We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cape Schanck
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (847)
Filter reviews
847 results
Traveler rating
465
258
80
31
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
465
258
80
31
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean view new building golf course main building bass strait buffet breakfast games room cape schanck resort mornington peninsula golf shop spectacular views tennis courts table tennis fine dining great facilities wine list superior room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 847 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

RACV members (roadside & club) are entitled to a slightly discounted rate; but be aware that it is quite expensive at around $250 per night, more on weekends.
But it is luxurious - from the ocean and golf course views and very comfortable king size beds. The generous bathroom seems almost wasteful - and I contemplated how much better it would be if the architects had enclosed the toilet (rather than have it placed in the huge bathroom).
There are a few annoyances that I will mention - and the first is that the RACV does not invite feedback. There are no evaluation forms - and there is no email follow up. The receptionist said I “could go on TripAdvisor”! Sure, but wouldn’t management like to know any adverse comments before revealed on TripAdvisor?!
The reliance on the electronic, paperless world is frustrating: there is no compendium in the room, you’re expected to negotiate the TV screen for info. I had difficulty and had to call reception. The staff member who sorted it for us said he is often called to help ppl with this. With no evaluation forms, how would RACV know?
We ordered room service breakfast which arrived on black wooden trays with chipped paint around the sides through overuse. Seemed incongruous in this resort. But the scrambled eggs were deliciously hot - with huge serves of bacon. Too generous - and wasteful.
We ate lunch at the ‘Mantellina’ cafe, a more casual restaurant which has a wide selection of meals (but not sandwiches; the adjacent pro shop sells a few pre-made). The flagship restaurant is the ‘upmarket’ chef hatted ‘Cape’ (which is very expensive $25 entrees/$45+ mains) with a very limited menu. The menu - nor the cost - didn’t appeal, so we didn’t book.
Instead we ordered room service: which was excellent! The hamburgers (yes, with chips in a wire basket!) were delicious as was the lovely leaf salad we also ordered.
There’s a wide 25 metre lap pool - with space set aside for children. Plus a health spa & gym.
The undercover car park has access to reception, & the rooms - but lack of signage means it’s confusing to know where to access the lifts.
Due to lack of onsite information about the resort, we don’t feel we made good use of the facilities, so do your homework before you go.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 587SallyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCS_ResortManager, Manager at RACV Cape Schanck Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 587SallyD,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay with us at the RACV Cape Schanck Resort.

The different levels of RACV membership to provide different levels of discount on rates, however with a dynamic rate code this means that during peak periods of years, including public holidays and school holidays, the rate does increase.

It is very pleasing to see that you found the room luxurious the beautiful aspect that surround the resort including the Bass Straight, Port Phillip Bay and also the golf course.

We do apologies for the miscommunication on the front desk in regard to feedback, we do apricate feedback on guest stays so that we can ensure that we are always improving on the service that we provide to meet the stratification of our guest. We do provide a post survey stay to the guest three days after departure. Please be assured we will follow this up with our front office staff members to ensure there is not future miscommunication.

As a part of RACV investment in going green, we have tried to reduce the amount of paper we use throughout the resort alongside with our initiative we ask the guest if they would like to be a part of which is called the Go Green option. Please be aware that this feedback will be passed onto our senior management team for review to see if we any provide any other options.

In regard to the restaurants, thank you for your feedback in regard to the pricing and portion sizes in both In Room Dining, the Cape Restaurant and Mantellina respectively. However, it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the room service. To provide a more options to our guest we are currently in the process of constructing a new food and beverage outlet which will hopefully provide the variety you are looking for.

If you have any other concerns in regards to your stay, please do not hesitate to contact the Duty Manager on shifty by calling 03 5950 8000.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the RACV Cape Schanck Resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Cate Cormie
Front Office Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed staying here and will definitely be back for a longer stay. The whole complex is beautifully designed with many practical and thoughtful touches.

We were in the ocean view room. It was spacious and elegant. Loved the balcony and expansive window / sliding door. The bathroom was huge and beautiful (I wish it were mine!) and had lovely lighting options and generous bench top space and good storage - which is rare at hotels.

The gym is very well equipped and had clear instructions so I could use lots of equipment. We didn’t swim but the pool looked lovely. There’s a games room with a pool table and tennis table.

The restaurants are a bit expensive. We went to the mid range one and the meal was very nice. The buffet breakfast was one of the best - if not the best - one I’ve had. A huge range of delicious offerings. The only issue was the coffee machine - no instructions so kind wasn’t very strong or good.

The undercover parking was good and the location is perfect to explore all of Mornington Peninsula.

We were sad to leave due to the comfort and style of the place. We’ll definitely return and utilize more of the offerings there.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Ros_Mel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCS_ResortManager, Manager at RACV Cape Schanck Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ros_Mel2014,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay with us at the RACV Cape Schanck Resort.

It is absolutely delightful to see that you had such positive stay and also enjoyed so many aspects of resort including the architecture of the resort. We have a very strong connection to Point Leo Estate as it was designed by the same team.

It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed the Ocean View Rooms which have the expansive view of the Bass Straight. It is also wonderful to see that you enjoyed the design of the bathroom and the extra space it provides. It is wonderful to see that you also got a chance to use or see the other facilities including the gym, pool, restaurants and the undercover parking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the RACV Cape Schanck Resort in the near future and if you need any assistance making your booking, please call the resort directly on 03 5950 8000.

Kind regards,

Cate Cormie
Front Office Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in the villa area. Rooms were great with ensuite. Golf course in fine condition. The pool and spa area is awesome. Lots to do for all ages. Good places to eat and drink. Definitely worth your time to stay and enjoy.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Grifology70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCS_ResortManager, Manager at RACV Cape Schanck Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Grifology70,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay with us at the RACV Cape Schanck Resort.

It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your Golf Villas during your at the resort with the convenience of having the ensuite per bedroom. It is also very pleasing to see that you had a chance to use the pool, spa and golf course during your stay and found them in good condition respectively.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the RACV Cape Schanck Resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Cate Cormie
Front Office Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We came here as a family get together for Christmas. My husband, myself and 4 month old and my sister and brother in law and 1 year old nephew shared a ocean view town house, our parents and friends in another.

The town house is spread over 3 split levels so both bedrooms plus the lounge/dining can take in the amazing views. The facilities are fantastic, there is a good size indoor pool (plus outside pool) and a wonderful playground for kids. Plus 2 restaurants in the main building.
Only a couple of things stopped me giving a higher rating. On our first night a large group of men arrived very late. Instead of being dropped off to their accommodation they spent half an hour dragging suitcases along the board walks, shouting and swearing outside our house. It woke us and our baby at 11.30pm. I ended up calling reception were apologetic.
The split system in our room didn't work so our first night was a bit chilly. The next day we rang reception and a portable heater was dropped off at the room. The only other suggestion we had was to add a bit of warmth to the lounge/dining areas with some decor and cushions.
It is a lovely area to stay in we just unfortunately had a couple of issues arise.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 87jemmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCS_ResortManager, Manager at RACV Cape Schanck Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 87jemmab,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay with us at the RACV Cape Schanck Resort.

It is very pleasing to see that you enjoyed the majority of your stay as well as the beautiful expanding view from the Ocean View Rooms. It is also wonderful to see that you took full advantage of the internal and external pools at the resort.

In regard to the noise that was created by other guest at the resort, we do apologies that this impacted your stay and also woke up your baby at such a late hour.

Thank you for providing your feedback in regard to the maintenance issues in your room with the split system. Once this feedback was provided on the property, we organised an external contractor to come out as quickly as possible to attend to the issues.

We hope to welcome you back to the RACV Cape Schanck Resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Cate Cormie
Front Office Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

I am writing this review laying in this absolutly comfy bed and I’m so impressed with this place. I stayed at Torquay resort once and that was nice but this is magical. The views from our ocean view room are just Wowwwww and it’s so clean and just perfect. It’s my husbands bday today and I took him away here for the night since we both members of racv and I’m so glad I bring him here. We don’t want to leave :-)

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank MyLifeAndAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCS_ResortManager, Manager at RACV Cape Schanck Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear MyLifeAndAdventures,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay with us at the RACV Cape Schanck Resort.

We are absolutely delighted to see that Mr MyLifeAndAdventures and yourself enjoyed your stay for his birthday celebrations. It is also wonderful to see that as RACV member you are using all the benefits that are available to you by staying at more then one RACV Resort.

It is also pleasing to read that you enjoyed the beautiful view from the Ocean View Rooms.

We hope to welcome you back to the RACV Cape Schanck Resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Cate Cormie
Front Office Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews