We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ona El Marques
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
El Sombrero(Los Gigantes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Globales Tamaimo Tropical(Puerto de Santiago)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Stil Hotel Sensimar Los Gigantes(Acantilado de los Gigantes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barcelo Santiago(Puerto de Santiago)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Dragos Del Sur(Puerto de Santiago)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Sun Resort(Los Gigantes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Blue Sea Lagos de Cesar(Puerto de Santiago)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes(Puerto de Santiago)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveler rating
200
110
29
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
110
29
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinetime sharerecommend elvisiting elthe resort managerbar and restaurant areala gomerahome from hometimeshare ownersthis lovely resortpool rulestimeshare exchangepool area was very nicegreat balconygreat apartmentspaellawhole complex
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 354 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have just come back from a lovely weeks break at El Marques. It's in a great location and is a clean and friendly resort.
The pool was just about the right size with enough sunbeds for everybody. Our room was clean and a had a great view over the ocean and Los Gigantes. The staff were helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The room was cleaned and beds changed twice during our stay.
There is a supermarket to the back of the apartments was fully stocked with everything you need including freshly baked bread.
The restaurant makes a great paella and drinks are reasonably priced.
We ate out in the evenings, places to try, El Rincon De Juan Carlos (book in advance), La Pergola and San Remo above La Pergol - both with great views of the cliffs and ocean.
Overall a great resort close to great some great restaurants and not too busy so perfect for relaxing and soaking up the sun!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank plr2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona El Marques, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our paella!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I think the person who wrote the previous review was talking about somewhere else. I have been twice recently and it's never been noisy I've never heard a kareoky or anything similar.The complex is spotless and we have never seem cockroaches either luckerly cos I can't bear them although you can't always help that in these hot countries.weve also never found it to neoney grabbing. I'm not a vegetarian so haven't asked about that but to be honest it's not always easy to please some who are even in England where we cater for themire I'm sure if they asked they would have hot something different. I think it's a lovely spot very relaxing .

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOMBAZLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona El Marques, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again. We have asked the previous reviewer to contact us directly as we also believe that they didnt stay at El Marques.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just back from a 10-day holiday here and I have very mixed feelings. The staff were wonderful: helpful, unfailingly pleasant and very efficient. The complex was kept incredibly clean and neat. However, the regulations that staff had to work under were officious and money-grabbing in the extreme, meaning that one constantly ran up against restrictions and extras. Worst of all from our point of view was that the quiet holiday promised failed to materialise. We were kept up about three nights a week by loud parties nearby - live music, karaoke, discos etc which meant that the children (and adults) couldn't sleep and that we were forced off the terrace which had loomed large in our plans for eating outside, enjoying the balmy evenings etc. A warning: the cafe has a very limited menu and offers very little for vegetarians or those with special diets. Despite the cleaning, there are clearly problems with insects, especially cockroaches and ants all over the complex.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona El Marques, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments but we firmly believe perhaps you didnt stay with us at El Marques. The resort is located in a quiet cul de sac away from any live venues or discos and none of the balconies would be unusable and guests kept awake. We do not have any money grabbing regulations. Certainly none of our guests have complained regarding insects. We have sent you a message via TripAdvisor to politely suggest that you didnt stay with us and to contact us directly. However you have declined to reply or remove your review to the correct resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Been using this place for years. Great place, great weather, great staff and nice and quite, when the kids go back to school. It used to have great entertainment in the restaurant but I guess the economic downturn has taken its toll here too. Hope the good nights return soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view (spectacular)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1adder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona El Marques, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you continue to enjoy El Marques and the quiet relaxing accommodation it provides and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at the Wimpen El Marques for 2 weeks this August. Having not stayed in Los Gigantes before were suprised at the cost of Taxi or Airport Transfer (as a party of 4) @50 Euros.
The apartment itself was very nice, it was a one bedroom villa/apartment with twin beds and bathroom downstairs and sofa bed with pull out bed upstairs with additional toilet, balcony with great sea views and small private garden. Only having towels and linen changed 3 times in the 2 weeks was a bit disappointing but there was a washing machine if needed.
The pool area was nice but there was the usual sunbed reserved issue which wasn't tackled by any member of staff despite the policy being clear; again this didn't affect us directly.
Staff were friendly and helpful across the whole site.
Restaurant was a let down for evening meals, lunchtime weren't too bad and the entertainment was very poor and outdated, we found some much more lively pubs/hotels which were much better.
Overall impression was good and would consider returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona El Marques, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I hope you were pleasantly surprised with the good value of an airport transfer at 12.50EUR (approx 10GBP) per person for a journey of 50 minutes. Private taxis are usually higher in price. I hope you managed to catch some of the lovely sunsets behind the island of La Gomera which can be seen from the sea view apartments. Unfortunately during July & August some guests do not adhere to the policy of not reserving sunbeds and we try to manage the issue without conflict. We hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews