We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ancient city, modern amenities”
Review of Hotel El Peiron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Peiron
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ancient city, modern amenities”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Wonderful stopover between San Sebastián and the mountains. Nice to wander the old city, good for An evening. The hotel was first rate, spotless with wonderful breakfast . Don't hesitate to book! Take the side roads back for a real adventure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJP2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    47
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
129
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Honestly I would not have changed a thing except maybe stayed a few more night. The hotel is beautifully remodeled into the old village structure yet masterfully combines the elements of the old and the new. The bathroom was excellent with a shower that worked well. The view from our balcony of the alleys in the village was incredible. The owners could not have been nicer or more helpful. They directed us to a redone cathedral in Javier which was close by and did not even appear in our guidebook. The location is a bit remorse but there are many amazing day trips in the region. Would without a doubt stay here again.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan Village
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel was beautiful. The people were friendly and helpful! The rooms had wonderful views over the streets and alleyways . We would recommend a stay in this atmospheric hotel in the beautiful walked city!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our first small-town, small hotel after two nights in Barcelona, and we had an enchanting stay. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The rooms are beautifully done: comfortable bedrooms, bright cheery breakfast room, pleasant sitting room. The building is built into the side of a mountain, and the breakfast room incorporates the rock as part of one wall. The location is a perfect base for wandering the narrow cobbled streets of the old town. Sos del Rey is a wonderful, quiet medieval town with winding streets and breath-taking views. We met some local residents who were quite friendly and clearly very proud of their town. Our party included a Spanish-speaker, which made chatting with the locals possible; very few townsfolk speak English.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Lovely family run hotel, large well furnished rustic rooms with very good breakfast. The atmosphere in the hotel is excellent, keep it up, the owners surely have a eye for detail.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pierremalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This was by far the best hotel we stayed in during our 18-day tour of Spain. The service, room, and meal were first rate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel is in a terrific location. It has been beautifully refurbished from an old house, combining old and new very stylishly. Our room was very nice, facing the front corner, with lots of nice windows with wooden shutters. We had a great view down the narrow cobbled street, with flower pots on all the balconies. The ceiling featured rustic wooden beams, and the bathroom was beautifully appointed and very spacious. Thick luxurious towels, and a very large and modern shower area. Nice bathroom amenities. The hotel has a lovely upscale feel, and we thought it provided very good value for money. The lady owner only speaks Spanish, but we were somehow able to communicate well together, and she was very helpful. Breakfast was very good, with a large number of choices.

The town of Sos del Rey Catolico is very charming with lots of narrow cobbled alleyways. Don't expect any excitement, there is nothing going on in this town. Just enjoy the beautiful old world charm, and explore the maze of little charming streets. We definitely would not have wanted to miss it!

Unlike what a previous reviewer wrote, we thought the bar directly across from the hotel was awful. Zero atmosphere, average wines, what looked like very average tapas and somewhat surly service, although it may have been shyness due to the language barrier. We did very much enjoy our dinner at Restaurant Bruixas, diagonally across from the hotel. The starters did not sound particularly interesting, so we skipped that section, but the main dishes were very good. Lovely service, and a good wine list. We went back for lunch the next day, and were just as happy with the experience all over again.

The hotel is easy to get to, as it is just on the edge of the pedestrianised old town. When approaching from the south, take the first left into the town, then veer right uphill. There are approx. 10 parking spaces along the left side, directly across from the post office. Park there, then walk 20 meters into the old section and the hotel is right there on the left.

A previous reviewer complained about the hotel's electronic access keys not working, we have no idea what the problem might have been? We found the hotel's key system to be visibly new and modern, and the key worked perfectly every time. We asked for two keys upon check-in, just to be safe, but we never had any issue at all. The hotel's elevator is also very new, fast and efficient.

We loved our stay (two nights) at Hotel El Peiron, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alixz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sos del Rey Catolico
0.3 mi away
Parador de Sos del Rey Catolico
Parador de Sos del Rey Catolico
#1 of 6 in Sos del Rey Catolico
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vinacua Hotel
Vinacua Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sos del Rey Catolico
62 reviews
10.3 mi away
Posada La Pastora
Posada La Pastora
#1 of 1 in Uncastillo
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Heredad Beragu Hotel
Heredad Beragu Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gallipienzo
82 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Xabier
Hotel Xabier
#1 of 1 in Javier
114 reviews
23.9 mi away
Hola Tafalla
Hola Tafalla
#1 of 1 in Tafalla
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Peiron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Peiron

Property: Hotel El Peiron
Address: Calle Fernando El Catolico 24, 50680 Sos del Rey Catolico, Spain
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Sos del Rey Catolico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sos del Rey Catolico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Peiron 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HRS, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Peiron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Peiron Sos Del Rey Catolico, Zaragoza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing