We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil hotel in well preserved medieval town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Sos del Rey Catolico
Certificate of Excellence
Estepona Spain
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tranquil hotel in well preserved medieval town”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We are friends of the parador and often book specials that offer two nights for the price of one as we did at this parador. As an extra bonus, we learned that this parador offered a continental breakfast which suits us and was substantially less expensive than the usual buffet. Aside though from the wonderful value, this parador is attractive, a blend of the old and the new. Our room was comfortable, the view of the plains and mountains was spectacular, and the young woman at reception was friendly and helpful. I enjoyed reading in the sumptuous lounge while my wife walked about the medieval town. She returned with photos of the old architecture and historical church. As a retired couple, we found this parador relaxing for a couple of days. I agree though with a previous writer that this parador may not be the best location for young active children.

Room Tip: The disabled bathroom was large and although it was not fully equipped, it was functional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    290
    57
    8
    6
See reviews for
134
427
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stunning property just outside the walls of the village with spacious, comfortable and well appointed room. Upgraded to room with a view which was lovely and only fault was inability to adjust the air conditioning down to a comfortable level for us and should have phoned the helpful reception but didn't.
Walked around the village in the afternoon with houses being restored in the narrow streets and sat at the bar in the small square for a coffee.
We had the set meal in the restaurant on the evening which was ok if a bit salty for our tastes (main course) but the breakfast was very good, nice for hot and cold choices. Coffee not the best we had had throughout Spain but ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScootsBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Reading other reviews it seems that it's standard practice to be offered an upgrade when you check in, as we were - a better room for 15 Euros a night. We did get a view but I would have liked to see the room we would have had without the upgrade. The main problem here is the air conditioning which does not work well enough. The instructions to use it are a bit odd and even when you've worked it out, it's not efficient. My room was 25 degrees so I set it for 5 degrees lower but after two hours it had just gone down to 24.3. Friends in other rooms had similar experiences. There is plenty of free parking by the parador and a garage if you want something more secure, but it's a very safe place so not really necessary. We stayed for two nights but one would have been enough as there isn't an awful lot to see. It's a bit if a hike up a hill into the village itself and there's not a huge choice of restaurants. We didn't have dinner here but the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: It's probably worth the upgrade for 15 Euros
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ready4offagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Not stayed at any Parador for over 25 years so it was nice to see that this location was so nice and with nice rooms and comfy beds. Friendly Reception staff but our 'disabled' bathroom was not as well equipped as I would have liked. We did not enjoy our evening meal but breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Check disabled facilities in detail before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnccsifin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night enroute to the Basque country. Beautiful room, super comfortable beds, luxurious bathroom. Very friendly staff. Restaurant meals were reasonably priced and there were lots of gluten free selections - a real bonus as my son has coeliac. Definitely recommend this place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked this Parador for one night as part of a touring holiday. The Parador is quite modern and therefore does not have the historical or architectural significance of some other Paradors the setting in the village of Sos Del Rey Catoliica is magnificent. Having earlier visited the walled city of Carcasonne which is over commercialised this commune is truly magnificent in its unspoiltRey authenticity.
The restaurant was very good and the 22 euro fixed menu was excellent value with mineral water and wine included.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and you will not be disappointed. We booked the Parador as a package with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Modern looking building but wih the usual Parador touches inside. There is a terrace on the fourth floor overlooking countryside and the sunset. The restaurant is also on this floor. It is quite a steep climb up to the village, which is practically devoid of tourist tat for a change.
Staff thin on the ground as usual but pleasant enough. The food was quite good, despite the overpriced Parador menu in the region of E35.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannup11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sos del Rey Catolico
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Peiron
Hotel El Peiron
#2 of 6 in Sos del Rey Catolico
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Triskel
Hotel Triskel
#4 of 6 in Sos del Rey Catolico
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vinacua Hotel
Vinacua Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sos del Rey Catolico
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Heredad Beragu Hotel
Heredad Beragu Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gallipienzo
82 reviews
10.6 mi away
Posada La Pastora
Posada La Pastora
#1 of 1 in Uncastillo
275 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Xabier
Hotel Xabier
#1 of 1 in Javier
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Sos del Rey Catolico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Sos del Rey Catolico

Property: Parador de Sos del Rey Catolico
Address: Calle Arquitecto Sainz Vicuna s/n, 50680 Sos del Rey Catolico, Spain
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Sos del Rey Catolico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sos del Rey Catolico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Sos del Rey Catolico 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Sos del Rey Catolico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Sos Del Rey Catolico Hotel Sos Del Rey Catolico
Parador De Sos Del Rey Catolico Zaragoza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing