if the owners just rest in peace that they did a job 5 years ago and do not need to have a continious development plan for their business? Such a shame!

Room Tip: Bring you own hairdrier and toiletries at this SPA-resort!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SisCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla P, Försäljningschef at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank 243gunnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla P, Director of Sales at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 525christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla P, Director of Sales at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genarp
21.8 mi away
Ystad Saltsjobad
Ystad Saltsjobad
#2 of 6 in Ystad
3,581 reviews
17.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Malmo Live
3.8 mi away
Hackeberga Slott
Hackeberga Slott
#1 of 1 in Genarp
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden
21.7 mi away
Villa Strandvagen
Villa Strandvagen
#1 of 6 in Ystad
115 reviews
18.6 mi away
Quality Hotel View
Quality Hotel View
#5 of 37 in Malmo
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge

Address: 621 Soedra Ugglarp, Genarp 247 98, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Genarp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Genarp
Price Range: $200 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On one of Skane's highest peaks rises The Lodge. Our location is unique with fantastic views over the hills to the west and the forest to the east. Here with us at Romeleasen, 165 meters above sea level, you simply live in the middle of nature, yet only minutes away from both Malmo and Lund.The entire The Lodge is built in the romantic New England-style and we strive to be different and unique in both large and small. This, we hope that you experience, whether you visit us as a private guest or conference guest.The first thing you will see when you come to us, is The Main Lodge. Here you will find the reception and restaurant, our cozy lounge with bar and a large veranda. The fireplace, cast iron stoves and the special New England spirit creates a relaxed and soothing atmosphere.Although The Lodge is not a large hotel we can offer a variety of accommodation options. The Tree Top Lodge has 12 large rooms with a fantastic suite, all with views over the countryside. In our Cabins, surrounded by greenery is further nine tastefully decorated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge Sweden/Genarp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing