We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes it has a slope, the hotel is on the side of a mountain, get over it. It's a fantastic hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Galtur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic , the food and service is excellent. There were four of us that returned today from a weeks skiing holiday, we had a great time.
The welcome we got from the staff on article was excellent, they all looked after us very well. The food and afternoon teas & cakes are excellent, we could not fault the evening meals, we had various fish and steak/meats. All good.
On Wednesday night was "pudding night", what an amazing sight to see so many fantastic puddings and afters. Just amazing.
We had a room on the second floor at the front of the hotel, with great views. It was clean and well maintained. Very happy. Yes the hotel is on a small slope up from the road about 40 yards long, in ski boots it is a bit of a chore but if you can ski for a few hours on the great slopes of Galtur or one of the other ski resorts close by reached by the ski bus, it will not be a problem that cannot be overcome.
In summary, one of the best hotels I have visited over the past 30 years of skiing.
Well work a visit, thank you. Andy.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 149 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Read all the previous reviews and went to Galtur fully expecting a lovely 4 star hotel, it was and it wasn't! Our room (104) was very small and above the kitchen so the noise level was pretty high from about 6am. It was also cold most of the time, the twin radiators being under windows in the annexed seating area, this was particularly noticable a) when getting out of bed and b) stepping out of the shower in the morning. The spa area is extremely below par and was the singularly most disappointing thing, very small and little or no ambience, the 3 star Alpenrose down the road was much better last time we were in Galtur. Which brings me to the food, on the first night we all thought it was very good and it certainly remained an occassion with its 5 courses every night but we all soon got fed up of the same sauce drowned format every night, one sauce on a piece of meat yes but two or three no! Wine was, for me, expensive. At between 28 and 34 euro a bottle I'm not sure why some people think it inexpensive, the Chocolate Block and Carmeniere were good though (e34 and e29 respectively), house wine drinkable at 18 euro a litre. Waiting on staff were very polite and largely efficient and the longe is a nice relaxing place for a drink after dinner. The ski and boot room were good and in consideration of the much maligned hill up to the hotel you can leave your equipment in the Intersport, a few minutes from the hotel door and en route to the ski bust stop, free of charge (very helpful staff, good equipment). Back to the hill - it's there, it's a bit of a pain - get over it! Think of it as either a warm up or warm down, either end of the day. The only time it really impacts is arrival and departure. All in all my 3 star evaluation is a little mean, some elements might just be 4 star but as I can only give a single rating the spa and room ratings prevail. This might be completely different if you book a superior room and are not interested in the spa area.

Stop press! - I would go back though, largely due to the fact that we paid less than £500 each including supplements and the Alpenhotel Tirol is worth that level of investment. Finally - both Galtur and Ischgl are lovely ski areas but the hidden gem is Kappl, it's included on the area pass - don't miss it and go early in the week in case you want to return.

Room Tip: Check out the cost of a superior room, otherwise request one not directly above the kitchen and prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank russfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have just returned from a Ski Trip to Austria with my husband and two friends. We stayed in the Alpenhotel Tirol and I can honestly say it was a wonderful experience. Peter, Marie-Louise and Franz are lovely and without exception all of their employees were friendly, very efficient, helpful and caring. I have difficult dietary problems and I cannot believe how they managed to serve me with such delicious, beautifully presented food every night. The other three in my party said the food they had was the best they had ever experienced on a ski trip. The breakfast buffet was also superb with a vast choice and again beautifully set out and topped up when necessary so it did not matter what time you arrived for breakfast everything was still beautifully fresh.

The lounge areas are nicely set out and it is easy to chat to the other guests whilst having a drink from the bar. Our room was large with lots of hanging space, a sitting area, t.v., balcony, etc. The sound proofing is also good as we never heard any noise from other rooms.

The entrance to the hotel is up a fairly steep slope but you can leave your ski's and boots, free of charge, at the local Intersport which is conveniently located just before the bus stop.

The ski area in Galtur is fairly small and quiet with very few people on lovely runs. The lift pass also allows you to ski in Kappl which has some superb, long runs from the top of the mountain to the base station. Ischgl is a short bus ride away and offers masses of excellent skiing for beginners to expert.

If you like skiing in Austria, give it a try.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Skied x-mas 2012 at nearby Galtur, Ischgl and Kappl. Hotel is a couple of minutes walk to bus stop. Food was sensational; best i have eaten in a ski trip in 15years. ( venison, duck, wild boar ), typically 5 courses. Excellent variety and professionally prepared. No surprise, the hotel was pretty full. Service was also excellent as were all the other aspects of the hotel i encountered. Heated boot rack naturally.

Could not have been better.

Room Tip: the hotel is in its own grounds. Silence wherever your room is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank les-1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Have stayed in lots of Austrian hotels and I would certainly recommend this one. Lovely clean rooms and bathrooms. Amazing food - would award it a Michelin star for the food and presentation and very nice staff. Spa is fairly small but quite acceptable. Only disadvantage is the steep hill up to the hotel which might be slippery if icy. Would also highly recommend skiing in Ischgl as well as Galtur as there are some lovely slopes and the snow is amazing, even in April. Shops in Ischgl are extremely expensive though and it is full of posers!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaVanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed at the hotel to celebrate a 50th birthday as a family with 3 teenagers. Galtur is a wonderful, friendly resort with this being our 4th visit but first at this hotel. We had read about the short steep slope up to the hotel but apart from the first morning, it wasn't icy so wasn't an issue to us. The greeting from Peter was warm and friendly. We had emailed before we left as we had 3 rooms and asked for them to be close together if possible. They were all on the third floor as requested. We had upgraded one room to a balcony room and it was well worth it. The room was spacious, seating area for 5 which was great for our family. There was a large flat screen TV which we were able to link our portable DVD player. We all had showers but apparently there are rooms with baths so if you prefer a bath I would advise you to Email the hotel in advance.
The food was fantastic. Large buffet breakfast, from 7.30 to 9.45am. The afternoon sandwiches and cakes were great and unexpected. I thought it would be the usual marble cake but it was a selection of breads with cheese/pate/meats plus different cakes every day. You have to pay for a drink but these are reasonable - a glass of prosecco went wonderful with the snacks.
The 5 course evening meals were excellent. We tried so many different combinations of food, some I wouldn't put together but there wasn't much we didn't like. The quality of the meat was superb. The sweets were memorable, anyone with a sweet tooth will be in heaven. The staff looked after you well, Andreas was particularly helpful and taught us a little bit of Hungarian as we ate!
The hotel staff were helpful at all times - Peter answered all our questions and it was nice to speak to his very knowledgable father on the history of Galtur and his family.
We used the whirlpool, steam room and table tennis facilities whilst we were there - all were not busy and enjoyed.
In summary, I would recommend this hotel and hope to visit again when we return to Galtur. The Rep suggested that at least 50% of the British guests at the Alpenhotel were repeat visitors which, having now been, I can totally understand.

Room Tip: Well worth the upgrade for a balcony room. Hotel has an arrangement with Intersport to store skis an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed for a week in February with friends for a skiing holiday. The Lorenz family and their staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. The rooms are a nice size and the bar / lounge areas are comfortable. I can endorse all the good things already said in the other reviews.
I got around the icy slope by wearing yaktrax ice grips on my shoes and then put my ski boots on at the Intersport shop near the ski bus stop. The hotel provides ski & boot storage, however, you can also leave your gear at this shop free of charge.
The Alpen is one of the best ski hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galtur hotels
0.1 mi away
Alpinhotel Monte
Alpinhotel Monte
#1 of 15 in Galtur
212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Wirler Hof
Hotel Wirler Hof
#9 of 15 in Galtur
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rossle
Hotel Rossle
#4 of 15 in Galtur
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alpenresidenz Ballunspitze
0 mi away
Post
Post
#5 of 15 in Galtur
47 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Almhof
Hotel Almhof
#8 of 15 in Galtur
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur

Address: Nr. 68, Galtur 6563, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Galtur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galtur
#2 Spa Hotel in Galtur
Price Range: $225 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur Hotel
Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur Galtür

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing