We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cathedral Peak Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Inkungu Lodge(Drakensberg Region)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$232
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Nest Hotel(Cathkin Park)
$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sierra Resort(Mooi River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
715 results
Traveler rating
372
234
69
27
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
234
69
27
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscathedral peakhorse ridingbreakfast and dinnerdining roomdrakensberg mountainsgolf coursebuffet stylesouth africastunning viewsstir fryhoneymoon suiteout of this worldtroutmini golfmorning and afternoon teaall agessuperior room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
458 - 463 of 715 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I only called in here for a coffee and coke after a long drive from The Free State. The staff were very friendly and I so much want to stay here for my 60th birthday in a couple of years time. The views from the balcony are amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We recently had a family reunion and had decided to make it at Cathedral Peak.....it couldn't have been better! Our rooms, ranging from standard to executive, were all superbly appointed, and serviced every day. The staff at all levels and in all areas of the hotel were friendly and helpful. The dining room is spacious, and the breakfast and dinner buffet is unbelievable.....food glorious food, such an amazing choice and variety; plus morning and afternoon tea and treats served on the terrace! Besides the wonderful walks and hikes in the area, there are many indoor and outdoor activities and facilities available at the hotel itself. A relaxing time was enjoyed by all......we'll definitely be back....thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Superior room 222 right at the end, quiet, balcony with lovely view!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaBosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Beautiful venue for relaxation.
Lots of activities for kids and I loved that they have a gym.
The food is very good and the desserts are out of this world. All service received was professional and very helpful. I'd love to go back and recommend it to anyone who needs to get away from the busy city life.
Stay as long as you can.

Room Tip: Family Rooms are great! Private veranda.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elismha6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our annual sales conference was hosted at the hotel this year and I couldn't possibly have asked for better service and facilities. The hotel staff are incredibly accommodating and catered to our every whim. The conference venue set-up was excellent, and rooms warm and comfortable. The food was amazing - healthy and fresh- except for the delicious desserts, which were everything but healthy! We had two private functions - a Boma braai and gala evening, both of which were fantastic. The resort also offers many facilities for both business and private travellers - a well equipped gym and steam room, free Wi-Fi, walks, hikes, quad biking to name but a few. Our entire company could not stop complimenting the beautiful venue, great food and excellent service for the duration of our stay. We would definitely go back there again for future conferences and I would go back in a heart beat for a private holiday!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle8431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We went with a large group from Wales for a friends wedding at the hotel. Couldn't have asked for better treatment, staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were lovely and clean, the grounds well maintained and there was lots to do there. The food was fantastic. We took our 1yr old and they were very accomodating and child friendly. We used the baby sitting service for the night of our friends wedding and had no worries, very professional. The Drakensburg is breathtaking and catherdral peak is a great base to stay at wether you're on your own or with family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolinem1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews