We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
12
11
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
11
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsschnitzela family run businessair conditioningsaladtwin bedseuropean breakfastcharcuteriebreadgrape vinescoffee makerguest housequiet settingown wineprivate bathsliced meatsoff the highwayon tap
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 28 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2017

Located in Cawston, the winery/B&B is nestled among acres of grape vines and apple orchards, providing an oasis of calm and relaxation. We arrived early in the evening, promptly located our room (the proprietress offered to help us with our baggage) and settled in. The room was on the small side consisting of two single beds, table and two hardwood chairs, wardrobe chest, TV/AC and a private bath. All the comforts for a good night sleep but not a room one would spend any amount of time lounging in. That's what patios are for, so the patio became our living room.Ordered wine/beer along with platters of sliced meats, cheese, fruit and breads. Just right for a summer evening. Service was great. Breakfast was a traditional German/European: hard boiled egg with slices of cold meats, cheese, fruit, assortment of breads, coffee and juice. Different. Overall, nice venue (nestled between acres of grape vines and the mountains as a backdrop) and good food. On the flip side, sleeping arrangement (room) adequate but felt more like a Hostel than a B&B (hence the 3-star rating). Single beds OK if traveling with a friend but as a couple, prefer a queen (or at least a double) bed for comfortable sleep. Plus, no where to comfortably sit in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank neverneverland95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017

Though I'm not a wine drinker, it's always interesting to see what the vineyards can produce in terms of food, and this place provided a tasty small slab of cod in caper sauce with enough salad to make a very good lunch meal. Everything tasted very fresh. The menu is not extensive but I suspect they make the most of what they do serve. Service was friendly and obliging and sitting out in the covered garden with a view of the hills behind and some of the vineyard was a plus.

It's slightly off the highway but worth it. Can't speak to what the accommodations are like but do recommend the rustic restaurant.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank elizaquake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017

Loved our stay! Scenery is stunning, amid apple and grapes and olive trees. Suite was adorable, a bit small, but beds comfy and everything we needed. Large bathroom. Coffee ready in morning and a delicious european breakfast. Afternoon cheese plate, wine and dinner were all delicious as well. So nice to have all the amenities in one spot. We didn't move from our chairs. Anna was easy and friendly. We are so happy to have discovered this gem in the Cawston valley. Would recommend to all.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank darlenew1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017

We stayed here on the way home from our annual motorbike trip. It is a short distance off the highway. It is very quiet with reasonable rates especially when compared to the overpriced Osoyoos and surrounding (immediate) areas. This is a B&B and is not a hotel. It is a family-run business that has been around for 20 years.
Meal times are specific. There is no pool/hot tub. Excellent beer on tap and the food was extremely tasty. Traditional German dishes including the European breakfast. The rooms are small and there are no queen beds...we had twin beds which were adequate for two large males (one is 6'5"). The bathrooms are also very small...again, this is a B&B so you may have to adjust expectations accordingly. If you are travelling with your significant other, you will have to push two beds together to form a larger bed. This is a minor convenience compared to the other advantages of staying here.
It is the perfect quiet setting nestled between rows of grape vines with spectacular views of the mountains. The owners are motorbike friendly as they also ride. The outdoor seating areas are perfect for relaxing after a long ride.
It appears that lots of locals attend here in the evenings for dinner and drinks...that is generally a clue. Overall, great relaxing experience...will return with my wife.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OmenV2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017 via mobile

Very nice facilty, the wine is very good and you shoud try some of Sascha's homebaked sourdough bread. Too bad that the restaurant was not open at the time of our visit. I bet the food will be amazing. We will be back for sure to try it out and probably stay in one of the seven romms they also offer.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews