We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation in Soto del Barco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palacio de la Magdalena
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Soto del Barco
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation in Soto del Barco”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

When we saw the Hostal Camino del Norte, we thought that this would be the place to stay, unfortunately it is closed, so we popped into the bar around the corner for lunch and to ask about alternative accommodation. We then discovered that the only other accommodation option was “The **** Palacio de la Magdalena” – This is a Beautiful Paradore set high on the hill overlooking Soto del Barco and I was sure that it would be Well over our budget, but my trek-mate said that we have nothing to lose, so we went in and asked and were very pleasantly surprised at being offered a Superb en-suite twin bedded room with a separate sitting area at a special Perigrino price of 50e (Including the use of swimming pool, Jacuzzi and Spa) – I have been Camino walking for many years and “The Palacio de la Magdalena” is the best accommodation at the best price I have ever had, therefore this hotel comes Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank into-thin-air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    132
    40
    18
    16
See reviews for
89
235
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Normally I am exceedingly sceptical of reviews that are overtly effusive...but in this case I have to admit that I am unable to fault the service,care and facilities that are offered by the Hotel! Our stay was (and I use the word carefully ) splendid! The Hotel is centrally placed to explore an area of outstanding beauty and hospitality! My wife would have liked some steamer loungers strategically placed around the hotel environs to appreciate the splendid views......however I maintain that these would encourage indolence!
A wonderful experience that can not be too highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
210 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great historical building, fully equipped inside. Underground floor with spa center (but with strange requirement to rent swimming caps). Room is spacious with Jacuzzi bath and great view. There are nothing interesting through walking destination, but could be start point for trip to coast beaches or to mountains natural parks.

Room Tip: you can ask side with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingaroy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We arrived in hotel Palacio de la Magdalena and immediately fell in love with our room. The hotel is a 4 star with 5 star service, rooms and spa. My husband became very ill during our first night and needed medical attention urgently. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful. Dialled for taxis as we did not speak the language. My husband was admitted in hospital and the staff were very supportive. Making phone calls to our Spanish agent from the travel insurance. Allowing us to make as many phone calls as needed, including an international one, use their printer and assisted with maps and what not. We ended up having to stay for 14 days as we needed clearance for my husband to fly before we could leave. Everyday staff asked how we were going and if there was anything we needed and if they could help. Other than our unfortunate situation. The hotel itself is first class. The rooms clean and comfortable, The spas enjoyable and relaxing and included in the price for a room. The rates very reasonable. The only down side to this hotel is it's location. You are not really in a touristy area but it is very close to Aviles and other places. Public transport is good. I would return to this hotel for sure if returning to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneloes65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
228 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We could not a find a sleep place in Soto del Barco so this expensive option was the only one we have been force chosen. The price for Camino travelers was good, 30€ discount. We paid 120€ in top season 'augusto'.

Rooms are excellent, almost everything works (some missing screws in the bathroom). A man in the reception was very helpful as well as a lady who find a bus connection for us next day morning.

Out of the reception service the restaurant brought the next positive impression - we have got a really tasty food. The bill was surprisingly low.

Few complains regarding breakfast. They could try to be more local, not so 'European'.

We would like to recommend the hotel especially to pair in love. They can feel for a while as princess and prince, a lord and the lady of the palace. It is not a palace but still nicely located and friendly hotel in the peaceful village called Soto del Barco. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdaandKristof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
322 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

But I am convinced that an overnight stay is a romantic experience.
The house itself has a history that is related to the mining which formerly was the main industry in Asturias. The Palacio was an orphans house for kids who lost their parents in the mines. Nothing of that is visible today. It has more the touch of a castle and everything is lovely refurbished.
We went to have lunch and it was a great experience. The food is typical for this region, we had seafood starters like mussels and calamar, after we had main dishes, both meat and fish and each of the four plates looked fantastic and tasted as such. Real big portions that we couldn't finish which hardly ever happens to me in a hotel restaurant of that category. So even in terms of meals size they stick to the Asturian habits.
The service is very fast with a lot of temperament.

The place also offers a side building which is made for big partys, events or weddings, from the outside I could see minimum four big halls and I estimate they can easily host 1000 or something guests there. This part is compared to the main building very modern in glass and concrete and with huge terraces with a great view on the Rio Nalon delta.

Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I first visited this hotel on a business trip and it was a 5 starts hotel. They kept quality, but their prices now are really low and they also include the Spa. So I just spent 5 excellent days for holidays and I am completely satisfied. The place is quiet, well located for visiting Gijón and Oviedo.

The restaurant is just excellent with reasonable prices (if you ask for fish, make sure they do NOT overcook it, they have excellent fish but the cooker trends to overcook it, which makes it dry). They have a "menú ejecutivo" for 18Eu which is just outstanding.

If you are a spa person, avoid Saturday evening. Many local families come over. Better go on Saturday morning. If you travell with children, you will find excellent facilities and understanding, which is never common on Spa´s. Here children are wellcome, and they have also a dedicated indoor pool with toys.

The bed is very confortable, with cotton 100% linen and you will not get any light from outside. Views are very nice from almost all rooms, as the hotel is on a hill.

You get free Wifi that works perfectly and with very high speed (connection does not low down depending on the hour).

Everything was relaxing and perfect, staff are really nice, specially at the restaurant and the reception man in the evenings (all of the staff are great and they are doing a big effort to help the hotel be excellent). You will enjoy your stay for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelexpertglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soto del Barco
9.0 mi away
Hotel Zen Balagares
Hotel Zen Balagares
#3 of 12 in Aviles
923 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casona de la Paca
Casona de la Paca
#2 of 14 in Cudillero
293 reviews
7.7 mi away
NH Collection Palacio de Aviles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Castillo del Bosque la Zoreda
24.9 mi away
Hotel Oca Palacio de la Llorea
15.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Las Caldas
Gran Hotel Las Caldas
#1 of 1 in Las Caldas
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio de la Magdalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio de la Magdalena

Property: Hotel Palacio de la Magdalena
Address: Finca de La Magdalena, 33126, Soto del Barco, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Soto del Barco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Soto del Barco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palacio de la Magdalena 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palacio de La Magdalena Hotel, paradigm of palace architecture, was built by Don Juan de Llano Ponte, Bishop of Oviedo, in mid-eighteenth century. Attached to the palace, he built a chapel dedicated to Mary Magdalene, of which some time later it took its name. Palacio de la Magdalena Hotel, as we know it today, opened its doors in August 2007.Hotel Palacio de La Magdalena is located on the estate of the same name, in the highest part of Soto del Barco, at 48 km. from Oviedo, 12 km. from Avilés, 43 km. from Gijon and 6 km. from Asturias' airport.The hotel has different rooms that, without doubt, meet your needs, both corporate and private.spaA luxurious SPA completes the already wide hotel offer of the Hotel Palacio de La Magdalena complex. In his facilities it will be able to enjoy several services, so much thermal as special treatments of relaxation, beauty and well-being in a few spaces, perfectly designed for the comfort and relaxation of our clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Palacio de la Magdalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palacio De La Magdalena Spain/Soto Del Barco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing