We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy stay in Anthenry”
Review of Raheen Woods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raheen Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Certificate of Excellence
Whitegate, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy stay in Anthenry”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Took my Mum away for Mothers Day to this hotel for two nights.Really wonderful helpful staff at reception and throughout the hotel.They really made the stay even more special.
Double room was spacious(one single one double bed) and included table and chairs,small t.v,and a great shower.
There was also a thermostat so we could control the heating and windows that opened,which you don't always get in hotel rooms. Wi-fi worked only sometimes but didn't bother us.
Hotel is a 10-15 min walk to train station so easy to get train into Galway city.
Food in hotel was always very nice and fresh whenever we ate.
Highly recommend it for a short stay.

Room Tip: Room was chosen for us :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomckeown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear jomckeown,

Thank you so much for your recent write up on Raheen Woods Hotel. I'm delighted you had an enjoyable time and always nice to spoil our Mums on the special day that is Mothers Day.

Hope you will return and please spread the word.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    98
    42
    12
    9
See reviews for
125
142
8
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed in the hotel from the 21St to 23rd of February. What can I say staff were just fantastic from the pleasant and friendly.
Had the most amazing stay in this hotel. From the moment we arrived till the time we left staff were so pleasant and friendly.
Especially Julie on reception she is a gem, so helpful And nothing was to much trouble. Room was spotless,warm, bed was so comfortable, iron and board in wardrobe, tea and coffee facilities everything you could want. Food in bar was lovely and so were the cocktails. Love the seating areas dotted around the hotel, it also had the most amazing wooden staircase. The whole hotel was spotless.the town was only a short walk a away and Julie made sure we were safe with high visibility jackets as the road is a bit of a hit and miss. Have been to many hotels for weekends and have not felt the need to write a review but I felt that this gem of a hotel deserved one. Only complaint i have was our stay was not longer. Will be keeping my eyes out for anymore deals as I would love to return with my teenage children.look forward to returning
Many thanks Amanda and David Whelan

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fantastic6irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear fantastic6irish,

Thank you so much for your kind words about Raheen Woods Hotel, our team members and all I can ask is that you keep us in mind for future breaks away. Its a beautiful spring morning here today and the buds are starting to appear and the Fields of Athenry are looking great.

Kind regards,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here on a Sat - Mon. The reception staff were so friendly and welcoming...we felt on holidays from the moment we entered the bright spacious lobby. Bar is lovely and staff again were excellent. The breakfast was one of the best I have had...free range eggs and top quality produce. The leisure center is very well maintained...very clean and well run. Bedrooms were very large and airy and again very clean. This is a fine hotel and really worth a visit. Its only 5e in a taxi to the town center and it you make the trip be sure to have a meal in La Rustica...you won't be disappointed. We really enjoyed our visit and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear HelPad,

Thank you for your review and your kind words towards the hotel, its staff and the general location. Not only are we 3 mins literally in a cab to Athenry town centre but also 15 mins to Eyre Square in Galway so you really can have the best of both worlds. Also, the train is a great way to travel to and from the country and with ease of access by train in 15 mins to Galway City Centre also. La Rustica is our favourite restaurant in Athenry so please do give them a review as they do a great job!

Thank you HelPad and hopefully you'll return in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of B&B and evening meal. Overall, we were reasonably happy with our stay. The room was clean and comfortable. the service was very good and staff were very friendly, particularly the bar staff who i would rate as excellent.
our evening meal was "ok", the duck was a bit of a disappointment but everything else as fine.
buffet breakfast was good, bit of a queue for the toaster but otherwise it was fine.
the one issue we had with our stay is that the shower had only lukewarm water (at best) at 7pm.
for me, this is a bit of a let down in any modern hotel and is the reason i have given an "average" ratting as opposed to "very good".

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan1_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear dan1_73,

Thank you for your review and your comments are appreciated and we will look into your query also. Thank you for choosing Raheen Woods Hotel and hope you return someday to the Fields of Athenry.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We spent a weekend in Raheen Woods from a Saturday to a Monday. From the moment we arrived the staff were first class. Every member of staff we encountered over the whole weekend made us very welcome and always had a smile on their face. Super friendly and very efficient, always offering to help.

The hotel was also super clean and spotless.

Dinner was excellent and breakfast was tasty.

The hotel had also arranged a free transfer from the train station to the hotel which was very handy.

The only one drawback from the hotel is the walk down to the town is not on a footpath the whole way. there is approx 300 meters with no footpath which can be dangerous, especially at night or if you had children. The hotel should try and work with the county/town council to put in a path.

Overall excellent stay, I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donalm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Donalm M,

Thank you so much for your kind words and we greatly appreciate the praise you give our staff and hotel. We are constantly trying to improve the guest experience but at the same time making everything seem natural.

Thank you for your comments which are greatly appreciated and we hope you return again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel about 4 times now-always a lovely relaxing and enjoyable stay!Every detail has been attended to and the hotel is always decorated to perfection based on the particular time of year. Rooms are lovely, comfortable & spotless with all the mod cons and facilities you could wish for.
Both the restaurant food and bar food are excellent with the menu changing on a regular basis and great wine advise from Lester and staff.
The hotel has a very relaxing environment -good staff and lovely rooms and facilities! You would think it is a four star hotel instead of a three star.
My Mum lost her very expensive watch but she was contacted the day after we left to be told that it had been found in the bedroom and handed up to reception by one of the housekeepers, thanks so much for your honesty and kindness.
The pool, spa & gym facilities are excellent and there is something for all the family. The underground parking is brilliant and such a useful addition to any hotel especially when it is raining.
A real pleasure for a relaxing break! We'll be back soon again. Thank you one and all at the fabulous Raheen Woods Hotel.
P & D

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Patrick R,

Thank you so much for your kind words! Your repeat custom is so appreciated and valued and thank you for airing your graces over the world wide web! Comments like yours really make us stand out from the crowd and as you know we work hard at trying to deliver a great customer experience each time!

Thank you again and we look forward to your future visits.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is the seventh time in 3 years that we have stayed here. We arrived on New Years Day and we had the most wonderful time, the staff are al brilliant, especially Majella and Julie on Reception and also Maia who appears to be working in every area of the hotel. The bar staff are all top class as is the food the serve in both the restaurant and in the bar. Lester the owner is also very helpful and accommodating. I would well recommend this hotel, we are visiting again in October.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meggy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear meggy29,

Thank you so much for your lovely review which is so thoughtful and especially towards all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Raheen Woods Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athenry
16.5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
9.9 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
7.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
7.2 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
13.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raheen Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raheen Woods Hotel

Property: Raheen Woods Hotel
Address: Raheen | Galway, Athenry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Athenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Raheen Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Guests come to Raheen Woods Hotel for that Home away from Home feel only found in a Family Run Hotel." Raheen Woods Hotel Galway is delightfully nestled in the world-famous Fields of Athenry in a most tranquil woodland setting with beautifully landscaped gardens only minutes from the ever vibrant city of Galway. We offer the finest accommodation in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Raheen Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Raheen Woods
Raheen Woods Athenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing