We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel and worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raheen Woods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raheen Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Certificate of Excellence
Whitegate, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed in this hotel last weekend for a friends Wedding. Met a lovely lady at reception who was chatty, helpful and very pleasant to deal with. Our room was lovely, spacious and spotless. Staff were all lovely to deal with even at 3am when I am sure they would have been happy to be going home. Food was excellent and service could not be faulted. Breakfast served on Sunday morning until 11am which was brilliant with plenty of choice and anything that was not on display staff were happy to help in getting what was wanted. A very pleasant experience and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Just one small thing and this is something that seems to be with most hotels, the heat in the room at night was very warm, we couldn't leave a window open as it was blowing a storm and lashing rain on the night, even tho we had been blessed with a beautiful day for the wedding :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joannoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear joannoel,

Thank you so much for your thorough review which really did highlight your full visit to us here which is very important in the context of writing reviews. On behalf of the Hotel we're delighted you had an enjoyable stay and hope you will return again in the future. Thank you also for highlighting the heating which obviously for your room was too high and we will certainly examine that.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    94
    42
    12
    9
See reviews for
123
141
7
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Excellent food, very helpful staff, spacious comfortable room.
Beautiful Spa, had a very relaxing treatment and a very helpful Therapist
Overall a very enjoyable experience, would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Book a balcony room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eithne h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear eithne hh,

Thank you so much for your "Super Stay" review of Raheen Woods Hotel recently which is greatly appreciated. We look forward to you returning in the near future and please tell your friends about us here!

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Raheen Woods Hotel recently and we were very dissapointed with the Hotel overall. The Room was very cold and very basic with no tissue box and soap and shampoo from a wall dispencer, I expect this from a 2 Star Hotel not a 4 Star ?? come on guys. We asked twice for heat to be put on but alas no heat was forthcoming. We had a Table booked in the Restaurant but were informed on our way in to the Restaurant that a Funeral had taken over the Restaurant and Guests were seated in a Room off the Bar ?? The Food I have to say was very good and the Staff very helpful but the Hotel overall not up to our Standards. Will not be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Sean T,

Firstly, on behalf of the hotel I'd like to apologize for the heating issue on the night. We had a problem with the heating in your section of the hotel that night however there were no other complaints as it was a balmy enough evening. In relation to your room, I am not sure why there was no soap or tissues but that could have been rectified swiftly if we had received a call from you however I am not sure if you made this call when you asked for the heating to be turned on? In relation to your restaurant reservation, as you will have discovered we had a large local family funeral that same day whom are friends of the owners of Raheen Wood Hotel. It would have been inappropriate to have you in the restaurant on such an occasion as you can I'm sure appreciate, hence we reserved a table for you in our "private dining room" which is called The Snug which you access via the bar. I'm delighted however that you had an enjoyable meal and your compliments to the staff are appreciated. You do mention that the overall Hotel is not up to your standards but we are not sure if your critique merits this statement as you mention very little else!

Sincerely yours,

Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountmellick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Arranged an outing for golfers and stayed here twice and have been back several times with my family and each time was as good if not better.My wife and kids love the place for its hospitality,cleanliness,food,security and value for money.I would be happy to recommend this hotel to family and friends[for which I have],from the moment you meet the girls in reception until you are ready to leave nothing if anything is to much to ask.To Majella and Josephine in reception,everyone in the restaurant and Lester and Family thank you very much and look forward to seeing ye again.

Room Tip: Just tell reception what your looking for and they will help you any way they can,no problem with an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dempsey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Dempsey1234,

Its not a cliche, but thank you so so much for your wonderful review of Raheen Woods Hotel.

As stated in previous review responses, its reviews like yours that really help us win business but also it is so great to know that we are achieving our goals and that is providing a great hospitality experience.

Thank you Dempsey1234 and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This a very nice Hotel. Staff are always pleasant and helpful. Restaraunt /Bar service is excellent
Athenry is very close and train service to Galway City
Swimming pool and Spa are accessible from Hotel.
Hotel is an excellent choice if visiting Athenry area

Room Tip: Rooms at back of Hotel are less noisy if there is a function on in Hotel at time of visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear ellamla1,

Thank you so much for putting pen to paper a la web style!! Your concise description of what we offer and what we are is wholesome and gives Tripadvisor readers an idea of what Raheen Woods Hotel is all about. Also, we are family owned and managed and for this reason we really do care about our guests and want to give them a terrific experience!

Thank you and please do come again and dont forget to tell your friends and family.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was second time I have stayed in this hotel with my friends and we weren't disappointed.Room was spacious,clean and very comfortable. Food was very good(my steak was cooked to perfection).Service was very good - bar staff very attentive all the time.There is also Leisure Centre just around the corner,which is really good.Thanx for a lovely break.We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwonka2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Iwonka2013,

Firstly thank you for your repeat visit and secondly for your lovely review of our hotel. All I can say is please do come back and tell your friends and family all about us here in Athenry!!

See you for a third visit soon.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is the fifth time that we have stayed at Raheen Woods and i would say it gets better every time. The staff are wonderful from reception, through to the workers behind the scenes. We stayed there for 6 nights and we had a room with interconnecting doors, for us and our teenagers and my parent were in a room a couple of doors down. The rooms were lovely and clean and they had housekeeping in them everyday. We ate in the bar every night and never had one bad meal and the service was top class, especially young Niamh our waitress, and the bar staff were also very attentive at all times. The breakfast was always beautiful cooked and nothing was too much trouble from extra pots of teas, to my poached eggs every morning.
We celebrated my sons 21st birthday and had a party in the Snug part of the bar for about 20 members of our family and the evening was fantastic, the service were received was wonderful and the food beautifully cooked and piping hot and plentiful too. Thanks Lester too for the bottles on wine donated, it was very kind gesture to us and made us feel important. I cannot rate this hotel enough, and we love returning. Lester and Marjella you are two wonderful people and can you please pass on our good wishes and thanks to all the staff there as you made our holiday a wonderful time and my parents really enjoyed it too. Hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meggy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear meggy29,

On behalf of all the staff at Raheen Woods Hotel, what can I say but thank you so much for your glowing review which really helps us so much in this competitive environment! It was as always a pleasure to look after you and your family and we are absolutely delighted you had an enjoyable time. Not many hotels can say what you said in words and we are so appreciative!

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!!

Kindest regards from the Team at Raheen Woods Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athenry
16.5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
7.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
9.9 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
7.2 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
9.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raheen Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raheen Woods Hotel

Property: Raheen Woods Hotel
Address: Raheen | Galway, Athenry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Athenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Raheen Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Guests come to Raheen Woods Hotel for that Home away from Home feel only found in a Family Run Hotel." Raheen Woods Hotel Galway is delightfully nestled in the world-famous Fields of Athenry in a most tranquil woodland setting with beautifully landscaped gardens only minutes from the ever vibrant city of Galway. We offer the finest accommodation in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Raheen Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Raheen Woods
Raheen Woods Athenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing