We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cycling tour”
Review of Raheen Woods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raheen Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Fabulous hotel, excellent spa facilities and fab food. Good time had by all. Separate lounge area.
Bar food good, they laid a separate table for our party of 11 and the service was excellent.
Rooms extremely comfortable, nothing too much trouble

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slimslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear slimslim,

Thank you for your great comments and it was great seeing you all arrive on mass which was like a stage of the Tour de France! It has since given us an idea to market to more cycling groups as the underground car park at Raheen Woods Hotel is ideal for storing bikes against the elements and we have already received favourable response from cycling tour operators which we are delighted about and we have you to thank!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future and thank you for your custom and review!

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 404 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for the nearby Galway Races. We seem to get a little mislead by the adverts which clearly stated "bus available to and from the races.... food until nine". So we went off to the races on the bus they advertised, returned on the same bus. It was supposed to return half an hour after the last race. It didn't. We returned an hour after the last race having stood in a carpark for half an hour extra waiting to leave. We got back to the hotel at 10 past nine. "NO FOOD except sandwiches . Not impressed at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear fred s,

We never try to mislead our customers and it is unfortunate that you were on the receiving end of a delayed bus. The Galway Races is the busiest week not only on the Galway calendar but on the Irish social calendar so things do sometimes go behind time wise. Even on an occasion you will see the odd horse race go from behind! That stated we apologise for your unfortunate wait and also that sandwiches were only available when you returned to the hotel. However your comments do not really merit your grading commentary based on this experience.

Sincerely yours,

Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Because of a bereavement we urgently needed a hotel room during Race Week in Galway. I rang the Raheen Woods and from the minute the phone was answered I got service that was second to none. They did everything they could to make us welcome and to make our stay there hassle-free. The room was clean, bright and quiet. Breakfast was quick and there was loads of good hot food. We had lunch in the bar on 2 days. Again, the food was good, hot and plentiful. I have stayed here on several occasions and have never had a complaint, but this time the staff went the extra mile. They deserve great credit! Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Joan G,

We are very sorry that your revisit to Raheen Woods Hotel was a sad one because of a bereavement but we are obviously delighted that we were able to make the time somewhat comfortable for you.

We look forward to seeing you again someday soon and thank you for sharing your comments.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in Raheen Woods Hotel earlier this year in March and found it to be a grand place. We didn't actually book specifically to stay in the RWH, but rather won a voucher to stay for 2 nights, and so we made a trip to Galway out of it. It was a lovely, pleasant stay and we were very happy with it.

When we arrived we were stuck for parking and had to park behind the hotel (without realizing that there was actually a virtually empty underground car park below the front car park with direct hotel access via lift). This wasn't really a problem though; it just maybe could have been sign posted a little better.
We then checked in at the lobby, which had a lovely homely feel to it with a timber staircase and comfortable seating all around. Prior to arrival, my girlfriend had asked if a room upgrade was possible as we were staying Monday and Tuesday (and my girlfriend who works in the Westbury knew all the hotel lingo) so it would be quiet and this request was made no problem which was nice of them. Also our upgraded room was at the end of the corridor which my girlfriend appreciated as no one would be walking by or making noise at night. The corridor was very long though. I didn't mind too much, it helped me walk off the delicious burger I got from the bar downstairs..

We did not eat in the restaurant, but the bar food was lovely. For starters we had the soup, which was really good. Then we both got the burgers with pepper sauce, which was very very tasty. The only problem I had with the bar was when my girlfriend ordered a Mojito, it wasn't made to a great standard. There was only a single mint leaf as garnish and the lime was too subtle. No big deal though, I don't mean to be too picky. The Guinness was still cheaper than our own country local in Co.Meath. The bar was nice and the lounge area beside the bar was really cosy.

When we decided to take a trip into Galway City from RWH, the girls at the desk suggested we walked to the train station in Athenry. The walk down only took about 10 minutes. The train journey into Galway only took about 15 minutes and we drank all day and went home merry. The only problem was that when we were coming back, it was dark, and the road from the hotel down to the road by the train station has no path and seemed a little busy so it was a bit dangerous.

All in all, I found this hotel to be very nice and it is in a good location if you want to make a trip to Galway but not be stuck in the city. It was calm and quiet around the hotel, which made for a relaxing stay. I would return to this hotel again as we both thoroughly enjoyed our trip and would like to thank all the staff members who helped in making this stay what it was.

Room Tip: There is an underground car park directly under neat the front car park with an elevator that takes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisardcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear chrisardcath,

Thank you for your review which is greatly appreciated and also appreciate the detail you stated too. Please do come back and visit someday and as you have experienced you can have a real country experience, the buzz of the city of the festivals, Galway all wrapped up in one when staying at Raheen Woods Hotel in the Fields of Athenry. Please tell your friends and family all about us!

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Very enjoyable time at the hotel. Rooms are so comfortable with plenty of space. All staff were very friendly and welcoming. Ate the first night in the bar we both had steaks and they were delicious and thankfully left room for dessert & this did not dissappoint white chocolate & strawberry trifle - yummy. The next evening we ate in the restaurant another excellent meal the prawn dish I had for main course was fab and again I saved the best for last the dessert caramel cheesecake. We relaxed afterwards in the lovely lounge and enjoyed the music. For a small town it's a great hotel with good food and an excellent pastry chef. It is a little expensive for the meal but the meal was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiemay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear maggiemay0,

Thank you so much for your kind words which is really appreciated. We try hard to satisfy our customers and your review is really appreciated. From your words, its easy to see that you have a sweet tooth and I have to say that all the staff here have a sweet tooth because we get to sample the fantastic desserts Grainne creates and we're thankful for that!!!
Please tell your friends and family and please do return as we'd love to look after you again.

Kind regards from all at Raheen Woods Hotel.

Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I had the worst caeser salad I have ever eaten in the Raheen wood hotel. At 7.95 on the starteer menu it was served on a side plate (saucer size) and was such bad value compared to other restaurants I have had the same dish in. And to my horror and disgust when i was almost finished I discovered the body of a large fly in the salad..I dread to think where the rest of him ended up. I was eating with 2 friends and they only allowed the price of the salad off the bill..they even still charged for my water!! This I felt was very bad customer service..we didnt go out for a free meal but there wasnt much in the form of an apology..only from the waitress who was just as disgusted.In the current climate where most hotels/restaurants need to work hard to keep their customers returning I hope the Raheen woods can afford to lose our custom in the future

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Samf1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Samf1946,

Following your recent visit to Raheen Woods Hotel on Monday 22nd July, we have conducted a full investigation and it is extremely important to report and comment back on your review. We understand that your party included 3 adults and 4 children and your order consisted of 2 tomato pasta dishes, 3 chicken caesar salads, 2 cappuchinos, 2 americanos and 1 mineral water. Your party arrived at 14:32 and departed at 16:23 and in the first 45 minutes of your visit, the incident with your course would have occured and you would have discussed this with your waitress. It is a very unfortunate situation that this happened and an apology was given and we believe accepted by you and your salad was omitted from your final bill. We note also that you had nearly finished your dish despite the fact that you state you did not like it before it became an actual situation that has led to this review being published. We are a family owned and family run property, employing local people and are an important feature of the business community and more importantly drive tourists to Athenry which makes a significant contribution to the community. We duly apologize that this incident happened but strongly feel that it could have been communicated and handled more personally other than sharing it on the world wide web.

If you wish to contact one of the managers of the hotel, please do so by contacting us by phone or please visit the hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Brian Bourke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed for one night for our anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed it. Friendly, helpful staff, clean comfortable room with balcony and lovely food. Had a swim in the pool and used the Jacuzzi and sauna. Went on the supervalu getaway breaks offer and had a really great deal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Roadart,

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay even if it was short and hopefully we've given you an appetite to return someday again. Remember you can arrive here by road or by rail as the train station is a 3 minute taxi ride from the hotel or a leisurely 10 minute walk.

Thanks again and we hope you return.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athenry
16.5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
9.9 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
872 reviews
7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
The Ardilaun Hotel
The Ardilaun Hotel
#14 of 46 in Galway
1,451 reviews
7.2 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
838 reviews
14.5 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raheen Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raheen Woods Hotel

Address: Raheen | Galway, Athenry, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Athenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Price Range: $102 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raheen Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Guests come to Raheen Woods Hotel for that Home away from Home feel only found in a Family Run Hotel." Raheen Woods Hotel Galway is delightfully nestled in the world-famous Fields of Athenry in a most tranquil woodland setting with beautifully landscaped gardens only minutes from the ever vibrant city of Galway. We offer the finest accommodation in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raheen Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Raheen Woods
Raheen Woods Athenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing