We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Uniquely amazing.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel La Sonrisa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Uniquely amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We spent 6 nights with our family , the week before Easter , and chose a double room in the ' Annexe ' building ( very close to the hotel itself ) at E59 per room per night B & B . We are very happy to confirm previous reviews. The decor throughout hotel and grounds is indeed grand and palatial . Our room was large, quiet, clean and the bed very comfortable. The catering was superb especially the breakfasts. But particular mention must be made of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel welcome and special all the time. Ideally located for Sorrento/Capri/Amalfi coast; Pompei,Vesuvius, Herculaneum - all visited by hired car - also a trip to Caserta/Palace & fabulous gardens. However, as has been said before, nerves of steel are needed to negotiate the local traffic and a satnav is also very desirable. Our family had a wonderful stay as well. Amazing and memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChasBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    124
    43
    14
    15
See reviews for
186
166
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have recently returned from spending 5 nights in this hotel. It is everything that other reviewers have said - very OTT but definitely shabby chic. We had booked a junior suite with jacuzzi and the views from our room over the grounds with Vesuvius as a backdrop were stunning. The staff were very welcoming and helpful but particular mention should go to Dany, Antonio, Ferdinando and Peppe who were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for us. As we had arrived early evening we decided to eat in the hotel but expected it to be fairly expensive - this wasn't the case. We had two courses each and with drinks before the meal, a bottle of wine and brandy afterwards the cost was E70. The food was very good, so much so that we ate in the hotel every evening as Sant'Antonio itself wasn't great and the majority of drivers seemed to have a death wish! Breakfast was plentiful with a good selection of fruit, fruit juice, yoghurt, bread, cheese, ham, cakes and pastries. Pompeii was a 30-minute drive away and Herculaneum 45 minutes. Pasquale took us to the railway station in Castellamare for our trip to Naples and we were collected at the station on our return - all part of the service. The only little niggle we had was that both the bed and the pillows were a little hard but all in all a brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MargB063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights. It is stunningly decorated which leaves you either impressed or laughing your head off at the excess. The service was wonderful and at £89pn B&B it was excellent value. Its a little bit out of the way but within a taxi ride to Pompei and Versuvious (ask if Pasquale can be hired, he is very helpful and a reasonable cost). The food was very good and after first staying in Rome it was a pleasant surprise what good value the food was in the hotel.

Its definately a 'marmite' hotel, just don't take it too seriously and enjoy what will be a memorable experience - either way.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roymark2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

We booked this place expecting someting eccentric and were not disappointed. Stayed for three days with two children in the summer. Would not have missed it! Definitely not 5 star by todays standards but you are not paying 5 star prices or anything like it. Faded grandeur but sensational neverless - think Jordan as the interior designer. Place once frequented by footballers and Sophia Loren now a wedding factory with a few foreign guests like ourselves blowing through. Great to sit in bar and watch everyone including the Godfather- like omnipresent owner press the flesh. Free drinks at the bar, wedding cake at breakfast for the kids, more mirrors than the Louvre. If you are thinking of a second wedding or family gathering with a sense of humour look no further - this would be fantastic.

Did I mention the staff were great!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Pros:
Great hotel - you would be happy to take pictures of the pool area, breakfast area, roam around, enjoy, relax.

Cons:
1) Air conditioning in the room was not sufficient. It did not cool enough.
2) For a 5-star hotel, I was expected a good shower cubicle. It was okay - the flow of water was okay (but not high speed), space in the cubicle was ok. But the water temperature was bit random - sometimes it will give u hot water and sometimes cold.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed here for seven days, and on the whole had a very good time. The staff were very friendly and helpful.The bedroom we had was ok,but there were some issues of electrics hanging in the cupboard.Location wise a car is to be recommended as there are some great places to visit and without it I do not know how we would have got see as much as we did. The building itself is fantastic,lots to see :)
The only real downside I can say, is that when there are weddings and functions it can very loud.We did not find this to be too much of a problem, but if you want peace and quiet Be Warned. I think this kind of problem would happen any where in the region as the Italians love to put on a show when they Marry.
The grounds within the hotel are beautiful, full of sweet armour from orange trees and full of birds of paradise flowers.Very pleasing and relaxing.

Room Tip: Generally Grand, very little english tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

I stayed with my parents at La Sonrisa for 6 nights in June.
We took 2 rooms and were happy to find big clean rooms, with balconies and a unique design.
The hotel's location is a minus, but for the price they charge and because of the great service and people who work there I truly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arikb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Antonio Abate
1.8 mi away
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
#1 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
9.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
6.8 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Le Zagare
Grand Hotel Le Zagare
#1 of 3 in Gragnano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#5 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#4 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel La Sonrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Sonrisa

Property: Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
Address: Via Stabia 500, 80057 Sant'Antonio Abate, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Antonio Abate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sant'Antonio Abate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Sonrisa 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel La Sonrisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing