We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Studio & the Barn Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Bay Motel Safety Beach(Mornington Peninsula)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral Motor Inn(Rosebud)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairways Resort(Rosebud)(Great Value!)
$90
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindenderry at Red Hill(Red Hill)(Great Value!)
$221
$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Motel(Rosebud)
$92
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peppers Moonah Links Resort(Fingal)(Great Value!)
$138
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Moonlight Bay Apartments(Rye)(Great Value!)
$130
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson(Rye)(Great Value!)
$124
$120
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jackalope Hotel(Merricks North)(Great Value!)
$434
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
13
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood heaterbottle of champagnebreakfast provisionsrelaxing weekendbreadmy partnercarolebooksunitpropertybathhostspeninsulaaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 16 of 16 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed at the Studio for 2 nights recently. The Studio is a lovely cottage that was done up very prettily. A lot of thought had gone into the decor and other details - there were fresh flowers, creamy brie, a bottle of champagne. The garden was beautiful as well.

However, the place was extremely dirty. There were more than 10 cobwebs; the place was dusty; the ice-bucket and cutlery were all dirty. Corners were dusty and so were surfaces such as bedside tables. Towels were also dusty. We asked the owner (who lives in her own house just beside the Studio) if she could dust off the cobwebs for us and she willingly obliged. However when we returned to the cottage after our day out, we saw that there were many dead insects on our bed, as a result of the cobwebs being dusted off the ceilings. We made do that night by brushing off the insects onto the floor. The following day, we asked the owner to change the bedsheets for us and vacuum the bedroom. While the sheets were changed, we still saw dust and dead insects on the floor of the bedroom when we returned to the cottage that second night.

We also faced some issue with renovations which were going on in the owner's house which was just beside the Studio. A couple of nights before we arrived at the Studio, the owner emailed us to tell us that she was expecting a machine to arrive at the premises at 7 am on the day we were checking out, and asking if we would like to stay at the Barn at a discount. She offered to give us a discount of $20 off the Barn's usual rate. We were not keen to do that as it was inconvenient for us to move after one night at the Studio, and we were not keen to pay the additional cost for the 2-bedroom Barn when there were just 2 of us staying on the property. We asked if she could get her machine to come in at around 10 am. She was nice enough to ask her workers if they could do that, but she told us that she could make no promises. In the end, we were woken up before 8 am by workers doing construction work on the premises . When we checked out, the owner offered to refund us $20 for the noise, which we declined. While this was decent enough, we thought that the entire issue of the renovations was not handled well - given that we had booked and paid for the Studio a few weeks in advance, the owner should really have made prior arrangements to ensure that our stay was not disrupted, either by making arrangements with her workers or by offering us alternative accommodation at no additional cost to us.

Overall, the cottage was lovely and pretty. However, our experience was spoiled by the state of cleanliness of the place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sydaus2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peaceful300, Owner at The Studio & the Barn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2015

I am sorry that you booked The Studio then as we were in the middle of renovations to our own house . I realize this may have been disruptive for you and offered you a refund, which you accepted .Everything is returned to normal now and in fact we have renovated The Studio bathroom and enlarged it to include a most comfortable bath,, which our guests do appreciate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

We stayed 4 nights in the Studio which is a gem located close to Arthur's Seat a landmark on the Mornington peninsula.

The accommodation is warm and inviting and the surrounding gardens a tribute to the hard work or the owners.

From The Studio all of the sights, vines, wines, fruits and people of the peninsula are a short short drive away

Excellent

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpannerPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

We recently visited and stayed in The Studio. A self contained little 1br cottage near the main house. This property has extensive and well established gardens so the setting is fantastic and makes you feel very secluded. The Studio itself contains a bedroom, small bathroom with shower, a main room that contains a table for 4, a couple of 2 seater sofa's and a small kitchenette. There is a fireplace as well and the whole place feels very cosy. Perfect for 2. There are loads of books and DVD's and with the fire going you feel no need to leave. Breakfast is provided as provisions (muesli, eggs, bacon, fruit, fruit juice, fresh bread etc.) which you make yourself. For us that was great as we could just wake up and eat at our own pace.

The place is styled in a french provencial style so there is plenty to look at which may not be some peoples taste but by the same token it certainly feels very homely and helps you to relax.

Closeby I can highly recommend Ten Minutes by Tractor for dinner. Outstanding food and extensive winelist and pretty good views as well. Book in advance. Also plenty of good wineries around.

My only critism of the place is that the sink in the bathroom is way too small. Its one of those thin ones normally reserved for a toilet only room you may have for guests to use. Makes washing your face a bit tricky. But its really great and this is just a small issue and the owners are really friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefspop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peaceful300, Owner at The Studio & the Barn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2015

Thank you for your review of The Studio . You will be pleased to know we have renovated The Studio since your stay and added a beautiful new bathroom that is now spacious with a large separate shower, large vanity unit and supremely comfortable bath to luxuriate in. It is all decorated in cool tones of grey and white tiles and white walls and timber shutters , adding to the Hampton,s look .It really makes your stay at The Studio so very relaxing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

I loved the area of Arthurs Seat and Red Hill on Mornington Peninsula south of Melbourne. We stayed at a little known B&B or really just a property that has a house with two bedrooms and a bath. And, the other "unit" was a studio. The place is called The Barn at Glassonby and I found through a Mornington Penn. website. I made the booking through Azimuth Connections (a booking service?). I think their email is info@azimuth.com.au It was delightful and the owners Carole and John Fitzgerald were wonderful hosts. Since you are staying a house they bring you a breakfast hamper with bacon, eggs, cereal, bread, etc. and you prepare yourself. But, it was so homey and comfy who cares. You could see Kangas early in the morning down by the pond and hear the koalas at night in the trees. Arthurs Seat is on top of a small mountain so you have a short "mountain" road up to the top with a view that is unbeivable. Then you can explore the peninsula from Sorrento which is a neat little village and Mornington and the coastline from the Lighthouse to the south and bays on either side. I could easily live there and I live in a beautiful part of California!

1  Thank wattkenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews