We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Olive Tree Restaurant - CLOSED

The Olive Tree Restaurant
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

we ate here for lunch. the zucchini flowers were row highlight of the meal. they were out of snapper and swerved barramundi instead. it was tasteless and the croquet were not appetizing and were soggy. dessert was still frozen in the middle!! staff probably realised we did not like the fish as we did not eat much but didn't ask us what the issue was.

the grounds are lovely. but I don't think I'll be going back when there are so many lovely places to dine elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blackdelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, fantastic food ,fantastic views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We own the Table Guest house in Greta, and have had the pleasure of not only being minutes away from Wyndham estate and the Olive Tree restaurant, but have been recommending
the Olive tree for lunch Saturday & Sundays to our guests and am very pleased that all our guests have enjoyed the food , the ambiance and the service as much as we do.
Also being at Wyndham you naturally get a great choice of beautiful hunter wines.
Thank you Andy Janet Steph and all

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thetableguesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“5-Star Experience at Wyndham Estate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our group of 14 arrived late (we'd called ahead to warn Janet and her team) and were cordially welcomed and forgiven! Our dining experience was extraordinary. Janet, our charming and gracious host, was warm and attentive and our invaluable sommelier. All wait staff were courteous and friendly and the food and wines were exceptional. A true 5-star experience sans the expected 5-star price tag. Our experience was unforgettable and one we will be telling friends about for many months to come.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraTraveluva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Olive Tree Restaurant disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Perhaps the VIP numbers were too great this year for the facilities. A bus group was in the room we were supposed to be in. Liked Erin Dyer's [event organizer] friendly manner and attention to guests. Liked the bubbly and dinner wines. Food tasty but portions too small. Not good value for money

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WarwickKangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muswellbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Olive Tree”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

A roomy pleasant restaurant with an amaziing staff, beautiful food,and a great atmosphere.We didn't wait too long for our food and the wine was awesome. A most enjoyable experience.

Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Tree Restaurant also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing