We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good start, bad finish ”

The Cockpit Brewhouse
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Cullinan
Cuisines: Brew Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

Although Cullinan has a lot of eateries and options, this one caught my for the live music and misters that give off a lovely cool from the intense heat. The service was great, being attended too quickly and with very friendly service. The drinks arrived quickly and the mocktail was tart and delicious. I placed a food order of basically just fried basked items and that is where it went bad, taking over 45 mins for the food to arrive and when it did the meatballs were literally cold raw in the middle. Yes it was void, so I did not have to pay for it - but it was disappointing after the long wait. The food itself was also just very average tasting.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank TheFatMansPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 97 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2019 via mobile

Visited when the electricity was out so the staff were friendly and helped us by making food which could be done with gas only. Beers were pretty good but food was average. The Thai curry was the best of the bunch by a long way though. Probably much better when they have power available.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 269steveng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2018 via mobile

We came for a quick lunch, but ended up waiting over an hour for food, waited very long for drinks too, then had to find waiter to eventually pay the bill (which took another 10 minutes after asking for it). Restaurant is understaffed, too many tables for two waiters, they were friendly, but unable to do their jobs properly because of the amount of tables they had to serve. Food was alright, not worth an hour’s wait though.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Anandi_Schwarz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018 via mobile

After the mine tour we popped in for a cold one and something to fill the stomach..

We had a basket, which is actually not a basket but ok we do accept being different...

Food 5/5
Vibe 5/5
Venue 4/5
Service 3/5

The kitchen was fast with the food out but the waiters needs a bit more training on customer service.

But we will visit again to give your burgers a go, they looked amazing...

Keep on Flyin’.....

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank JWMare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018

We were drawn to this front garden restaurant/ bar by the lively great music that came from there. It was a fantastic young guy singing every song that ever made you happy, from Hotel California to Afrikaans rock. The food is basic pub food, but the taste is not basic pub, great tasting affordable food. First time if been there, but will surely go back.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WBronkhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cockpit Brewhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Cockpit Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing