We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful food, beautiful views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Can Mach

Can Mach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hunting Lodge cuisine. Fantastic setting on the Spanish/French border very good value Catalonian cuisine. Open every day early till late in the Summer closed on Tuesdays outside peak season. Menu multilingual lodging available. Inside restaurant outside terrace with amazing views no need to book in advance friendly staff to all nationalities. Popular with Dutch Spanish French and German tourists and locals alike. Bar area. Very clean and service quick especially if you tell them you are in a hurry.
Highampton
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We ate here during a holiday in France on the recommendation of our Gite host. The drive to Macanet from France is very picturesque and the road would put almost all British roads to shame.

Can Mach produces amazing Catalan cuisine cooked perfectly. Unless you have a substantial appetite my advice is to be cautious if you intend to have a multiple course meal. The portions are extensive, as are the trimmings, such as the Aoli and bread. The Aoli is minced garlic and olive oil and we think that it may be roasted (but not certain). Can Mach is renowned for its Wild Boar stew, which is terrific. Very tender meat in a rich gravy, served with fries. They also serve barbecued meats cooked over a wood fire. The local wines are very good and very reasonable.

We look forward to returning some time next year.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HighamptonGroomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    74
    17
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We visited this restaurant on the recommendation of a friend, and were not disappointed.
After a scenic morning drive through the mountains from France, we had worked up quite an appetite; so we decided to tackle the four course menu del dia (c. 10 euros). It was a good job we hadn't planned anything energetic for the afternoon, as the portions are generous!
Whilst the a la carte menu is in print, the daily set menu is in the waiter's head; and he will recount it if you ask. Our Spanish is limited, but with his smattering of English and good humour, we managed to decipher most of it.
We began with a plate of mixed salad (standard for everyone it seems), then for second course had the wild boar and potato casserole. The main course was chicken and chips (lots of it too) and for dessert we chose the creme caramel. There were four or five choices for each course, so you will find something to your taste.
The food is delicious, and is perhaps best described as hearty Catalan peasant food. This is not fine dining, but we really enjoyed our lunch, found it a lovely experience, and will return on our next visit to the region.
The restaurant filled as lunch wore on, and the atmosphere was a pleasant buzz of people enjoying their food. The service is friendly, although you shouldn't be in a hurry when the room is full.
There is also an outside terrace if you want to better appreciate the wonderful views.
The menu is inclusive of wine, and with espressos, our bill came to around 22 euros for two; which represents great value.
There is a shop attached to the restaurant which sells groceries and local produce, as well as a few gifts and reasonably priced wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mendiprambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Catalan mountain food in a tiny remote village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Driving along a lonely mountain road on the southern slopes of the Eastern Pyrenees we came across the tiny hamlet of Tapis, which hosts the restaurant called Can Mach. Using the formula that the more remote the location, the more cars parked outside, the better the restaurant is, we were not disappointed. The entrance to the restaurant is decorated with boar heads and stuffed animals. The ambience is fun: a busy, noisy place with plates of food gushing out of the kitchen like a river to satisfy the tables packed with hungry French and Spanish food lovers. The food is basic but tasty and generous: wild boar stew, snails, rabbit, sausage with white beans, and so on. This place is our guilty pleasure and a regular stop every summer.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rode, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good local food at very reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Been here probably 20 times over the past 9 years and never failed to have a good meal. It looks out over the Garroxta mountains, lovely terrace with views, cosy indoor restaurant and it's always crowded out at lunchtime with locals, which is telling.

Food - huge portions, basic and tasty mountain food (their wild boar and the beef and mushroom stews are my personal favourites), and usually big enough to share between two for under 10 euros a dish. As a family of four we can eat including wine for 25 euros including wine, or a bit more if we go mad. Can't argue with that.

Service - pretty good, gets a bit slower when the place is really crowded.

They also have a little supermarket under the restaurant full of nice local food and Can Mach table wine can be bought there for 2.50 euros a bottle which is decent house red.

If you're a cyclist then the roads round there are to die for - a couple of times I've cycled there from France, dined with family and cycled back. A great day out...

No downsides to this place that I've found as yet other than it's off the beaten track and therefore requires some effort to get to.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardLivingstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Mach also viewed

Macanet de Cabrenys, Province of Girona
Macanet de Cabrenys, Province of Girona
 
Macanet de Cabrenys, Province of Girona
Macanet de Cabrenys, Province of Girona
 

Been to Can Mach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing