We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cullinan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cullinan Diamond Lodge
Ranked #5 of 11 Cullinan B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Listed as a 4* establishment you do expect a particular standard which is unfortunately not there. This is a very average, lower 3 star, with exceptionally basic and tired small rooms. There are no small extra’s that warrant a 4* status, i.e. it’s winter with no electric blanket. Bedside lights were not operational. The room and bathroom is very compact, dark and cold. Both the room and the bathroom were clean. The television did not have cable channels working, only the 4 free channels. The 5 rooms at the front of the hotel should be avoided at all costs. They overlook the busy road into and out of Cullinan and remain busy with a constant flow of traffic including trucks throughout the night. Impossible to sleep. The rooms at the back of the venue are a better option for the noise. The receptionist and staff were friendly and helpful. The dinner was good value for money and quiet tasty. Wouldn’t choose to stay here again due to the location, which is on a very busy road. Cullinan itself is very small and wherever you stay, its easy to park the car and walk through the town.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the establishment are quieter and away from the busy roading into and out of Cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolH05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 37 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We hit Cullinan with out pre booking any accommodation. Drove around town and looked up a few Guest Houses and inquired about accommodation for the night. The average price was R800 per couple with a "small" breakfast. We decided on one, with a spa and went to have a look. We got to see the room and literally ran for the hills!!!

Drove straight to Cullinan Diamond Lodge booked in. The rates were more affordable and the breakfast was optional. We included breakfast and boy were we glad. The room was comfortable and clean. Good beds and linen with a/c. the bathroom only had a large shower with awesome water pressure and a tight toilet basin configuration. Never the less we had a very comfortable sleep over and a more than sufficient English Breakfast with good coffee.

Upon check out we enquired about another evenings accommodation and decided to stay another night. They were fully booked and and only had the suite available. WOW! Thats a treat! Big room with kingsize bed, wingback chairs and stocked mini fridge. Huge bathroom with spa bath and double shower!

We had supper at the lodge this evening, lamb chops and desert. Tasty tender and very well priced. Infact the bar prices are very reasonable too.

The staff are very friendly and every willing to make your stay as comfortable as possible. 10 out of 10!!

The gardens are well kept, got good design to them and having a G and T under the huge Jacarandas is a must! We actually had both dinner and breakfast outside under the trees and it was superb. Secure parking and a manned security gate.

Will I stay at the lodge again? With out a doubt. Will phone ahead next time to make sure I have a reserved booking though.

Negatives. On a busy road but close to everything town has to offer. (Oak street)
No swimming pool.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quieter from the street and have quaint verandahs. Closer to the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Booked a second night before morning departure and the kitchen served a value for money breakfast and dinner that was great. Good bar prices too. Well worth their 4 star rating!!
Way out of town trip and close to local tourists zone - walking distance

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WJamesS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Cullinan Diamond Lodge as part of a big wedding party. The ceremony was held at the Lodge and was very well done. The gardens are stunning at the venue and the staff at the reception were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are perfect for a one or two night stay. They were neat and had an aircon and TV in every room, with a nice bathroom..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamTravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

No hot water to bath, they mention that they are a four star establishment. What a joke, could not sleep on Friday nor Saturday with the noise coming from local patrons from the bar. Staff at the hotel to busy mingling with local patrons to service your dinner. Waste of money, should rather close the B&B and open up the pub.....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colette24_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BAGAN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Isabelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cullinan hotels
11.8 mi away
Zebra Country Lodge
Zebra Country Lodge
#1 of 11 in Cullinan
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cullinan Premier Hotel
Cullinan Premier Hotel
#6 of 11 in Cullinan
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheval Tachete
Cheval Tachete
#9 of 18 in Cullinan
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Horseback Africa
Horseback Africa
#1 of 18 in Cullinan
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Ma Tala Tala Wildlife Lodge
#8 of 18 in Cullinan
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Butjani Lodge
Butjani Lodge
#2 of 18 in Cullinan
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullinan Diamond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullinan Diamond Lodge

Address: 2 Hotel Street, Cullinan 1000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Cullinan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Cullinan
Hotel Class:4 star — Cullinan Diamond Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Cullinan Diamond Lodge Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing