We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,147)
Filter reviews
1,147 results
Traveler rating
815
213
65
34
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
815
213
65
34
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingwine tourwine barmarques de riscaltasting menufrank gehryspa wingrioja regiongastronomic restaurantgehry buildingla riojamichelin starindoor poolamazing hotelout of this worldamazing architecturegehry designed
Filter
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 1,147 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

What a hotel, what a setting, what architecture! Stayed at this hotel for one night, and loved every minute. The grape massage is out of this world!
We were given a room in the spa building, facing the grape vines. Very peaceful and quiet.
Had dinner at the restaurant, tasting menu, and the wine waiter was patient enough to explain us the wine menu, which we tasted glass by glass!
Breakfast was out in the patio, with an amazing view of Elciego church.
We were offered a tour of the winery, which in the end we did not have time to do. But the winery shop is worth a visit.
Would definitely recommend this hotel, even if it is on the expensive side.
We loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buriti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apeev, General Manager at Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Buriti,

Many thanks for posting your comments about our unique Hotel Marques de Riscal, A Luxury Collection hotel in Elciego, Spain. It is really rewarding to know you have enjoyed your stay and the different indigenous experiences we offer like the grape massage in our Caudalie Spa.

Hope you would bring us another opportunity to welcome you back in Elciego and beautiful Rioja.

Sincerely,

Alexander Peev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Let me begin by saying that we don't drink wine...however, when we saw this hotel while planning our trip to Spain, we knew we had to include it in our trip!!! This hotel, designed by Frank Gehry is a work of art!! The outside is incredible and the inside as well. We took a tour of their Winery, since it would have been embarrassing to visit El Ciego and not taste some wine!! The hotel restaurants were very good, with excellent views and the spa was lovely. Since we are modern enthusiasts, are trip to the Guggenheim museum in Bilbao was wonderful..another Frank Gehry masterpiece!! We loved this hotel and if you enjoy wine tasting....it is a must on any trip to Spain!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jms2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I arrived there, by car, and were received really well. We had booked Room #3, which is the master suite, and we were not disappointed when we stepped in. Great spacious room, fantastic decor and amazing views of the church in Elciego.
We dined in the Gastro restaurant that is backed by a chef with some Michelin stars to his name. We weren't sure if the restaurant would live up to the recommendations. However, it did and even exceeded. Both the food and service made the experience very enjoyable.
Despite being in the north of Spain and in the middle of the countryside, we were impressed by the English language skills of the staff. Even though my wife and both speak spanish, we could see that many guests were American or British without much notion of the local language.
We used the Spa, which was the "weakest link". The massages were average. And the water treatments not as good as the Caudalie Spa in Bordeaux.
Never the less, overall the experience was great and we will be back.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jpmccusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Everyone here knows about Frank Gehry's design of the hotel and its innovative extension of the El Ciego landscape and inclusion of the wine culture. Simply great.

What I really loved about staying here is that the service was caring, rooms nice and clean, and it is a wine estate at the end of the day. Could the service have been better? Sure. Was it above average? You bet.

We did the wine tour and were impressed despite having done maybe about 40 or 50 wine tours having lived in the bay area for many years. Napa and Sonoma were so accessible. The downside of the wine tour is that they only taste 2 of their wines when I believe they have about a dozen or so in their repertoire. The two that they tasted were not their best and it basically sounds like the music stopping at an otherwise booming party. They've really gotta fix that. Instead of pouring two glasses of two wines, they can keep the cost down by pouring just a tasting of four or five wines.

One afternoon the wife and I grabbed our complimentary wine and headed down to the sitting area outside the spa and wined while enjoying the scenic view of the vineyards. Very nice indeed.

We ate at the bistro the first evening and the quality was spotty. My friend had the steak and it was simply way too fatty for a good restaurant to serve. He didn't get his craving met, so he wanted steak the next night too! We did eat at the Gastronimic restaurant and that was definitely more in line with the quality that we expect at such an establishment. The service was precise and the food very, very good. Speaking of food, I absolutely loved the breakfast buffet. I also ordered the Spanish omelete every morning b/c it was that good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingfromSF_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apeev, General Manager at Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear TravelingfromSF_8,

Firstly I would like to say thank you for taking the time to write the review and to say that we do value all feedback from our guests both, positive and negative, as this is the only way to ensure we continue to evolve as a team and property.

I was delighted to read of your recent stay here with us as this is very rewarding and really motivates our team of Luxury Collection ambassadors to keep offering exceptional experiences within the City of Wine by Marques de Riscal.
We do hope your enjoyable visit will encourage you to stay with us again should your travels ever bring you to back to Elciego.

Sincerely,
Alexander Peev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had the pleasure to stay at the Hotel Marques de Riscal a week ago and it was AMAZING! From the moment we walked in we were treated with outstanding service and attention. Pedro, the manager helped make our stay even more delightful by making some terrific recommendations on things to see and do in the surrounding areas. Yahia, the attendant in the lobby was always willing to assist with anything we needed with a smile and a warm welcome! We took the complimentary bicycles out two of the days and rhode through the vineyards, visited the town Laguardia, took a wine tour and capped our 3 days with a dinner at Restaurante Marques de Riscal (go with the tasting menu! ). August and September is a fabulous time to go! This is a place that should not be missed when visiting Spain, even if you only have 2-3 days. I am overwhelmed with delight based on my experience! Thank you for making my trip to your country magical!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissafweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apeev, General Manager at Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear melissafweber,

It is really rewarding to know that your experience at our unique Hotel Marques de Riscal, A Luxury Collection Hotel has been so wonderful. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write the review and assure you that all feedback from our guests both, positive and negative, is much appreciated in order to continue to grow and evolve as a property.

We hope you will bring us another opportunity in the near future to welcome you back in Elciego and Rioja.

Best regards
Alexander Peev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews