We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Listen to Cathleen_SA - Place is Amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cullinan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mangwa Valley Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Werent sure what to expect but was absolutely blown away. Ideal location, super friendly and helpful staff, amazing food an comfortable living all for a great price.

This place is a winner. Can't go wrong!

Cathleen_SA, you're no fun

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swaartbaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 74 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

I recently booked a weekend awY to Mangwa Valley. As I booked it through Daddy's Deals, I didn't know a lot about it. Big was my surprise when we arrived! Only an hour's drive from my house in Johannesburg, travelling was so easy.
We had the best weekend away! Definitely the friendliest service from everyone ever! Food was lovely, and gamedrive very exciting! Everybody who works there is very competent - nothing is too much trouble. Thank you so much for making it so special!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liesel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

What lovely get away, only 1hr and a half from Joburg. Accommodation options were a plenty, double rooms, cottages and even tented rooms available.

The game viewing was great, not the Big 5, but just as good and entertaining.

A definite must, but beware of the owner he sounds like a slave driver! Don't worry he is normally there anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I booked a weekend away for my Partners Birthday, and made use of an online special. The property advertises itself as a 4 star property, but the rooms we stayed in were 2 star at the very most - we stayed in one of 7 rooms all built in a row, sharing dividing walls. It seems as if these are the only rooms that are not fully detached. The complete let down was that there was a large group of 10 who took over the entire section where our rooms were, and talked and cheered loudly, getting more and more drunk, and with the very bad desig of the rooms, the noise traveled and disturbed,, what was meant to be out romantic, quiet peaceful get-away. The flaw in the room walls design was that the walls did not go straight up to the thatch room pitch, and had sections of plywood patching the gaps - this just let sound transfer from room to room, as if we were all sleeping in the same room, and all outside noises traveled too. We spent the night listening to drunkards snore at top pitch, in sterio from both adjacent rooms. So, no peace, and no sleep.

The room only had 1 bedside table, 1 bedside lamp, no room safe, no luggage rack, and no shower door - so the small towels were used to mop up a flooded bathroom every morning. It is just not a 4 star room - it doesnt even have the minimum requiremnts for a 4 star room. I would query weather the grading is recent, or perhaps not relevant for these rooms.

The buffet dinner was over priced for the offering, but tastey and adequit. Unforntunatly for the Lodge, the loud , rude group seems to over take every aspect of the property, and it was very difficult for us to see past their loud rudeness to full enjoy the very beautiful setting.

We did speak to others whoe were in the chalets and luxury tents, and all seem to have far more privacy, and peace and quiet. I just wouldnt be able to bring myself to go back, given the bad experience we had.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 1 through to 7 at all. Go for a luxury tent, or a self catering challet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathleen_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I really enjoyed the stay at Mangwa over my birthday weekend in the first week of February. The poolside is stunning and the surroundings makes you feel very relaxed and in touch with nature. The game drive was also good – we saw some buck and buffalo.

There are no TVs in the rooms, but this is a good thing – it allows you to spend more quality time together and enjoy nature!

The only downside for me was the 10km stretch of dirt road that I had to use to get into the lodge with my car. Other than that, it was awesome!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Avikaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lovely property, accommodation was very nice. Good chance to view a variety of game in a small reserve

Ideal place to spend a quiet relaxing week-end. No TV but hey - that's why you wanted to get away isn't it?

Room Tip: The chalets are very nice and easily accommodate 6 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClintonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The staff make Mangwa so appealing. Friendly, welcoming and a nothing is not possible attitude. The accomodation is great, wild life roam freely whilst you sip a brandy and soak up the sun. The only sounds you hear is animals which make this place the ideal getaway from the husstle of city life. I'd recommend this place to anyone thinking of a quiet break up to a full blown wedding.
Thank you to all the staff for making our stay special.

P.S we got married here a year ago (which was amazing) and this was our 1st annerversary return visit. R&L

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cullinan
21.1 mi away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#2 of 74 in Pretoria
418 reviews
8.6 mi away
Zebra Country Lodge
Zebra Country Lodge
#1 of 11 in Cullinan
142 reviews
0 mi away
IZapa Bush & Game Lodge
IZapa Bush & Game Lodge
#4 of 18 in Cullinan
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 mi away
Abloom Lodge
Abloom Lodge
#3 of 18 in Cullinan
89 reviews
0 mi away
Butjani Lodge
Butjani Lodge
#2 of 18 in Cullinan
50 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Ma Tala Tala Wildlife Lodge
#8 of 18 in Cullinan
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangwa Valley Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangwa Valley Game Lodge

Address: Portion 15 | 123 Groenfontein, Cullinan 1000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Cullinan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Cullinan
Hotel Class:4 star — Mangwa Valley Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mangwa Valley Game Lodge is situated in the heart of the Dinokeng Big 5 Game Reserve, and forms part of an ambitious project to develop a premier tourist destination in the North Eastern quadrant of the Gauteng Province. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mangwa Valley Game Lodge Cullinan, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing