We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Spanish tasting”

Restaurant Marques de Riscal
Reserve a Table
2
Sat, 7/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Elciego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Deli, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: At the Michelin star and Repsol sun-awarded restaurant Marques de Riscal, exquisite dishes created by the prestigious Chef Francis Paniego can be tasted accompanied by some of the estate’s finest vintages. Its culinary excellence and superb levels of service have earned the restaurant a prestigious Michelin star and helped make it one of the hottest destinations in the region for gourmands. Located on the second floor of the hotel, the dining room is a masterful exercise in design. Wine aficionados will be drawn to the bespoke Frank Gehry-designed display wall containing a large selection of fine vintages from the Marqués de Riscal cellars as well as more than 200 international labels.
Reviewed May 21, 2018

Very unique and characteristic of the Baaque Rioja area. We stayed at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed a tasting men7 for breakfast. Excellent service as well.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank suzyhomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 512 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2018 via mobile

The food and service of our 7-course tasting menu matched the outstanding and stunning architecture of this Frank Gehry-designed restaurant. Recommend for a special occasion or just a really memorable meal.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank JulieM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2018

We ate in this restaurant on Valentines day and had the taster menu. Every course was absolutely delicious. We had lots of fun chatting with the Maitre D, who was extremely knowledgable about the local area and other areas in Spain.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank sharaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

We had always wanted to stay at the Marques de Riscal hotel because we love Frank Gehry’s architecture. And hearing that the hotel houses a 1-star Michelin restaurant was even better. We had dinner there at our first night at the hotel and chose the 14-course menu, which was plenty (without having to starve ourselves for a day before the event). Almost all of the dishes were excellent, nicely balanced, sometimes difficult to identify the ingredients, but the staff were always happy to help and explain. I didn’t like the hake cheeks too much, but the pigeon (which I try to avoid otherwise) was great. Cooked just right, with lots of flavor. The deserts were also quite nice, although I gave the cheese ice cream to my better half. We had different wines with each group of dishes, chosen by the better half and approved by the sommelier. All in all a great experience - and, compared to other Michelin star restaurants, the one star is deserved !!!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank ajkraemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

We had dinner on a Sunday evening at Easter sharing the restaurant with one other party. We decided for the 14 course taster menu and selected 5 wines to accompany it. Service staff were excellent! Food too except the cod cheeks, really not my sort of choice but all part of the experience. The staff really made it such fun telling us about the food and I particularly enjoyed the discussion on the wines. Try to get the window table looking over Elciego, a great view as the sun goes down.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 584graemeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Marques de Riscal also viewed

Elciego, Province of Alava
Laguardia, Province of Alava
 
Elciego, Province of Alava
Laguardia, Province of Alava
 
Laguardia, Province of Alava
Paganos, Province of Alava
 

Been to Restaurant Marques de Riscal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing