We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cullinan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cullinan Diamond Lodge
Ranked #4 of 12 Cullinan B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We were warmly welcomed, the staff are very helpful and go out of their way to make your stay comfortable.
I stayed in a suite and my room was spectacular. My had a standard room it was comfortable. The meals are simple and delicious freshly prepared. I would highly recommend the chicken livers. All in all this was a wonderful weekend, we will certainly stay at the lodge again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronicako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
17
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Roodepoort
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I have no idea who rated this lodge four star. On arrival we had to phone reception from reception as there was no one there. Our room was very small with outdated furniture. The bedside lamps did not work, the television and air conditioning did not work and there was no telephone in the room. The showerhead is almost bigger than the shower and the bathroom is very tiny. On the upside the bed was very comfortable and the gardens are beautiful. The staff that served breakfast was very friendly and the breakfast was tasty. Overall good value for money if all you need is a place to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Cullinan Diamond Lodge does not have the feel of a four star hotel. The bar/lounge area is nice but the rooms are less than average. My part of the hotel suffered from electrical problems so the air conditioning didn't work. I brought attention to the problem several times as did colleagues who had problems in their rooms but it took time before anything happened.
The staff are nice and helpful but the service does not seem very professional or well organized. The rooms are ok but pretty basic. In my room the curtain by the door was falling down, a lamp by the bed stand didn't work etc. The food is ok but not great. There is no fruit for breakfast and no fresh juice, for example.
I was there for a meeting and the meeting room is fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoya91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cullinan hotels

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Listed as a 4* establishment you do expect a particular standard which is unfortunately not there. This is a very average, lower 3 star, with exceptionally basic and tired small rooms. There are no small extra’s that warrant a 4* status, i.e. it’s winter with no electric blanket. Bedside lights were not operational. The room and bathroom is very compact, dark and cold. Both the room and the bathroom were clean. The television did not have cable channels working, only the 4 free channels. The 5 rooms at the front of the hotel should be avoided at all costs. They overlook the busy road into and out of Cullinan and remain busy with a constant flow of traffic including trucks throughout the night. Impossible to sleep. The rooms at the back of the venue are a better option for the noise. The receptionist and staff were friendly and helpful. The dinner was good value for money and quiet tasty. Wouldn’t choose to stay here again due to the location, which is on a very busy road. Cullinan itself is very small and wherever you stay, its easy to park the car and walk through the town.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the establishment are quieter and away from the busy roading into and out of Cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolH05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We hit Cullinan with out pre booking any accommodation. Drove around town and looked up a few Guest Houses and inquired about accommodation for the night. The average price was R800 per couple with a "small" breakfast. We decided on one, with a spa and went to have a look. We got to see the room and literally ran for the hills!!!

Drove straight to Cullinan Diamond Lodge booked in. The rates were more affordable and the breakfast was optional. We included breakfast and boy were we glad. The room was comfortable and clean. Good beds and linen with a/c. the bathroom only had a large shower with awesome water pressure and a tight toilet basin configuration. Never the less we had a very comfortable sleep over and a more than sufficient English Breakfast with good coffee.

Upon check out we enquired about another evenings accommodation and decided to stay another night. They were fully booked and and only had the suite available. WOW! Thats a treat! Big room with kingsize bed, wingback chairs and stocked mini fridge. Huge bathroom with spa bath and double shower!

We had supper at the lodge this evening, lamb chops and desert. Tasty tender and very well priced. Infact the bar prices are very reasonable too.

The staff are very friendly and every willing to make your stay as comfortable as possible. 10 out of 10!!

The gardens are well kept, got good design to them and having a G and T under the huge Jacarandas is a must! We actually had both dinner and breakfast outside under the trees and it was superb. Secure parking and a manned security gate.

Will I stay at the lodge again? With out a doubt. Will phone ahead next time to make sure I have a reserved booking though.

Negatives. On a busy road but close to everything town has to offer. (Oak street)
No swimming pool.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quieter from the street and have quaint verandahs. Closer to the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Booked a second night before morning departure and the kitchen served a value for money breakfast and dinner that was great. Good bar prices too. Well worth their 4 star rating!!
Way out of town trip and close to local tourists zone - walking distance

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJamesS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Cullinan Diamond Lodge as part of a big wedding party. The ceremony was held at the Lodge and was very well done. The gardens are stunning at the venue and the staff at the reception were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are perfect for a one or two night stay. They were neat and had an aircon and TV in every room, with a nice bathroom..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamTravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cullinan
11.3 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#21 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
11.9 mi away
Zebra Country Lodge
Zebra Country Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cullinan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Hotel & Spa Cullinan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Abloom Lodge
Abloom Lodge
#3 of 17 in Cullinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cheval Tachete
Cheval Tachete
#11 of 17 in Cullinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Butjani Lodge
Butjani Lodge
#2 of 17 in Cullinan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullinan Diamond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullinan Diamond Lodge

Property: Cullinan Diamond Lodge
Address: 2 Hotel Street, Cullinan 1000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Cullinan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cullinan
Hotel Class:4 star — Cullinan Diamond Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Cullinan Diamond Lodge Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing