We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice but may be too quiet for some”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Raheen Woods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raheen Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Certificate of Excellence
Shankill, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very nice but may be too quiet for some”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

I quite liked this hotel. The bedrooms were very nice. I couldn't fault the bathrooms either. The lobby, bar and restaurant were all nice as well. We found the reception staff exceptionally friendly, the bar staff were decent as well. The bar food was adequate, portions of main course were not enough. One scoop of mash is not very filling ! I had a turkey and ham on the first night that was nice, but the mash was miniscule. I had the woodland chicken on the second day, and it was quite tough and not very nice. The breakfast was nice on both mornings. If you are hoping for a late residents bar, you can forget it. The hotel bar was very quiet and lights were out around midnight. This hotel is in a remote place outside Athenry. There are no paths and twisty roads leading to the hotel, and no taxis around. If you want a quiet relaxing hotel, this is the place for you. It is not going to be a busy happening spot.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurstYourBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWoodsGM, General Manager at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Dear Guest,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your most kind review. I am glad that we met your expectations in most areas, and will take your comments on board, in order to improve in others.

Our continued improvement is made possible by feedback such as yours, and again many thanks. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,

Frank Corby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    96
    42
    12
    9
See reviews for
124
142
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one night last Saturday night. The room we were allocated was directly over the bar and the room rocked with the sound from the disco underneath until well after 1am.

We found the breakfast staff to be rude. There was no bread available at the buffet. After three requests for some white bread we finally received it. The buffet breakfast was cold and virtually in edible.

The room was basic and both the bed linen and carpets were significantly stained.

I was disappointed with this hotel as it was very impressive from the outside but looks can be deceiving.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cupcake05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWoodsGM, General Manager at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Dear CupCake,

Thank you very much for your feedback with regards to your visit to our Hotel.

I have noted all points, and will endeavour to ensure that all points are covered as soon as possible.

We do hope to see you back soon again, and if I can be of any assistance, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Frank Corby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

The hotel is rather new and very modern furnished with big rooms and a big bathroom. You also get an iron and ironing board, a hairdryer and the usual water boiler to make tea/ coffee. There is free wifi although not so well working from all the rooms but there are cozy sofas enough in various places all over the hotel where you can use you pc. There is a big parking lot, an indoor pool, sauna and large fitness room (to be shared with a sports club - you have to use a bathing cap!) and a nice bar with large flatscreen TV but also a separate room where you're not bothered by sports on TV. The bar prices are moderate (for a hotel in Ireland!), service there, at breakfast (which is large with many juices, different types of bread, eggs etc.) and at the front desk is efficient and friendly. The area where the hotel is situtated is quiet since it's a little outside of town (about 10 minutes to walk to Athenry) but also with easy access to the motorway to Galway. The hotel is listed as 3 star but compared to other hotels especially in the Mediterranean I'd rather say it's 4 star. So enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnlady56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWoodsGM, General Manager at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Dear MnLady,

So nice of you to take the time to review Raheen Woods Hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here, and we look forward to seeing you soon again.

Your comments will be passed to the relevant departments, who I'm sure will be most pleased.

Again many thanks,

Frank Corby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

We booked a last minute one night break in the hotel, having availed of a great offer of 1 night B&B for 2 people at €80 at alpharooms.com. We arrived on Saturday evening to a very friendly receptionist who was very helpful and told us all we needed to know about our stay. The room was lovely and spacious, we had requested a room with a patio balcony and when we went out, we were surprised to see that it was one communal balcony. We would have prefered if the balcony had been partioned off for the private rooms. The bathroom were very nice and clean. We availed of the leisure centre facilities and really enjoyed sampling all the steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and pool had to offer. There was some late night noise as our room was located over the bar but nothing too remarkable. We had requested a particular paper for the following morning and it was promptly provided to us by a member of staff at 10am. We went down to the restaurant for the inclusive buffet breakfast and whilst the pastries were delicious, the breakfast fry items had been left there for a while and the heating implements underneath had gone off. We did eat towards the end of the breakfast period but we had to request that they bring out more sausages as there were none left when we went to fill our plates. I had eaten here previously and the food was delicious so I will just put it down to the fact that it was a half an hour before the end of the breakfast service. Overall , we had a very pleasant experience at the hotel and I would really recommend it to anyone looking for a nice relaxing break- great location-really feel like you are getting away, friendly staff and great value.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Killerqueen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed for one night on a special of €130 dinner and b & b for two adults - children under 10 free accommodation. We were given a room with a double and a single bed. We had lunch in the bar - staff were friendly and food was fine. We used the indoor kids play area - very good (warning they don't serve any food down there on Sundays) and the leisure center - ok. We would have had dinner in the restaurant but they were serving a tour group and asked us if we minded using the bar. If I have any complaints it is that the dinner menu was the lunch menu so here we go again. Once again staff very friendly and food was fine.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWoodsGM, General Manager at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2010
Dear IrishA,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad your stay was so pleasant. Your comments have been taken on board, and we hop to see you back at the Raheen Woods Hotel Soon again.

Sincerely,
Frank Corby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed there for two nights recently and wont be returning ever. I asked specifically upon booking for a very quiet room as our son has autism so noise affects him. Well the room we were allocated had nothing but "thump thump thump" disco underneath on the Friday night of our stay and while two of our kids slept our son didnt. We complained to reception who said they would move us but we didnt fancy dragging kids out of bed so we had to stay up with our son until after midnight and the noise stopped.

The hotel was very quiet at buffet breakfast and we were practically the only guests there on our last morning. The gentleman on breakfast duty kept coming over clearing away our plates and we felt very uncomfortable indeed. At one stage I asked him was our table needed or something which he just replied "no" and kept taking bit and pieces with him. Now he should have checked with us before he cleared as it would have been basic curtesy. We ended up leaving the table as we were being watched like hawks and it just was so uncomfortable and unenjoyable. We asked for simple baked beans for our sons breakfast on the first say and they had run out.... Low and behold the next morning they had none either so little things like that can make all the difference especially to a child with special needs as they only eat set things.

There is so much choice out there at the moment that if a basic room request cant be met and customers are not allowed to dine at their leisure , then quite simply they wont be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMBLESIDE71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWoodsGM, General Manager at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2010
Dear Ambleside71,

May I take the opportunity to thank you for submitting your constructive feedback on your visit to us. All your comments have been taken on board and will be dealt with immediately.

If our restaurant manager appeared over attentive, I do apologise, and will ensure that his level of attention is adjusted accordingly. As for the lack of certain menu items, I do sincerely apologise, and will remedy the situation immediately. Once again, my thanks for your input, and we do hope to see you again in Athenry.

Sincerely,
Frank Corby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for five nights 30th May-June 04. We have stayed in many hotels in several countries but this little GEM surpasses all of them.From the moment we arrived we were treated with real genuine courtesy.Reception was fast and effecient, our room was first class in every way. Food in both bar and restaurant was varied and excellent and the service staff in both areas were very professional.Our sinncere thanks to management and staff for giving us a most enjoyable short break. We will be back and soon
yours sincerely

PHYLLIS and MARTIN

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank martinbolger3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWoodsGM, General Manager at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2010
Dear MartinBolger3,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Raheen Woods. We do strive for excellent customer service, and your pleasant feedback is most welcome.

All of our staff in every department work really hard to make the stays of all of our guests comfortable and enjoyable, and you generous feedback will be passed to one and all.

Again many thanks,

Frank Corby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athenry
16.5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
9.9 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
7.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
7.2 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
13.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raheen Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raheen Woods Hotel

Property: Raheen Woods Hotel
Address: Raheen | Galway, Athenry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Athenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Raheen Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Guests come to Raheen Woods Hotel for that Home away from Home feel only found in a Family Run Hotel." Raheen Woods Hotel Galway is delightfully nestled in the world-famous Fields of Athenry in a most tranquil woodland setting with beautifully landscaped gardens only minutes from the ever vibrant city of Galway. We offer the finest accommodation in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raheen Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Raheen Woods
Raheen Woods Athenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing