We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, family friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Raheen Woods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raheen Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Excellent, family friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2009

Cannot praise this hotel enough - we were made feel so welcome - even wth two very young children. The staff went out of their way to help and nothing was an inconvenience. The pool and changing rooms were immaculate - with the added advantage of Kardio kids in the basement of the hotel - great to let the children loose and let us sit back and enjoy a coffee. THe bar food was delicious and special kudos to the restaurant staff - they chatted away to us and our children - going out of their way to make sure we had a most enjoyable meal. We had interconnecting rooms - which were lovely - very clean and spacious. Broadband available throughout the hotel - with lovely quiet corners on the various landings to sit and surf or simply take it easy. Cannot say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiingTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    96
    42
    12
    9
See reviews for
124
142
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed at the Raheen Woods Hotel for my friends wedding in April. Firstly, on arrival we were greeted by a friendly smiling receptionist, sorry can't remember her name, but a credit to the hotel.

Our room overlooked the beautiful gardens, and we had a balcony, thank you honey..Great night had by all at the wedding. We left the bar at 5am, and we were taken care of by Sean, again another super ambassador for the Hotel.

Next morning, we were late for breakfast, but again, not an issue for the restaurant staff, just a friendly scolding for staying up sooo late.

Staff really made this wedding weekend, one to remember...Take a bow. Oh and the hotel itself is also exceptionally clean hotel...Sorry we didn't get to sample the leisure facilities.

We will definitely go back for a weekend...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayJack_a_lack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

My partner and I booked this hotel last minute as an escape away from the hussle and bussle of our busy lives. Were we glad we did! On arrival we were met by the friendliest receptionist we have come across in a long time and believe me we have stayed in lots of hotels all over the world. Our room was big and spacious with a nice modern decor. We ate in the hotel restaurant on our first night and the food was delicious for a three star hotel. We also ate in the hotel bar ''McHales Bar'' and again the food was top notch and cheaper than the restaurant so if you want to save a few Euros eat in the bar but the restaurant has a nice ambience to it. We really have to give credit to the staff in the bar and the hotel as they are very welcoming and friendly. We had afew drinks in the lounge area as we couldn't resist its warm and inviting allure with its big comfy sofas and delightful interior. There was live entertainment on the Saturday night which was an added bonus.

The hotel has its own swimming pool which we fully utilised as well as its sauna, jacuzzi and steamroom! There was alot of kids in the swimming pool but this didn't put us off as the pool has two swimming lanes for adults plus after 7.30pm its only adults allowed in the pool. Unfortunately, we didn't get to experience the ''Tranquility'' Spa as we ran out of time however it seemed like extremely good value with a hot stone massage priced at only €80.00!!

The hotel is approximately a 20 minute drive from Galway City and Athenry is a small place so if your looking for a tranquil, realxing break away well this is the hotel for you.

We had a blissful weekend away and look forward to our next visit to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

Everything about this hotel was great .... the food, accomodation, bar and dining room, not forgetting those georgeous seafood chowders which were always at the ready. The staff were brilliant with a friendly word for everyone.


The owner has the common touch and gave great example to his staff .... always willing to serve his customers with a friendly word and a smile for everyone. This hotel is a credit to everyone and deserves success. We have no hesitation in recommending it to anybody who needs a relaxing break in lovely peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobrien101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

We loved our stay here. This is a beautiful hotel with great staff. Paddy the bar man is one of the best I've ever come across. We WILL be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GotaFamilyNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow,
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

stayed here from 10th till 13th of march,leisure facilities were perfect,rooms were the cleanest ive ever seen,had adjoining rooms with the kids and they were grand,made the kis feel very welcome,had a kids club downstairs(7€) per child,but they could have as much time as they wanted,,athenry town quite small,but train station made it perfect to head to galway city

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karennokia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

had a fab time great fun in bar, good breakfast, will return again and use spa soon, would liked to have had a bath in room.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerarddonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athenry
16.5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
9.9 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
7.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
7.2 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
13.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raheen Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raheen Woods Hotel

Property: Raheen Woods Hotel
Address: Raheen | Galway, Athenry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Athenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Raheen Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Guests come to Raheen Woods Hotel for that Home away from Home feel only found in a Family Run Hotel." Raheen Woods Hotel Galway is delightfully nestled in the world-famous Fields of Athenry in a most tranquil woodland setting with beautifully landscaped gardens only minutes from the ever vibrant city of Galway. We offer the finest accommodation in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raheen Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Raheen Woods
Raheen Woods Athenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing