We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Lodge”
Review of Wildsumaco Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sumaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildsumaco Lodge
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lodge”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very comfortable rooms with good lighting, good food, friendly staff,a lovely central area for relaxing and dining, and a fantastic porch overlooking the forest for observing and photographing amazing birds and butterflies.
I am definitely going to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank solobirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had been on an group bird tour to Venezuela, as well as Costa Rica and a few Caribbean islands, but this trip I wanted to nab some neotropical "lifers" by myself. Wildsumaco lodge was an excellent choice for this type of birding!

There is an extensive network of trails, but truly the best birding was along the gravel road that led to the lodge. Since the road runs roughly north/south, the light was great for bird photography in the mornings on one side and evenings on the other. I will admit to one morning with the local spanish speaking guide, who was truly worth the $20 fee. With him I was able to see some antpittas and a Band-bellied Owl which I never would have seen otherwise.

My Suggestions:
#1 Don't rent a car and just pay for the lodge arranged transfer. My group of 3 rented a car in Quito and drove, but for 8 days it cost over $800. We intended to drive to other areas within an hour of the lodge, but the 8km from the Loreto road to the lodge is SO BAD, we only did this once. We got direction to a good spot near a river from lodge owner Jim which was an hour away.
#2 If you're there for more than a few days, get away from the lodge! During the first few days we saw different birds along the road, but by day 4 they started to get repetitive. I walked not even halfway down the lodge road (toward the Loreto road) and by dropping 500m the birdlife totally changed! Nabbed 3 or 4 lifers in an hour that weren't often seen at the lodge!

All in all a great trip, only rained two mornings, they have great food and a more than ample selection of wines.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a very nice lodge. The set up is a combination of roadside birding for tanager flocks, and inside the forest birding on fairyly well-maintained trails. Some of the specialty birds there are the rarest and least seen Andean species.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin CA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Known as a birder's paradise, with almost 500 species seen on the property, we found that this lodge offers much more than some of the most unusual birds in the world. The lodge, their Biological Research Station and it's non-profit arm, the Rio Pucuno Foundation, conserve wonderful low cloud forest, much of it primary forest. Altitude ranges from about 4000 to 5000 ft. The range of plant life is bewildering and the fungi are abundant (at least in late May) and fascinating. We saw several species of large millipedes daily and enjoyed taking videos of them walking on the trail, and bothersome insects were few. We photographed many beautiful moths and butterflies. Most entertaining are the banks of Hummingbird feeders off the main deck, allowing easy viewing and photography of rare species. The deck also provides early morning and late afternoon entertainment by birds, monkeys and fine sunsets and views of the Antisana Volcano, when the ubiquitous clouds part for a while. A fine library of books in the Lodge helped ID what we saw, as did the owners and their guides. There are dozen trails for exploring and nature observing, more than we could complete in our four days there in May. Spanish speaking guides are available for about $35 per day and English speaking guide for about $150 per day.
We stayed four nights and completed about half of the trail system, took hundreds of  pictures, went out with a fine Spanish speaking guide on a morning Antpitta feeding walk, and left wanting much more time in this cloud forest.

The owners, Jim and Bonnie, are on site and eager to interact with guests, not only to answer questions (which are many) but also to help with bird ID and natural history information. Themselves avid birders who have lived many years in South America (their original home is the USA), they are committed to involving and employing local residents in all of their conservation efforts.

The Lodge holds about 20 guests. Rooms are large and outfitted with great lighting, electrical sockets, a large tale, a small desk and a couple of chairs. They are a short distance from a great room which serves as a living room with a giant fireplace, dining area, a bar and a library.

Three fixed hot meals are served restaurant style each day, delicious and pretty filling, with many typical Ecuadoran dishes. Coffee and tea are always available. One member of our group has special dietary needs and they were cheerfully accommodated.

Room Tip: All rooms at the lodge are equal. Rooms at the Bio Research station ate 15-20 minutes walk away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExplorerMundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Overall, a superb birding lodge. I stayed there during a period of very low bird activity but were still enjoyed a few good mixed flocks and lots of other interesting wildlife. The owners are very friendly and seemed to genuinely want to talk with us and hear our opinions on conservation, other bird lodges, etc. They were very accommodating to all our needs and we felt like family.

Most impressive is their set of goals for the area, which include extensive engagement of the scientific community in the states, building a new biological station up the road (now done!), engaging the local community, and actively managing the surrounding land for conservation ends.

A few caveats- I was not very pleased with the food, but it is better that what one can expect at a less upscale (or *more appropriately priced*) birding lodge. The mattresses in my room were very uncomfortable, but the spaciousness of the rooms and great showers (truly the best of any birding lodge) made up for this. For guests staying at the biological station, be forewarned that is pretty removed from the forest up the road and overlooks a pasture, unlike the lodge.

Overall, though, this lodge was a joy to stay at and bird. They have Plain-backed Antpittas coming in to be fed worms, easy access to great forest birds, superb tanager flocks, and a set of invertebrates and herps that beats anywhere higher up in the Andes or further down on the Napo river. Come for the Military Macaws and the Grey-tailed Piha, stay for the comfort and good company.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wildlifephotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Having birded extensively in Ecuador, I was keen to spend some time at the relatively new Wildsumaco Lodge. My husband and I engaged the services of Jonas Nilsson, a very talented and knowledgeable bird guide and co-owner of the property, who accompanied us from Quito to Wildsumaco, via one night at Guango Lodge at higher elevation. We then spent five nights at Wildsumaco, using Jonas' services for two days and then birding on our own the other two. We thoroughly enjoyed all our time spent in this forest reserve, exploring the six-kilometer gravel road up from the Loreto Road, walking the trails, watching hummingbird feeders, and just relaxing on the verandah, gazing out at the forested ridges beyond. I was recovering from total knee replacement, so I was a bit apprehensive about what the trails would be like, but I had no trouble on those I chose to negotiate. They are the best-constructed and -maintained trails of any property I have visited in Ecuador, thanks to the very energetic Jonas and his local staff. The lodge itself is top notch, with good food, comfortable and spacious rooms, and a great hot shower. All this is topped with the gracious hospitality and affability of the co-owners, Jim and Bonnie Olsen.
Jim, Bonnie, and Jonas are all invested in preserving as much of the local forest as they can. There is much virgin forest, secondary forest, and cattle/agricultural property along the approach road, and this all adds up to fabulous birding with many species unique to the eastern foothills. But, one caution: unless you are a highly skilled birder, experienced in tropical birding, who knows all the sounds and what to expect in each habitat, you will have trouble seeing most of the birds. Early morning activity fades after a few hours, and the rest of the day is given over to looking for feeding flocks (of which there were few during our stay) and slowly walking trails listening for forest specialties. To that end, we would urge those considering going to Wildsumaco on their own to hire Jonas as guide. He thoroughly knows his forest and the birds and their sounds, uses playback to bring them in, and can get a scope on a moving target as fast as anyone. Jonas is almost 100% responsible for my seeing as many birds as I did, and as well.
Lasty, I cannot pass over one of the best delights of staying at Wildsumaco -- the roar of the daily tropical showers on the tin roofs! I could go back just for that.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buthraupis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB-G
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Aside from the nice rooms and wonderful view, The manager, Alejandro, was most helpful and the food was wonderful

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the water pressure is good for a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrawberryP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sumaco
0.0 mi away
Cabanas San Isidro
Cabanas San Isidro
#1 of 1 in Cosanga
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
#1 of 4 in Yasuni National Park
442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildsumaco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildsumaco Lodge

Property: Wildsumaco Lodge
Address: Wildsumaco Wildlife Sanctuary, Sumaco 150756, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Sumaco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sumaco
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing