We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going downhill FAST! Avoid if you like to eat!”
Review of Hotel El Valles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Valles
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Briviesca
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
487 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Going downhill FAST! Avoid if you like to eat!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have stayed previously at the hotel and the first time we greatly enjoyed the food served in the restaurant. On the subsequent occasions we booked in the restaurant was closed. The first excuse was that they had had a function the previous day and the staff were resting. The excuse on another occasion was that they were closed due the CRISIS. On both these occasions we were almost the only guests staying there. We had to get in the car to go into town to find somewhere to eat. There is NOWHERE of any quality, indeed practically nowhere to eat at all in the town.

This time the restaurant was open but apoart from a solitary man we were the only people staying in the hotel and eating in the restaurant! I do not know how they keep going. The menu was laughable! They handed us a menu in 'english' which was hilarious and completely unintelligible - no doubt translated by some Internet site. We asked for the Spanish menu and chose from that. However there was really nothing oin the menu we wished to eat - most of it contained offal of some sort or the dreaded Bacalao which is always far too salty.

The room was clean, as usual, but there are signs of wear and tear. The bathroom is not really well enough lit. The shaving mirror thing spun round wildly and would not stay in position so applying makeup was extremely difficult. Likewise trying to see the back of my head when hairdressing was impossible. The top and basin in the bathroom are fast too deep so you cannot get close to the mirror. These rooms are no doubt designed by MEN.

The bar downstairs is deserted and the poor receptionist has to leave her desk to serve or make a drink! At breakfast time, instead of being allowed to sit in the delightful breakfast room [all laid out nicely with tablecloths, cutlery and china] we were asked to sit in the bar at very small cafe tables. Not stylish at all. Instead of being able to help ourselves from the buffet we had to ask for what we wanted and she brought it. Who are they expecting at the nicely laid out tables?

We will not being returning.

The hotel grounds are tatty and trees so high it is no wonder people just drive past - the place is invisible. I feel sorry for them but on the other hand, when they do have a client, they should be much more accomodating and welcoming.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the road as there is traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perle369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    35
    26
    11
    5
See reviews for
21
46
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel was fine. The rooms are large and we furnished. We had a room on the road side so a little noisy but after the drive I couldn't care less, slept well and need to be up early anyway.

Would ask for the far side away from the road next time.

Would not choose the breakfast option but would use their cafe instead, mainly because we were in a hurry to get going.

The evening meal was really good. The fish was perfectly cooked.

No tea or coffee in the room but ha ho we got a good deal on last room.

If you miss the A1 road as we did, don't worry as there are signposts to the hotel in the town

Sent from my iPad

Room Tip: The rooms on the front next to road have traffic noise. Might try the ones Athens the rear next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Critica l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have used this hotel on two occasions travelling north to Santander. Excellent staff very helpful
Top floor rear rooms are best. Sound proofing in Spain does not exist. Food good but the normal nonsense about serving dinner from 9pm applies. Rooms are modern and very clean as are bathrooms. All in all a pleasant hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Top floor rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

After a 9 hour drive we were advised after checking in that the reaturant would be closed, as it was a staff rest day. We had no choice but to drive to the nearby town for a meal. There is nothing on their website to advise of these rest days, had we known we would have stayed elsewhere (Hotel Burgos probably where we have stayed before). Unacceptable for a 4 star hotel. Oh yes, and the TV didn't work.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back, the hotel is on the N1 with constant heavy traffic at all hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Briviesca hotels

Cap-Ferret, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

When you see the hotel from the outside it is impossible to image the inside. Room and public areas are spotless and stylish. Staff are quite hip especially the tall waiter in the restaurant. The hotel restaurant is a gem and a food lovers paradise. Great food and what a wine selection — if you want Vega Sicillia they have it! After a long drive we had a fantastic dinner, peaceful sleep and good breakfast. Cost for room, breakfast and dinner for 2 (inc €22 for a bottle of wine ).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillywe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We spent 2 nights at El Valles, travelling with a party of >40 people (guided tour of Spain). The hotel has 4* rating, but it hardly deserves 2*. Perhaps the deco of the neighbouring restaurant and the music played during the meals were taken into consideration when the rating was prepared...

Room - there was mold (or any other nasty microorganism) living on the walls and ceiling of our room and in the hallway outside! It is just unacceptable in such a fancy/highly rated place.
Some people complained about the dump-derived smell in their rooms. Luckily, no air fresheners have been used by the hotel stuff to cover the smell, as it often happens in some cheap motels.
Lighting in the room - horrible. I was wondering if the interior designer did it on purpose, or the "hospital/interrogation room" lamps, which give no light and just irritate, have been an "accident" or later addition.
Other comments regarding the room - towels with holes (!) or loose threads + quite dirty walls + noisy room (I heard stomping from the room above + voices from adjacent rooms). Guys - that is a 4* hotel, not a backpackers hostal....

Service at the reception desk - great/awful. One of the receptionists was extremely helpful and friendly, giving great directions and hints about events in the nearby town. Other lady did not even bother to say "Good morning" or "Thank you" when we were returning keys.

Restaurant - as a party of >40, we had a different menu than regular guests, so I cannot judge on the quality of food they get. Our breakfast was late, as there was only 1(!) waiter for all of us + regular guests. Our dinner was more than mediocre, including Nestle yoghurt straight from the plastic box for dessert. No comments...

Overall impression - I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PlainTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
361 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Hotel good situated, next to AP1 and A1.
Nicely decorated convenient Hotel, large rooms, with superb Restaurant. Nice and friendly staff. Well assorted breakfast buffet of good quality. We stayed at the hotel for third time in 9 month, which confirms their excellence.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbmeyersr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Briviesca
0.5 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#1 of 2 in Briviesca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Burgos
20.7 mi away
Hotel Tudanca Miranda
Hotel Tudanca Miranda
#2 of 3 in Miranda de Ebro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Hotel Silken Gran Teatro
24.8 mi away
AC Hotel Burgos
AC Hotel Burgos
#4 of 51 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hotel Sercotel Ciudad de Miranda
Hotel Sercotel Ciudad de Miranda
#1 of 3 in Miranda de Ebro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Valles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Valles

Property: Hotel El Valles
Address: Carretera Madrid-Irun, 09240 Briviesca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Briviesca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Briviesca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Valles 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel El Valles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing