We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Finestra Sul Fiume
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overall disappointing”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had planned to stay here for 4 nights in August, left after 2.

Beware deceiving pictures online, rooms are much smaller than you expect. They are also a bit dated and rough around the edges.

The main house with check-in area, lounge and pool table is the owner's family home, and not as accessible to guests as we were led to believe. Doors to it are locked at night, and there is no wi-fi in the guest rooms. We felt a bit uncomfortable reading/using our iPads on the sofa there when we realised it was the owner's home.

Breakfast on the river was disappointing, and consisted of grapes (with seeds), juice, coffee and croissants, ONLY. Nothing else offered.

Swimming in the river with the fish was not particularly appealing to us, and is for strong swimmers only.

We were very disappointed and will not return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapidile, Proprietario at La Finestra Sul Fiume, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Mrs. & Mr. LL Dublin,
We are very sorry that You did not enjoy Your stay at La Finestra Sul Fiume.
We remember You very well also because, You arrived during a wonderful morning with sun shining and a little breeze and instead enjoying the outdoors, You preferred to sit in our living room and connect Your 2 ipads and 2 iphones to the wifi for quite a long time.
We know that this place is not for everyone; infact, we never did put any kind of road signs.
La Finestra Sul Fiume has to be chosen in advance.
Our B&B does offer some fine luxuries like:
- a customized breakfast, tailored to our customers wishes, at the time They desire (view, peace & all included), only;
- clean and comfortable rooms, some bigger some smaller but, all with an unforgettable view;
- an immaculate 5.000 sqm. garden with 3 private islands;
- the possibility to swim in a very clean river with shallow waters;
- the possibility to transform part of the river in a pool with still water (good for small kids too and not more than 1 mt. deep);
- the booking of fine restaurants of the area, serving high quality traditional food;
- a 600 year old building.

When we opened our home in 2006, our main goal was to share this place and its beauty with People coming from all around the world.
We never promised things that we decided not to offer (rooms with telephone & tv or 24 h. lobby; for those things, there are very fine Hotels).
Since then, La Finestra Sul Fiume has improved day after day, also thanks to all the kind suggestions that our Guests have given us.
We will also take Your fine advice with a lot of attention and we will try to improve the wifi in the room You chose for Your holiday. It is the only place, where the wifi signal doesn’t reach strong enough (till now).
We hope that our Guests will excuse us if, we keep our home closed during night time (it is open from 07.00 untill 22.00) and to serve grapes with seeds if, season & quality will require it.
Kindest Regards
Mattea e Pietro Gandini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    21
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
18
182
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ispra, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for 3 nights in early October. The weather was dreadful, but we still had a wonderful long weekend. This part of Italy is beautiful, and La Finestra is a wonderful base to explore it from. The buildings, the gardens and location on the river are just breathtaking. You feel like you have arrived in a peaceful oasis. Oh, and a stylish one :) Pietro is a great host; he gave us suggestions for restaurants for lunch and dinner, making reservations for us when necessary. We ate so well! Breakfasts at la Finestra were delightful too, with homemade jams, croissants, fresh coffee and juice. It was the most relaxing, gorgeous few days. Despite almost constant rain, it was a delightful stay. I will absolutely return and I would highly recommend it. Pietro makes it his business to make sure you have everything you need. Nothing was too much trouble. Just a joyful few days. We felt really spoilt. Perfect!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaulieu-sur-Mer, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I returned from a short stay at La Finestra Sul Fiume two weeks ago. I have been trying to think of something different to say.......it has honestly all been said.
This is a true gem in a magical location. I often travel alone and this was one of those times. From the moment I arrived and met Pietro and his family I felt very relaxed and it remained that way.
To share this beautiful home and gardens with the owners is very special and breakfast by the water daily so relaxing. Pietro has all the information you could need about places to see, places to eat and places to shop!
La Finestra Sul Fiume would be a perfect setting for a wedding party with a difference. A photographers dream.
I will absolutely return next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junevolante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had another wonderful visit to La Finestra.
We stayed in the same room as before, two years ago , Gieto I think. The room can be a bit dark due to the nature of the building but is part of it's charm. Breakfasts are wonderful at the tables set by the river. One of the great sights is seeing Pietro bringing the breakfast over on the laden tray. Fresh Coffee, Croissants and other delights. Each morning Pietro would give any advice on your planned day, from Restaurants in the evening to places to visit on your day out. We toured round Lake Garda and went to Restaurant Lido on the West side of the lake on his recommendation, a fabulous meal and venue. On our return Pietro advised us to to Vigilio on the East Side, we had a lovely evening aperitif there. We would never have found these places without his advice.

Borghetto is a short walk away (an easy twenty mins) and Valageio a further 10-15 mins from there through the Park. We also enjoyed the longer route to Borghetto via the dam. It is a great place to hire a bike with a long cycle paths, cycling is huge there.

We went to lovely restaurants in Borghetto and Valegio on Pietro's advice.

To summarise a wonderful,charming place to stay set in the most beautiful quiet spot by the river , with lovely walks, a beautiful village a few minutes away, cycling and finally a host who wants to make your stay in the area absolutely special. HE DID.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our first stop on the summer trip to Italy, and the experience was just totally amazing. Pietro has done everything to make sure we were comfortable and had relaxing time, from personally serving us our breakfast to giving tips for visiting the area to making restaurant reservations. He even gave my wife a small but memorable birthday present - her birthday was indeed during our stay there. The location is secluded, it literally is on the river, and the place is basically a converted 600-year old mill. The owners have done an amazing job, the rooms are very cozy, tastefully decorated and give you a comfortable sense of privacy. The area is excellently maintained. Geese and cats living on the property give an additional sense of charm. Verona is about 20 minutes away, and so is Peschiera on lake Garda, so the place is very well suited for exploring the area (GPS strongly recommended, of course). Overall, we immensely enjoyed every minute of our short stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volodya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Lovely restoration of an old mill along the Mincio river in northern Italy, near Verona. It was such a lovely place to stay to relax fully, waking up next to the flowing river, having breakfast on a grassy island in the middle of the river, reading in a hammock under a tree, observing the geese and swan and few friendly cats, and hopping in the river when it got warm. That combined with great wine tasting and olive oil tasting a quick car-ride away meant a very easy and lovely vacation. Pietro was super nice and gave great recommendations on nearby restaurants, wineries, and more.

Oh and don't forget to eat a lot of tortellini -- the local specialty.

I'd highly recommend this place to anyone looking to relax.

Room Tip: The cottage was nice and private with a little extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMahesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

From our first day at Finestre Sul Fiume, when we were met by the beaming and infinitely hospitable Pietro, we knew we would enjoy our time there. The location, an old mill house and converted outbuildings set amongst idyllic lawns and a glistening river could not have been more suited to a relaxing holiday.

Our time was spent lazing in hammocks and cooling off in the (clean) river, and seeing the many local sights as recommended by Pietro. Of note are Verona, Mantua, Padua and Lake Garda all within easy reach for day trips.

But the highlight of our stay was the dining advice from our hosts Pietro and Mattea. On 7 nights they recommended 7 different restaurants all within 15 minutes by car and some within walking distance, and each one was fantastic. With incredible authentic local cuisine and impressive wine lists the reasonable prices were a very pleasant surprise.

This is an ideal destination for people looking for a relaxing break, great food and wine, a base for exploring the local area, or all three. We can not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valeggio Sul Mincio hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Bastia
Hotel La Bastia
#5 of 5 in Valeggio Sul Mincio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel agli Ulivi
Hotel agli Ulivi
#1 of 5 in Valeggio Sul Mincio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albergo Eden
Albergo Eden
#3 of 5 in Valeggio Sul Mincio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Il Borghetto Vacanze nei Mulini
Il Borghetto Vacanze nei Mulini
#1 of 28 in Valeggio Sul Mincio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Bed and Breakfast La Pescadora
B&B Bed and Breakfast La Pescado...
#10 of 28 in Valeggio Sul Mincio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Valledium
B&B Valledium
#3 of 28 in Valeggio Sul Mincio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Finestra Sul Fiume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Finestra Sul Fiume

Property: La Finestra Sul Fiume
Address: Vicolo Corte Sega 2, 37067, Valeggio Sul Mincio, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Valeggio Sul Mincio
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Valeggio Sul Mincio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Finestra sul Fiume is a modest but warming place, which you would never like to leave, especially due to the beauty of the historic and natural surrounding. Here you are far away from the stress of the city, from the noises and hurry just to live moments of peaceful life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Finestra Sul Fiume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing