We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good diner ”

Pizzeria trattoria il coccodrillo
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 9/19
8:00 PM
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $17
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

This place is in the little village Rocca SAN Giovanni. On the website it’s open at 18:30 but it is open 19:30. From 18:30 you can take a pizza for dinner at home. The restaurant is dry beautiful inside and the view is very nice when you sit at the back in the restaurant. The food was SUPER good. I think this is the best pizza I eat in my life. The price for the food was very good. Special pizzas for 9 Euro. The dessert was 4 Euro. Very good and you need to eat here when you are in the area.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Esmee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 234 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2017

Depending on the road you take, Rocca San Giovanni is three to five hours from Rome. It's a beautiful little town with a lovely piazza and a church bell that rings on the quarter hour. The townspeople here are fabulous and the pizza... well it's unbelievable. At Il Coccodrillo there is a whole page on the menu devoted to the flour that makes the pizza crust so fragrant and light. Add to that the DOP tomato sauce and fior di latte cheese and you have a meal you will not forget! All in a gorgeous family restaurant full of folks having a great time. Our servers were two young men, absolutely determined to provide the best service. Mission accomplished. I love people who care this much.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JanetKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant that has plenty of choice on the menu for pizza lovers. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and reservations are recommended as this is a really popular spot for family and friends to get together. Try the potato pizza, delish!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lubeliaa2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015

Recently introduced to this great Pizzeria by our Italian friend Nico. This place is a really good night out they serve all types of pizza but their speciality is Tartarughe., literally translated that is "Turtles". All I can say is that it has nothing to do with the reptile and taste fantastic. Well worth a visit, we will definitely be going back.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

This must be the best pizza i have ever had! The crust so thin yet crunchy with the less is more topping it gives such a great experience! Don't forget to make a reservation as this place is packed every night!

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Joelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria trattoria il coccodrillo also viewed

Rocca San Giovanni, Province of Chieti
Lanciano, Province of Chieti
 
Rocca San Giovanni, Province of Chieti
Lanciano, Province of Chieti
 
Lanciano, Province of Chieti
Lanciano, Province of Chieti
 

Been to Pizzeria trattoria il coccodrillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing