We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
Nearby Hotels
Peppers Moonah Links Resort(Fingal)(Great Value!)
$138
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fairways Resort(Rosebud)(Great Value!)
$90
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flinders Hotel(Flinders)(Great Value!)
$191
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Motel(Rosebud)
$94
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral Motor Inn(Rosebud)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moonlight Bay Apartments(Rye)(Great Value!)
$130
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson(Rye)(Great Value!)
$124
$120
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindenderry at Red Hill(Red Hill)(Great Value!)
$221
$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveler rating
317
184
46
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
317
184
46
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewgolf courseracv cape schanckbass straitbuffet breakfastgames roomnew buildingmornington peninsulamain buildingspectacular viewsrecreation roomwalking trackgolf shopbedroom villatennis courtsgreat golftable tennis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 560 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2014

A weekend away with friends who play golf. Accommodation in the Ocean View rooms with, you guessed it, great views of the ocean as well as the course and the National course next door. Diner in the restaurant via a boardwalk stroll through the bush. Food very high standard, service patchy. Breakfast buffet very good with Nespresso coffee. This is our second time here and will not be our last.

Room Tip: Ocean View
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conleth R, Manager at RACV Cape Schanck Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Thank you for recent stay at RACV Cape Schanck Resort. We are glad you enjoyed the views, golf course and the food. We will ceratinly provide your feedback to our team and endeavour to increase the enjoyment of future experiences at the Resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Schanck soon,
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We spent a night here during July and were impressed with every aspect that we experienced. The Ocean View room is truly an ocean view room. The rooms are set up on a hill and have an incredible uninterrupted view across the coastline. We had a balcony too - which would have been lovely to sit out on and enjoy the view if only the weather was a little better!
As it is set in a golf course the surrounds are lovely and green and everything looks beautifully maintained. All the staff we encountered during our visit were very helpful and welcoming.
The food was great. We had the Sunday night Carvery Buffet and then the breakfast the following morning. There was a wide selection of options available at both times and there would certainly have been something to please everyone there.
The only thing to consider (and it wasn't a problem for us) is that its not really close (walking distance) to any town so if wishing to go elsewhere for a meal etc you would need to drive or organise transport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conleth R, Manager at RACV Cape Schanck Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Melinda A

It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay in an Ocean View Room. Perhaps we’ll see you enjoying a glass of wine on your balcony in the warmer months? Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards

Conleth Roche
Resort Manager - RACV Cape Schanck Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Very impressive rooms and conference facilities. Food was great even if buffet for our large group. Service was good throughout and the girls at reception accommodating of our needs etc. The over sized rooms have amazing views (i think all) of the coast, good sized bathrooms and comfy couch area. Beds excellent and king sized. Some accom blocks closer to the central facility so might be more convenient to be closer. Didn't get to play golf but the course looked in amazing condition for winter.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conleth R, Manager at RACV Cape Schanck Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear StuckinBangers

Thank so much for your review. Even though you wouldn’t have had too much time to enjoy your room around your meetings, I’m sure that the amazing ocean views were a highlight. All of our ocean view rooms and suites having stunning views of Bass Strait and the rugged Fingal coast.

Thanks again and I am pleased that you enjoyed our conference facilities, hopefully next time you’ll have time to sneak in a quick round on the course!

Best regards
Conleth Roche
Resort Manager - RACV Cape Schanck Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We are avid travellers from Melbourne and loved staying in 5star hotels whenever we travel locally or overseas. In comparison to Crown Metropole, the latest 5star hotel in Melbourne, which we stayed early in the year, this is like 5 star and Crown Metropole would have been 3star! Quality room, beds, furnishings, toiletries, amenities, facilities, food, awesome sea views in our Premium Ocean View room, great buffet breakfast, etc! In the ratings, we would have given it 5star if not for some unpleasantries from some of the Reception ladies which had an attitude, but Amanda at Reception and Lee at Breakfast were both fantastic, a great asset to the Hotel we would say, and redeem it all, so I would still give this Resort a 4star. Will definitely be back!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank bearsticky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha P, Manager at RACV Cape Schanck Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear bearsticky

“Probably the best resort in Victoria”…wow!

That's such a fantastic description of our resort and facilities, particularly the Premium Ocean View Room. It is great to see our breakfast buffet consistently receiving great feedback from guests, there really is nothing like starting the day off right, is there?

Amanda and Leigh will both be thrilled to receive your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the service that you received from one of our Front Office staff. The RACV prides itself on its commitment to its “Service Counts” philosophy and feedback from members and guests assists us to continually improve our systems and practices. If there is a specific staff member or incident that you would like to bring to our attention? Please contact our Accommodation Manager Allison via email allison_mccrindle@racv.com.au.

We’ll look forward to welcoming you back to RACV Cape Schanck Resort sometime soon.

Best regards
Conleth Roche
Resort Manager - RACV Cape Schanck Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here overnight in an ocean view room. This is a real view, not a filtered view
Check in seamless and pleasant. Breakfast sensational and lunch in the bar was beautiful. Dinner in the lounge was also excellent. Lovely rooms. Comfy bed but for our liking maybe the mattress was slightly firm but that's just being picky. One thing...there is no track providing beach access from the resort

Room Tip: get a ocean .'mview room. You are at the ocean!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanga_tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conleth R, Manager at RACV Cape Schanck Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear kanga_tina

Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed our fantastic ocean views. We take great pride in the team that we have here at RACV Cape Schanck Resort and will be sure to pass your kind words along.

Next time that you stay, be sure to ask our reception staff about the private bathing options available at Peninsula Hot Springs – or even the tranquil Spa Dreaming Centre.

Kind regards
Conleth Roche
Resort Manager - RACV Cape Schanck Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews