We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit country”
Review of The King's Own

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in The Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The King's Own
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Rock
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed one night, 01 SEP, and I had a comfortable bed, clean shower and toilet. Tv, Toaster and Jug, mini fridge. What more do you want. Ok, as has been mentioned previously it not the Hilton, but for the money paid I didnt expect Hilton. Jason and his staff were friendly and pleasant. I would have no hesitation in staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pw2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for The King's Own
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

I stay here for work 2-3 times a year and have never had a problem with the rooms or the hotel. it's not the Hilton but as for friendly service and the best atmosphere you can't go wrong.
The price and food are outstanding quality.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heath h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2008

This hotel-motel is strictly 'one for the locals.'

It is at the edge of a very pleasant town with the town's main claim to fame being the monolith that towers over the southern edge of town.

The accommodation was basic.

The rooms were poorly maintained.

While I did sleep, it was with a sense of relief that I departed next day.

There was nothing poor about the proprietors' attitude - but please, spend some money on the place or cease offering accommodation and concentrate on alcohol and meals!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayAce, Manager at The King's Own, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

This review was unfortunately posted a couple of months after we took over the hotel. The hotel was built in 1965. The current owner unfortunately is not willing to invest the money required to bring it back to its former glory. The Hotel and the motel are kept clean and tidy and most of all affordable. If we were to complete a full renovation of the motels the price per night would be much higher than $70 per room. We continue to get return patronage in our motel due to the relaxed atmosphere of both hotel and motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Rock
15.4 mi away
Junction Motor Inn
Junction Motor Inn
#5 of 31 in Wagga Wagga
228 reviews
20.3 mi away
Australian Homestead
Australian Homestead
#1 of 1 in Gumly Gumly
83 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hanericka Farmstay
Hanericka Farmstay
#1 of 1 in Yerong Creek
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Own? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Own

Address: 4760 Olympic Way, The Rock, New South Wales 2655, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > The Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Rock
Price Range: $56 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From July 2016, The King's Own is under new management and we are working hard to improve your experience of our friendly family-owned and locally run bar, restaurant and motel, uniquely situated on the Olympic Highway at The Rock. The King's Own provides a relaxed, friendly and quality pub experience for those who enjoy a beer or two but we also understand the need for a child-friendly, family-oriented dining experience for locals and passers-by. We are proud to offer both. We support and welcome our hard-working truckies and are happy to offer them a place to shower, a hot meal and a cold drink to break up their long haul. Our motel is undergoing constant changes and improvements and as of September 2017 are delighted to offer a choice of newly renovated or standard motel rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing