We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff and perfect for exploring Rioja”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elciego
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, friendly staff and perfect for exploring Rioja”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is a beautiful modern building, gorgeous design and it has so much to offer; rooms are very comfortable and functional. We had a room in the spa building; very convenient and quiet.

The Bodega of Marques de Riscal is amazing with its history, cellar, tasting room and vineyard. We really enjoyed the guided tour and we bought several real nice bottles of wine in the end.

We loved the Spa; its nice to sit outside by the vineyard, take deep breaths of the crisp, fresh air and listen to the birds.

First night we had dinner in their Bistro Restaurant, then we made reservation and tried their Gastro's specialties as well. Food is very contemporary international; we expected a bit more of 'local flavors'.

The staff were professional, kind and friendly.

We enjoyed our 3 days here and we would definitely return if we were in the area again.

* Other things we liked: great location / driving distance to visit other wineries; great traditional food in nearby villages; parking available; complimentary welcome wine; very large bathrooms

Room Tip: rooms above the spa are quitter because; there are 2 restaurants in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borszereto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apeev, General Manager at Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Lilla F,

Many thanks for taking part of your time to share your experiences at our unique Hotel Marques de Riscal, A Luxury Collection Hotel in Elciego.

Your words only motivates us to keep working hard in order to deliver an enjoyable stay in Rioja like the one you had here.

Kind regards

Alexander Peev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    163
    54
    22
    11
See reviews for
108
550
13
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wonderful peaceful luxurious location for a hotel and Spa in Spain. Superb stunning rooms, very comfortable. Lovely service. Reception staff brilliant, Veronica Fernandez was just beyond brilliant in looking after us. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasilia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with great views. The town of Elciego is very sleepy but this is a good tourist base when in Rioja. Breakfast is plentiful. Staff is very friendly. Rooms were spacious with gigantic bathrooms and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lspiegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We came across this amazing architectural structure by accident. Well what a good accident it t'was. Not knowing much about Frank Gehty architecture we first visited the Guggenheim in Bilboa then here . Oh, what a sight driving into the winery. The staff at the front desk Pedro he was so charming the very lovely doorman. We had room 18 well I think it was superb you where looking straight out at the wonderful colourful ribbons of sculpture. It was mesmerising to say the least. We only stayed one night but managed to ride the push bikes around the village. Have a wonderful dinner.The degustation it was just perfect couldn't fault a thing from the service to presentation to the room a very enjoyable evening. Breakfast next morning was another wonderful experience. We also went on the wine tour and we now have another appreciation of the wine we indulge in. Thank-you to the staff you all work in a lovely environment and it shows.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonb000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arona, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I saw this hotel a copule of years ago when doing a wine tour of the region with a group of reps and was lucky enough to get to stay here on this trip in September. The hotel is on the grounds of the Riscal Wine group and I am a Huge fan of their products. I was roomed in the adjacent building and I have to say that I didn't care at all that I wasn't in the main building. The room was an impressive size and the bathroom was HUGE! I love walk in showers though as is usual, you can waste a couple of minutes trying to get the temperature right. House keeping wasn't really to a five star standard and I would be generous if I said that it was even close to it. The hotel itself is attractive, though I felt a very heavy sense of "IKEA" in its furnishings. I'm old fashioned and like real wood as opposed to pine laminated panels and plain red carpets.

The reception staff and service staff were excellent and professional and very attentive and the food was very interesting. The best part for me was the location. Quiet, peaceful, rustic little town and the bodega itself. The wine was superb as was the Laurent Perrier and my room overlooked a vine field so you can imagine how great it is in the morning when you open your windows and take a deep breath and trying not to remember how much you drank the night before....

I would happily go out of my way to stay here if I was in the area and I would book a holiday here just to get away from it all.

Room Tip: If you are really bothered about being in the main building, make sure you specify that and get conf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel itself is worth the trip... add the amazing setting with the beautiful wineyards combined with the wonderful views of the church of Elciego and the mountains in the background and you have success! The staff are nice and helpful. We had a room with views the wineyard. It was large with all amenities you need (including a complimentary bottle of wine). Bed perfectly soft and comfortable. Bathroom large and modern.l

Went for a guided tour of the winery, interesting and infrmative, ending in a wine tasting. We had dinner in the main restaurant, which was another wonderful experience. We ended up staying an extra night, and spent the entire second day reading on the roof terrace. I really wish this place was closer to home. A perfect place for weekend get-a-away with calm and tranquil surroundings.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
141 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

What a hotel, what a setting, what architecture! Stayed at this hotel for one night, and loved every minute. The grape massage is out of this world!
We were given a room in the spa building, facing the grape vines. Very peaceful and quiet.
Had dinner at the restaurant, tasting menu, and the wine waiter was patient enough to explain us the wine menu, which we tasted glass by glass!
Breakfast was out in the patio, with an amazing view of Elciego church.
We were offered a tour of the winery, which in the end we did not have time to do. But the winery shop is worth a visit.
Would definitely recommend this hotel, even if it is on the expensive side.
We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buriti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apeev, General Manager at Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Buriti,

Many thanks for posting your comments about our unique Hotel Marques de Riscal, A Luxury Collection hotel in Elciego, Spain. It is really rewarding to know you have enjoyed your stay and the different indigenous experiences we offer like the grape massage in our Caudalie Spa.

Hope you would bring us another opportunity to welcome you back in Elciego and beautiful Rioja.

Sincerely,

Alexander Peev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elciego
3.3 mi away
Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes
3.2 mi away
Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Viura
Hotel Viura
#1 of 1 in Villabuena de Alava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Castillo El Collado
Hotel Castillo El Collado
#2 of 6 in Laguardia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Calle Mayor
Hotel Calle Mayor
#1 of 16 in Logrono
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel La Capellania
Hotel La Capellania
#2 of 2 in San Asensio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Calle Torrea, 1, 01340 Elciego, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Alava > Elciego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elciego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The City of Wine, where you will discover a masterpiece, Hotel Marques de Riscal Elciego. With 43 luxurious rooms and suites, an exceptional spa and a superb culinary offer, this boutique hotel, located in the heart of la Rioja alavesa and designed by famous arquitect Frank O. Gehry, is the ideal place for enoturim lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques De Riscal Hotel
Marques De Riscal Elciego
Hotel Marques De Riscal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing