We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel By Train to City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sercotel Ciutat de Montcada Hotel
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Travel By Train to City”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great hotel, good staff who speak fluent English and are very helpful. Good price too! One tip though, the train station near the hotel (Montcada-Ripollet) is on line R3. Do not get confused with line R2 which also has a station in Montcada as I did and had to walk about 1.3km late at night to get back to the hotel. The train timetable (in English) is available at:
http://www.renfe.com/EN/viajeros/cercanias/barcelona/
You just need to enter you destination (probably Barcelona-Place de Catalunya) and your departure point (Montcada-Ripollet).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OzHolidayTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    107
    65
    23
    15
See reviews for
39
119
9
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

If u re looking for a cheap hotel to visit Barcelona then this is probably the best you can find!
2 couples stayed here for 3 days, and it is really clean, spacious, and cheap!
For 37,5 euros per night (for two persons) this is a steal!
BUT...do not expect anything more. It is far from the city, although there is a train station next to this hotel. It is not situated in a good area and the staff is far from helpfull. We had wifi issues and the receptionist answered that his mobile phone was well connected to the wifi...whereas our 3 iphones, one ipad and one samsung where faulty!! The next day our devices probably got better as we had wifi connection as well!
We didn't try the buffet. The rooms were cleaned every day and towels were changed once left on the floor.
The bar/restaurant was not open in the evenings and so we had to watch the championsleague final in a chinese bar along with a dog (not sure if it was a stray one or was meant to be eaten later on!!!!just kidding of course), and the chinese owners mother who would clean the store every 2 minutes.... BUT the prices were ridicilusly low ...2 beers, one fanta and one redbull all for 6.90 euros!
To conclude stay here if you want a really cheap hotel but do not mind the staff and the distance from the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OikonomouPetros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent room and breakfast, hotel staff very friendly and helpful and recommended some terrific places to go to in Barcelona that we didn't know about. Perfect location, right next to a local train station that get's you into the city centre in about 15-20 mins, also a very pleasant area to stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29char07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I chose the hotel because of its close proximity to the Circuit de Catalunya where I spent the weekend watching the Formula 1 GP.
All in all the hotel was satisfactory but I wasn't the only guest to comment that it didn't justify its 4 star classification (worth noting it is a self-classification)!
Met some friendly guests from the UK, Australia and Venezuela all there for the F1. Staff were friendly but there was more of a language barrier than I expected with it being Spain. My room was excellent and was tidied every day along with fresh towels. Breakfast average and without eggs?! The reviews about the hotel being a little out the way were spot on and in hindsight I would have chosen somewhere to stay closer to Barcelona (price permitting as they were inflated due to the F1). Rail and Bus travel from and to the track and subsequently Girona Airport was excellent.

Room Tip: Although travelling alone I requested a double with sole occupancy. I think this was the right thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davewilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from this hotel.
We booked through Groupon (or my partner did) and didn't realise the distance from the centre. However, when you know that it's 12km it seems no problem travelling the distance when it's expected.
Personally I would book a hotel with this distance from the city again as when looking around the hotels in the centre, they can be in dodgy or very busy and noisy areas and sometimes would be a good walk away. I do usually like to go back to hotel for a rest before dinner, but this wasn't really an option, but we go to bed early anyway so it was fine by us on this occasion.
Saying this, it may not be realistic to stay in this hotel with wheelchair bound persons (facilities within hotel are fine but up a slight hill) or small children as once you are out in the morning, it's pointless coming back until bedtime.

We stayed for 3 nights. On the first day it took a good 3 hours to get from Airport to hotel, but that's because we didn't know what to do...
For future... Get the hotel train from terminal 2, to Barcelona Sants (aka Bcn or Barna). Then go to information desk in the centre to check which platform to get to go to Montcada Ripollet R3 Rondalies train (usually platform/vía 8). Ensure that the screen at the platform states all stations as it misses the stop you need on the odd occasion ( this happened to us but we just got off and went back on ourselves)
When you get off the train at Montcada Ripollet, if you are facing the station building, it's the large grey building on the left that says "punt" and "hotel".
To get the train back to City, you need to get the train to Plaça de Catalunya. It can come either side of the track, but the direction it goes it is right to left (if you are facing toward the station and hotel)
It sound difficult bus easy enough once you've done it.


Ok now for the hotel review...
It was clean, quiet, a very comfortable nights sleep on a huge bed. Bar prices were very reasonable, although the beer is served in a small wine glass. Breakfast was nice and plentiful. Staff very pleasant and helpful, all speaking very good English.
The only disappointment was there was no tea or coffee facilities and the very small gym had a broken treadmill for the duration of the stay.

There was lots of free parking if needed. Not much in terms of local amenities, but I did see a bar or restaurant and a mini supermarket on the complex.

Lots of young teens hand around the area, but don't bother you and are not noisy. Be very careful though in the city, particularly on the airport train as I had a woman try and pick pocket my handbag. I also saw lots of handbags thrown in the corners of back streets (could have been a thiefs spoils of the day). Shout "Carterista" if to happens to you, as it means snatcher, and always lots of police about.

Hope you enjoy your trip as much as we did.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank josienpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with 8 other ladies for a hen party. Had 3 rooms with 3 beds in each room. Rooms were cleaned each day.Bathroom was very nice, although watch the shower as tends to run very hot at times. Small fridge in each room, no tea and coffee making facilities in the room which was poor. Free safe in the room which was good.
Only saw 3 staff during our stay, 2 receptionists and 1 overworked lady serving breakfast. The cooked breakfast was very poor, scrambled egg which was horrible and not very nice bacon. The usual cold meats on offer and cereals. Toaster and various spreads. Coffee/tea, juice was all quite nice.
Montcada town is not very good as everything appears to close around 9 at night.
The hotel is a 20minute train ride from Barcelona centre and not all trains stop at Montcada Rippolet station. There are only a few trains on Sunday's.
Got the tourist bus in Barcelona which cost 26euros and you could get on and off where you liked. It was very busy in Barcelona and the weather was very nice for March although quite cool when not in the sun.
If you can afford it, I would stay in a hotel in the city rather than keep getting the train.
For a cheap and cheerful weekend this hotel is fine.

Room Tip: Most rooms should be OK as it is very quiet in the area at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris110757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

just come back from a 3 night stay. room was cleaned every day. bathroom and shower ok tv rubbish. fridge very small . no tea or coffee making equipment. restaurant only opened for breakfast and bar never opened at all. a bit far from barcelona centre. montcada town is proper naff very few shops and during the day local yokels seem to hang around the train station talking the day away. if you want to go to barcelona buy a t 10 train ticket cheap travel make sure on the way back you get the R3 train to vic and make sure it says stops at all stations or otherwise you will go straight past your station. a part from that barcelona is a lovely place nice bars and restaurants. plenty of places to see will keep you busy all day. i have heard a lot about pick pockets and muggings we never saw anything lots of police everywhere. i would defently visit barcelona again but i would pay the extra money and get a hotel nearer the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stumpyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montcada i Reixac
10.4 mi away
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
#8 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
265 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Ripollet
Ibis Barcelona Ripollet
#1 of 1 in Ripollet
437 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eurostars Hotel Barbera Parc
Eurostars Hotel Barbera Parc
#1 of 3 in Barbera del Valles
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Campanile Barcelona Norte - Barbera del Valles
Campanile Barcelona Norte - Barb...
#3 of 3 in Barbera del Valles
216 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Santa Coloma
Ibis Barcelona Santa Coloma
#1 of 1 in Santa Coloma de Gramenet
789 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rafaelhoteles Badalona
Rafaelhoteles Badalona
#1 of 4 in Badalona
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Ciutat de Montcada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Ciutat de Montcada Hotel

Property: Sercotel Ciutat de Montcada Hotel
Address: Verdi, 12, 08110 Montcada i Reixac, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Montcada i Reixac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montcada i Reixac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Ciutat de Montcada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sercotel Ciutat de Montcada Hotel is a welcoming hotel in Montcada, near Barcelona. The hotel is easy to access thanks to its excellent location only 50 metres from the local train stop ‘Montcada-Ripollet’ in the middle of Barcelona’s most important business and industrial areas. Boasting a very elegant décor, the Sercotel Ciutat de Montcada Hotel has 105 well-equipped rooms at its disposal. Free wifi internet is available throughout the hotel 24 hours a day – in the rooms as well as in the restaurant and at the reception. The hotel is the perfect spot for business meetings because of the six function rooms available that are prepared for any kind of event. The rooms have all the equipment you might need and offer all the services necessary for a guaranteed successful event in Montcada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sercotel Ciutat de Montcada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sercotel Ciutat De Montcata Hotel Montcada i Reixac
Sercotel Ciutat De Montcada Hotel Montcada i Reixac, Province Of Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing