We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Schanck Light Station

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cape Schanck Light Station
Ranked #2 of 2 Cape Schanck B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We came to Cape Schanck Light Station having read others' reviews. We were prepared - we came with the right attitude and a torch.

The buildings are old - dating back to the 1850s - and are immaculately presented around a lawn on a clifftop with the lighthouse on site. You have to walk to the lighthouse (only a few yards) to see the sea but the cottages are set in shelter. You can still hear the winds, though.

We stayed in the Inspector's Room, which was a basic bedroom with oldish furnishings, a newish bathroom and a small area with a microwave, kettle, plates, etc. There was a small TV and a radio. There was no wifi or mobile reception - it is a remote site. There was a radiator but the room was still a bit chilly, but the bed was warm and there were extra blankets.

Other reviews have mentioned the gate. To drive your car into the site, you need to unlock the padlock on the chain of a big sliding gate. This is easier with two people, one to do the padlock and one to drive. It isn't well lit and I found my head torch very useful. The gate is a hassle, but the upside is that you have exclusive access to the site after hours. It feels pretty special.

The lighthouse keeper (Prue) was very helpful and friendly. The kiosk where you get your key has heaps of brochures for things to do - but be aware that because Cape Schanck is isolated, it is a 15km drive to the nearest town. But once you get there, you are in winery central!

Room Tip: The red house is newer and doesn't look as pretty - but may be better insulated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Schanck L, Owner at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Your comments show how useful reviews are and we appreciate the feed back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    6
    3
    10
See reviews for
14
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
212 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The whole place is wonderful, Cape Schank is a safe and beautiful. The lighthouse accommodation is a heritage area, the buildings built in 1859, in the evening the lighthouse is a spectacular site. The beach area is highly recommended and nice long easy walks for everyone.
The reception at the kiosk was thorough and helpful. The accommodation is next to the parking lot, where you get in through a big fence and you are given a key to open the padlock. Negative side of the gate is self help and for people with disabilities, senior citizens, or injuries will have a hard time opening the gate. At night it is badly lit unless you have a good sense of finding your way again (which for us is not a problem).
Parking inside the property is not a problem. Well kept grounds and immaculately clean.
The buildings are from 1859. Which I have considered and anticipated.
The price for the stay is on the expensive side, compared to the best accommodation overseas (abroad) Australia has this sense of overpricing to their local visitors and foreign visitors. SO don't be shock to see that the rooms won't be the same as you see in other countries (third world or first world).
Now, my complaint is the BED. Mattress is so bad you can feel the springs and the pillows are too fluffy. The kitchenette is old, kettle was burnt out inside. Unwanted nails still on the walls, cracks on the walls should be at least be fixed, small details are forgotten.
The room is clean, found no bed bugs, towels are a bit off white but clean, toilet is clean, shower is standard, with a little mould on the door.
For an overall rating the place is well maintained, reception at the kiosk was good (though she spoke to me like I was a school girl :-) But no offence taken, maybe because I am not caucasian, and there are heaps of tourists that have a hard time understanding the Aussie English.
To come back to Cape Schank - yes we always love Cape Schank!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharetMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Schanck L, Owner at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for comments this has helped train our staff and improve the items mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

we recently spent two nights in the red brick cottage....2 adults 2 teenage kids...a great escape, ruby red sunsets, the blackest nights, the shiniest stars...for me a highlight of our recent holiday...and plenty to do in and around the local area...horse riding, hot springs, the walk around the lighthouse and national park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 2As2Ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Schanck L, Owner at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Yes there are many activities on the Mornington Peninsula and Cape Schanck is central to them all.
The attraction pass can give you access to the seven best activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent the weekend in the Museum cottage, it was a new adventure for us starting from the way we obtained the key (we checked in late), till visiting the light house and the museum in the morning, the stay was comfortable in general and the whole place has its charm and character and very lovely scenic views, the lighthouse and museum tour is a must.
Please note : - arrange very well and be sure u know what to do and how to enter the place if you are to check in late.
- you won't get a perfect mobile phone signal there
- the cottages are there since the 1800s, the management kept the old furniture and decorations to keep the character of the place as it was and this's what gives it its charm.

Room Tip: - the Museum cottage was nice and it can take up to 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeso B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Schanck L, Owner at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are happy to meet every ones expectations and try to give the service required although we are only a small business .
To get such great compliments is very rewarding.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Booked on line via the Golden Chain Group website,selected the day from their calender and all went through ok and I printed off the Booking confirmation. Off we travelled down from central Melbourne and got to Cape Schanck mid-afternoon. At the little kiosk in the car park where one arrives I produced my booking confirmation only to be told that they were fully booked and had no vacancies! The man in the kiosk and the girl were completely unfriendly and unhelpful didn't even apologise, just said I had been beaten to it by somebody else the night before and we'd have to find somewhere else!! Was the famous Aussie hospitality we had been told about? As visitors from the UK both in our 70's we were forced to drive to the tourist information office at Dromana who were extremely helpful and appalled to hear of our plight and to see our booking confirmation. They then fixed us up with great accommodation in Rye.
Perhaps I was too trusting but I have to ask how it is possible to book on line, select an available date from the automated calender, have it all confirmed, print off the confirmation page and then get there to be told that your booking counts for nothing? In so many words, Full-up, Tough luck, not my problem, couldn't care less, find yourself somewhere else!!! Wonderful!!! That's what you call great customer service!!!
It may have been a nice place, I've no idea as we were turned away without even seeing it. Thanks a lot to those responsible for ruining our trip, for lighthouse keepers, Cape Schanck Light station are not very enlightened! Perhaps they should instead try their hand at running a celebrations in a breweries where their skills would be better appreciated!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jrwiseman247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Schanck L, Owner at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
This booking was made at 9am on he day of arrival online. Another booking was made at the same time over the phone . This is a difficult and rare occasion we were sorry but had to inconvenience someone . A mobile phone would have made communication much easier especially for a same day booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Schanck hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have just had a wonderful few days at this cottage. Freezing, raining, windy weather was all put behind us once we had the fire going and the heaters on in the bedrooms. 6 ladies all had separate beds in the ample bedrooms. Cereal and bread, jams etc provided for breakfast was fine. Very isolated. Only negative is mostly a lack of mobile reception but there is a phone down near the roadway for emergencies. I would recommend this place for a quiet, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Schanck L, Owner at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Winter is one those magical times to be working at the lighthouse. It is amazing how the wind see and rain can create such exhilarating feeling. This combined with a glass of Box stallion Pinot by the fire place makes for an experience which is not the norm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

we stayed in the Red House, very nice basic accommodation with an open fire to enjoy and right next to the lighthouse
you have to drive into town for food though as there are no restaurants out here

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rigseismic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Schanck L, Owner at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
The red cottage was built in 1939 and has kept the era. The fittings including pull down cord for the lights , bath and separate shower with toilet in a separate room are in the mode of the era. But there is full air conditioning as well as the open fire place. The kitchen has an historic electric stove but the fridge and micro wave are modern, the traditional family kitchen table still exists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Schanck
2.6 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
7.2 mi away
Flinders Cove Motor Inn
Flinders Cove Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Flinders
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.9 mi away
Views Hotel Spa Events
Views Hotel Spa Events
#1 of 2 in Cape Schanck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Peppers Moonah Links Resort
5.0 mi away
big blue backyard
big blue backyard
#1 of 1 in St. Andrews Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
11.1 mi away
Lindenderry at Red Hill
Lindenderry at Red Hill
#1 of 1 in Red Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Schanck Light Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Schanck Light Station

Property: Cape Schanck Light Station
Address: 420 Cape Schanck Rd, Cape Schanck, Victoria 3939, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Cape Schanck
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Schanck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Schanck Light Station 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 20 acres of grounds, the Cape Schanck Lighthouse was built in 1859. The lighthouse beam sits 100 metres above sea level, and took the Lighthouse keeper and his 2 assistants 72 turns of the clockwork mechanism to wind it up every 12 hours. The special crystal lens that is still in use was made in France in 1858, and was transported over the vast oceans via sailing ship. It is now valued at more than $5million. 59 circular steps lead up inside the 21 metre high lighthouse which gives spectacular views across the cliffs and ocean to Port Philip Heads in one direction and past Phillip Island to Cape Paterson in the other.Four Cottages occupied by former lightkeepers can now be your base while you explore the Mornington Peninsula. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Schanck Light Station Mornington Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing