We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Its like Las Vegas on speed - but magnificently eccentric” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel La Sonrisa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Its like Las Vegas on speed - but magnificently eccentric”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights. It is stunningly decorated which leaves you either impressed or laughing your head off at the excess. The service was wonderful and at £89pn B&B it was excellent value. Its a little bit out of the way but within a taxi ride to Pompei and Versuvious (ask if Pasquale can be hired, he is very helpful and a reasonable cost). The food was very good and after first staying in Rome it was a pleasant surprise what good value the food was in the hotel.

Its definately a 'marmite' hotel, just don't take it too seriously and enjoy what will be a memorable experience - either way.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roymark2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    104
    34
    12
    11
See reviews for
146
139
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We booked this place expecting someting eccentric and were not disappointed. Stayed for three days with two children in the summer. Would not have missed it! Definitely not 5 star by todays standards but you are not paying 5 star prices or anything like it. Faded grandeur but sensational neverless - think Jordan as the interior designer. Place once frequented by footballers and Sophia Loren now a wedding factory with a few foreign guests like ourselves blowing through. Great to sit in bar and watch everyone including the Godfather- like omnipresent owner press the flesh. Free drinks at the bar, wedding cake at breakfast for the kids, more mirrors than the Louvre. If you are thinking of a second wedding or family gathering with a sense of humour look no further - this would be fantastic.

Did I mention the staff were great!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Pros:
Great hotel - you would be happy to take pictures of the pool area, breakfast area, roam around, enjoy, relax.

Cons:
1) Air conditioning in the room was not sufficient. It did not cool enough.
2) For a 5-star hotel, I was expected a good shower cubicle. It was okay - the flow of water was okay (but not high speed), space in the cubicle was ok. But the water temperature was bit random - sometimes it will give u hot water and sometimes cold.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed here for seven days, and on the whole had a very good time. The staff were very friendly and helpful.The bedroom we had was ok,but there were some issues of electrics hanging in the cupboard.Location wise a car is to be recommended as there are some great places to visit and without it I do not know how we would have got see as much as we did. The building itself is fantastic,lots to see :)
The only real downside I can say, is that when there are weddings and functions it can very loud.We did not find this to be too much of a problem, but if you want peace and quiet Be Warned. I think this kind of problem would happen any where in the region as the Italians love to put on a show when they Marry.
The grounds within the hotel are beautiful, full of sweet armour from orange trees and full of birds of paradise flowers.Very pleasing and relaxing.

Room Tip: Generally Grand, very little english tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

I stayed with my parents at La Sonrisa for 6 nights in June.
We took 2 rooms and were happy to find big clean rooms, with balconies and a unique design.
The hotel's location is a minus, but for the price they charge and because of the great service and people who work there I truly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arikb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix, USVI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We spent one night here while visiting Pompeii. First the basics. We were there during off season. The rate was great, the room was clean and the staff was VERY friendly. The hotel and the grounds?? They simply have to be seen to be believed. Over the top does not describe this hotel. The landscaping around the pool and out buildings is wonderful. The public area are not-to-be-believed. Pictures do not do it justice.

By car, it is a little distance from Pompeii. We took the train from Naples to the Pompeii station. We then learned we could have gone a couple more stops and been at the train station that is only a 2 minute drive from the hotel. They would have sent their driver to pick us up. On the way back to Naples that's what we did.

All in all, it was well worth the trip just to see this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

You will check out of this hotel with many memories, mostly good ones.

Every wall inside Grand Hotel La Sonrisa, shows photos of some of their celebrity guests over the last decades - Sophia Loren, Diego Maradonna, Messi etc. The hotel was beautiful in its hay-days. Unfortunately not much have been done to the hotel over the last decade and some of the areas of the hotel is in a poor state.

If you´re after a fun experience and excellent service to a decent price, this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasStensrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Antonio Abate
1.8 mi away
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
#1 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Le Zagare
Grand Hotel Le Zagare
#1 of 3 in Gragnano
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
4.3 mi away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#4 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 831 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Miramare Stabia
Hotel Miramare Stabia
#2 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
9.9 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#6 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel La Sonrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Sonrisa

Property: Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
Address: Via Stabia 500, 80057 Sant'Antonio Abate, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Antonio Abate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sant'Antonio Abate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Sonrisa 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel La Sonrisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing