We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Spa Cap de Creus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Spa Cap de Creus
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

A little paradise in the balamory of gerona. Big modern rooms with a great spa opposite the harbour, beach and a stones throw from the restaurants and shops. Only draw back is that the area can get pretty busy so peace and quiet comes in small doses, but then again it's busy with friendly locals so it could be a lot worse

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kendal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    30
    14
    2
    6
See reviews for
10
62
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
164 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This isn’t the first time we’ve stayed in this town doing a walking holiday. The last time we stayed here, we stayed in the ‘sister’ hotel to this hotel, the Hotel Porto Cristo. And to be honest, the same amount of snobbery exists at this hotel. As I stated in my review for the Hotel Porto Cristo in 2011, you are treated differently to regular guests because you are staying here as part of a walking holiday.

I don’t think they like this type of guest and in truth you are not treated as well as regular guests. As a hotel guest you shouldn’t be made to take your shoes off in the reception area and put on a second hand pair of slippers. No other guests would have to this in any other hotel (unless it was the Hotel Porto Cristo). Having to publicly remove your boots and then leave them in reception is quite frankly, out of order. We are entitled to be treated like every other guest – walking boots or not.

Once you’ve done your footwear exchange, you are then allowed to proceed to your room. The rooms themselves are slightly unusual in that they also provide the means to do some self catering. They are very clean and very contemporary with a huge flat screen TV (which has a couple of English TV stations on - ITV 1 and ITV 4), large comfortable bed, modern furniture and a spacious bathroom with a spa bath and excellent shower all done to quite a high spec.

Wi-Fi is also freely available throughout the hotel. The location is in the dead central of town and you are right next to the harbour/marina with all amenities nearby (bars/restaurants etc.).

Breakfast is served on the first floor and there is a good selection of bread, meats, cheeses, juice, tea, coffee and fruit.

Overall, I would say that this is a pretty decent hotel with all mod cons if that’s your thing. There is a bit of style over substance but it’s good to stay somewhere that has a decent sized fridge, a couple of hobs to cook on, a microwave and a kettle (not that we used any of these things).

It’s just a shame that the front of house staff or hotel policy thinks it can treat guests in a certain way when we are the ones paying to stay here. I find it rude and very unprofessional.

Room Tip: Try not to look like you've been on a walking holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were on a walking tour and we had been billeted in some very ordinary hotels. What a pleasure it was to stay in Cap de Creus. The staff gave us a warm welcome and were happy to help with all our requests. he hotel is well located in the center of this beautiful fishing port. There are many good beach to swim at and there are historical sites close by. The room was spacious and very clean. It had small extras like tea and coffee making facilities and a bar fridge.We overlooked a quite lane. There was free WiFi. And most importantly the breakfast was brilliant. Plenty of quality selections. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Pay a few dollars extra and get a view of the sea. This is such a pretty port it seems a shame not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you make it to El Port de la Selva, you will be delighted! This is a nice, clean hotel with a wonderful breakfast buffet included. Our unit included a kitchenette and we looked across the street into 3 wonderful food shops. We didn't use any of the spa services. We hope to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1corgilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here for just one night. We drove from Barcelona, the Gps we had was very messed up and we had a very hard time to find the hotel, as there is no sign of the hotel. The staff was very helpful when we checked in and asked for parking. There is no free parking of the hotel and the parking system was very hard for us to figure out as we don't speak Spanish and French ( although the staff and one other guest were trying their best to explain things to us in English, we really appreciated this) the room we had was beautiful with a view of the coast. However, the AC Was dripping a lot of the water throughout the night and we were bother by the noise of water dripping. We talked to the front desk but they didn't help us much, the AC is working fine though. The included breakfast is great. It's a very beautiful little village. We enjoyed swimming in the ocean. When we booked the room, they said they had jacuzzis , but we found out we had to pay for it. It's quite pricy. Also for euro 170 a night, we would expect a much better service and room. We had been traveling for a month in Spain and France at the time we stayed there, it's the most expensive hotel we have stayed at our trip but it's not the best one we have stayed. However, we do enjoy the view and the location of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LunaKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We wanted to stay close to Cadaques but in a quiet location where the Spanish stay, and El Port del la Selva is perfect. It is also very close to Sant Pere de Rodes, a monastery high up in the hills which is definitely also worth a visit. Hotel Cap de Creus is right in the center of town and the room we had looked over the road to the beach and you could spend hours just observing live as it goes by from the room. The room was well setup with a small kitchenette, large bathroom and very comfortable bed. The staff spoke little English but they made a great effort to communicate with us which was appreciated. Breakfast was included and of a good standard. The hotel does not have any parking of its own, so you have to fight to get your car parked close to the hotel around the waterfront which is free and no time limits, but in busy times these go very early.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wottoAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
171 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

A new hotel on the sea front of this linear fishing village. Not obviously signposted, but once you find it, inside all is clean and new, the welcome friendly, and the breakfast pretty good. Our 2nd floor room faced west so was sunny , very clean and new, had great views over the car park and across the beach and bay to the Pyrenean hills, and was quiet at night. Although this is an Apart-Hotel, the room was rather small and resembled more a bedroom-with-kitchen than an apartment, and I wouldn´t want to be stuck here during a rainy week. The bed was huge, and had various electronic positions which were fun to play with. At 100 euros per night b&b in late october, it is not especially great value, but we enjoyed our stay. El Port de la Selva is very nice on a sunny day, but lacks the charm of Cadaques. The walk up to the Monastery of St Pere 520 metres above the town is a killer, but the views over Cap de la Creus admittedly are unforgettable. The alternative 4 hour walk south to Cadaques is excellent and highly recommended.

  • Liked — big comfortable bed, everything new and clean, great views
  • Disliked — needs to be a bit bigger to deserve being called an apartment
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bicholisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Port de la Selva
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Porto Cristo
Hotel Spa Porto Cristo
#2 of 4 in El Port de la Selva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Sol
Hotel Playa Sol
#1 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel La Goleta
Hotel La Goleta
#2 of 5 in Llanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural
Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural
#1 of 1 in Palau-Saverdera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
6.5 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Sol Ixent
Hotel Sol Ixent
#2 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Cap de Creus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Cap de Creus

Property: Hotel Spa Cap de Creus
Address: C/ Illa 10, 17489 El Port de la Selva, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > El Port de la Selva
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Port de la Selva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Cap de Creus 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Spa Cap de Creus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cap De Creus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing