We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food and Wonderful Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Galtur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2011

About the Hotel:
We are in our 40's and I went with my two friends, partner and child who is 2 years old. When we arrived we were lucky as we had a minibus that dropped us off at the front door with our luggage. It is a steep hill and I found it very difficult walking up and down it in my own shoes let alone ski boots. When we were leaving the next customers had to bring their luggage up the hill, crazy. Not suitable for the older generation, unfit or disabled. The rooms were immaculate, traditional, spacious and warm. The atmosphere was as dead as a do do after dinner - people must have gone to bed at 9pm, we stayed playing cards in the bar part but at midnight the waiter asked us to go up to our room as he wanted to go home!. The food was gorgeous with a salad buffet everyday, although a little rich as they used a lot of sauces with cream in them but really I can't fault the quality, we all felt the same. The hosts are professional and very helpful, the owner Peter had our lift passes ready for us as I emailed him before we left the UK, they were £30 cheaper than prebooking with your travel agent.

About the skiing:

We left our ski boots and skis at the ski shop next to the chairlift in Wirl. They charge 1 euro a night and it well worth doing this if you are skiing in Galtur. The skiing itself is fairly limited but with brilliant snow. There are 3 chairlifts, 3 draglifts and one gondola. We went into Ischgl for 2 days only. It was just too busy and I was disappointed as the resort in Ischgl wasn't as traditional as I'd have liked, there were no huts, just massive purpose built restaurants, although OK stylish, oh and very expensive.

Childcare for non skiing children from 2 years old in Wirl/Galtur is fabulous and only cost Euro 49 for the week, lunch childcare is an extra Euro 5 per day. Ursula was great with our little one.

I would recommend this hotel, the resort is very quiet, no apres ski but you can ski all day albeit up and down the same runs without seeing many people.

When my son is old enough to learn to ski, it is a good place to go back to.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strikeapose22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 149 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2011

We booked this hotel as part of a ski package from Crystal selecting to upgrade to a room with balcony and bath (well worth it). The hotel rooms are a bit dated but are extremely clean and given that this is a ski hotel (you are not likely to be spending huge amounts of time in your room!) more than adequate. The only other small negative is the walk up and down to the main road with ski boots on and skis is a but treacherous when icey as the hotel is above the main road...but we are talking a very short walk along a steep driveway and then it's just 5 mins on to the ski bus stop on the flat. (quick warning ...the ski buses to Galtur are v quiet being a tiny resort but the buses to Ischgl are packed and standing even for the short ride is a bit of an ordeal with everyone jammed in like sardines... sardines carrying skis and poles I should say!)... back to the hotel...
What was amazing was the food and the service. Breakfast was an extensive buffet including scrambled eggs, bacon, cheese, cold meats, cereals fruits...the free afternoon tea consisted of some amazing deserts and cakes plus tasty canapes (drinks not included so tea and coffee are extra) and a delicious 5 course evening meal that was exceptional every evening ...if you love good food this is the hotel for you. The other thing was just how helpful the staff were. One evening half of our party wanted to night ski so the hotel provided an early dinner for them do they could eat before hand. Most evenings after the main course we would be asked if we were full or wanted second helpings (the sort of care you get when visiting your mum ... not at a hotel or restaurant!)...nothing seemed too much trouble! Everyone in our party of eight was impressed! The hotel also has a pleasant spa area which includes an 8 man jacuzzi, 4 person steam room and 5 person sauna)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonMassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Just returned from a week's skiing in Galtur staying at the Alpenhotel Tirol.

The food was excellent, a good variety, well prepared and presented. Standard of service throughout the hotel friendly and efficient.

The rooms (with balcony) were large and well maintained.

Very impressed with the hotel in all areas, good mix of nationalities in the guests.

A nice elegant hotel in the alps. (shame a couple of Brits wore sports shorts to dinner every night)

The hotel is a credit to the owner and his family they should be suitably proud of this fine hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjp07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed with our family on a ski trip for one week. The hotel is partly modernised. The rooms are spacious and clean. We stayde with our family in one room (kids are 9 and 13) The staff is excellent and the food is perfect. (they have a very nice winelist for fair prices) The only comment I have is that the short walk to the skibus starts with a pretty steep decent. Some people even took the car to drive the first 50 yards down.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felixpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Third visit to this charming family run hotel . Warm welcome, excellent food , nice sauna and whirlpoolarea to relax after sports.
This place is right for you if you prefer traditional hospitality to super chic design hotels and
don´t expect the newest gadgets. Galtür is the perfect place for families and people who can go without a tremendous nightlife.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kai062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

My two children and I stayed at this hotel over the christmas period. We arrived late due to Channel Tunnel delays and arrived at 11pm. Nonetheless the owners still welcomed us in with hot drinks followed by a seven course meal! And every night from then onwards, we experienced the full extent of the culinary wizardry that their kitchen produced. For a medium sized hotel in the Alps, half board, you would expect nice food, but nothing to write home about. We can honestly say that we were flabbergasted with the quality, and quantity of the food. Interesting mixtures of flavours delicately and adroitly placed together to make dishes that make your water. Every night there was a 6 course menu on offer, with choices for your main course. The menu was more akin to a Michelin star restaurant than an chalet hotel in the Alps.

We simply cannot sing this hotel's praises high enough and would, have, and do recommend it to all of our friends. The rooms are also kept immaculate by the efficient and friendly cleaning team and the village of Galtur is warm and friendly with the fantastically ornate church in the centre. Only a short, and regular, bus journey away from Ischgl, this resort should not be over looked.

We will certainly be visiting again, and again, and again....

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomhowroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We arrived at the hotel (dropped off by our crystal transfer at the bottom of the drive!!)not a good start the drive is horrendous icy & steep & I mean steep with 2 large suitcases boots and skis hand luggage by the time we dragged them up the mini mountain!! & went in we had a nice greeting the gentleman on reception called me by my name before I'd said who we were.once we were checked in there was no offer of help with luggage just a point towards the lift.

The room well it was a good size but in bad repair desperate for an overhaul but spotless & clean the cleaning staff were friendly & did a really good job with what they had to work with, the tv was out of the ark & we could not use our portable DVD player as it had no conections it was so old!! .

The 1st night we went to dinner to be advised we had a lovely table reserved with another couple well I spend 48 weeks of the year talking to people with my job there is no way I was spending a week spending small talk the owner seemed surprised with our reaction the couple were really nice but we know they were private like ourselves and were sure felt pushed into the awkward situation, on day 2 we were given own table.

The food good if you like sauce at least 2 with each course great sweets fab waiting staff that make me feel guilty for being so honest about this report because they are so lovely and stopped the holiday being disaster.

Departure we were promised a breakfast pack outside our room we had a 5 am departure instead we got nothing and the reception was in complete darkness we had to beg the crystal rep to arrange to get the minibus up the drive as my husband had a ski injury and could not make it down that terrible mini mountain!! They did manage it if only they had made the effort on the arrival things may have seemed a whole lot better!! The alternative was if they could not pick us up from the hotel door was that we could get a taxi & claim it from our insurance! Hence we won't be booking crystal again never! & will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Saskievans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galtur hotels
0.1 mi away
Alpinhotel Monte
Alpinhotel Monte
#1 of 15 in Galtur
212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Wirler Hof
Hotel Wirler Hof
#9 of 15 in Galtur
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rossle
Hotel Rossle
#4 of 15 in Galtur
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alpenresidenz Ballunspitze
0 mi away
Post
Post
#5 of 15 in Galtur
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silbertaler
Silbertaler
#13 of 15 in Galtur
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur

Address: Nr. 68, Galtur 6563, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Galtur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galtur
#2 Spa Hotel in Galtur
Price Range: $224 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur Hotel
Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur Galtür

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing