We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maria Caderina Green Village
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Posada
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent a week here at the beginning of June and could not have asked for anything more. Could not really find a fault. Friendly, clean, peaceful and the evenings 4 course meal were delicious. Thankyou.

You would need a car if you stayed here.

5 mins drive to nearest town Posada and 10 mins drive to white sandy beaches.

About 45 mins drive from Olbia airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    27
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
133
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for a few days in May and the hotel was simply delightful. In a relatively remote location surrounded by mountains, farmland, and fantastic views of the nearby Posada castle, Maria Caderina is the ideal place to stay if you are visiting Sardinia and are looking for a bit of peace and quiet.

But the serenity of the place is only one of a number of positive elements that will make your stay particularly enjoyable. The food for example, which is sourced from the farm on which the hotel is based, is some of the best European food we have tasted. The cheese, the pasta, the olive oil, the chicken, the pork, the fruit, the desserts, pretty much everything we ate was just incredible. And the house wine and espressos were again out of this world. And for only fifteen pounds a head for a very generous three course meal you certainly can't argue with the value.

Given it's location a car would certainly be the best form of transport to get here and around this lovely island but if you are looking to have a break from driving the hotel will even provide you with a personal guide to chauffeur you around. This has the added value of visiting those places that are off the beaten track and away from all the crowds, the best restaurants that the locals use, as well as the benefit of learning much more about the Sardinian culture and way of life. It honestly felt more like being taken around by a friend more than by a guide and this just added to the authenticity of the experience.

And finally, it's certainly worth giving a mention to the warmth we received from the staff during our stay. Monica was always at hand to attend to our every need and Miko received us with the friendliest smile every time. But most importantly it was the sincerity of their manner which made our stay feel again more like staying with family or friends than at some chain hotel and it is indeed such warmth and friendliness that depicts this lovely island as a whole. We'll certainly be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_79TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed for a week in the Maria Caderina Hotel.

We flew from Dublin to Alghero and hired a car. The hotel is 90 mins from Alghero airport. The roads around Sardinia are very good with motorways between the major towns making driving very comfortable for those not used to driving on the "wrong" side of the road.

We spent a lot of time in the hotel and the surrounding beaches. The nearest beach is a 4 min drive and has beautiful golden sand and turquoise waters.

We had breakfast, lunch and dinner in the hotel most days. I have traveled all over Italy and can honestly say the food Maria Caderina is the best I have experienced. All of the ingredients are sourced locally from the hotel farm.The variety in the menu meant that each meal offered a unique dining experience allowing the hosts to showcase the best in Sardinian cuisine.

The hosts, Milko and Loretta made us feel very welcome and could not do enough for us which made the stay extra special. On the final day we had an early flight and they packed a breakfast and snacks to have on the journey.

The rooms and beds are very comfortable and impeccably clean.

The pool area is also maintained to a very high standard and is very enjoyable if you need a break from the beach.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Colm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Maria Caderina Green Village is a wonderful family run hotel which has a great friendly atmosphere. It is set in beautiful countryside just outside Posada, and is wonderfully quiet and relaxing. We stayed here for 3 nights and wish we could have stayed for longer. The staff were always happy to help and much of the food we ate was sourced or made locally. We ate at the hotel every night as the food was so delicious, and the portions were enormous. A great introduction to traditional Sardinian cuisine! And the morning coffees were fantastic too.

Having a car is a definite advantage, as it means you can explore the countryside and beaches further afield. A trip down to Cala Gonone is within easy reach and here you can take a boat trip down the coast to the most amazing beaches featuring white sand and turquoise sea.

We would heartily recommend Maria Caderina to anyone wishing to stay here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A real treat and a relaxed family run hotel. We were made very welcome and enjoyed authentic local food mostly produced on the family farm.
Beautiful location, peaceful and built in the traditional Sardinian style, highly recommended.
Don't miss the Ricotta cheese!
Steve and Anne, Yorkshire

Room Tip: Mountain views available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve and Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here in June with my husband, and we had a great time. The hotel is immacuately clean, really friendly, modern but traditional. Everything we wanted! The pool is just lovely, and almost everytime we went to sit by it we had it all to ourselves. It really was incredibly relaxing and peaceful. Food is all homecooked, and the portions are huge!!! We are big eaters, and they even managed to beat our appetities. The food is simple and tasty. They serve great coffees and have a good selection of wine. If anything, it might have been nice to have a little bit more variety at breakfast. Perhaps some freshly cooked pastries next to the homemade cakes, and some basic bits like a jug of milk and a toaster for guests to help themselves to? Don't get me wrong, breakfast was nice, but by adding just a couple of extra things they will find they offer an exceptional breakfast. We did enjoy the start to each day, as they give you all the time in the world to sit eat - this is one place that will never rush you! The balcony they have at the back of the restaurant offers great views - they should utilise is more often. We loved eating out there!

Rooms weren't huge, but were wonderfully clean and decorated in good taste. It was nice to see loyalty to Sardinian colour schemes and style. We had a great view of the gardens and mountains from our balcony - it was just lovely. Speaking of the gardens - they were really well maintained and looked as though someone takes great pride in them.

All the staff are friendly, polite and really helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. English isn't spoken very widely in the hotel, but enough to get by. Our waiter and waitress were excellent, as were management. It was great to see so many Italians staying here - surely a good sign!

The location is nicely tucked away, but close enough to drive to town within 10 minutes or so. Local beaches are nice, but we often jumped in the car and explored further afield too. If you stay here you really must get up early and go to Cala Gonone and hire a private boat for the day. It was spectacular. We also went scuba diving in La Maddelena, which was worth doing but very expensive.

This place is great value for money, and a real gem. If you are staying on this side of the island, stay here! We hope to return to one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank loubob07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I can't speak more highly of this hotel. The location was stunning, set deep in the beautiful Sardinian countryside, far away from the tourists and traffic. The buildings were authentically designed in vivid colours in a traditional Sardinian style. The rooms were immaculate, bright and fresh with a balcony with views far across the vast space of rolling hills under the bright blue skies. The food was high quality, made using ingredients freshly produced on the farm. What made the place more special was the warm welcome and excellent service- all the staff were all so friendly and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable.
Of course, being so remote means a car or scoter is needed as public transport cannot be relied on- alternatively you can hire a bicycle, as we did, however you do need to be quite fit as getting to surrounding places and towns requires quite a few miles of cycling!
I would recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to immerse themselves in the peaceful, beautiful Sardinian country- an amazing experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Posada
56.4 mi away
Galanias Hotel & Retreat Domos Galanas
33.6 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 40 in Olbia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 mi away
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
#1 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
121.6 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
21.5 mi away
Hotel Stefania Boutique Hotel by the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Caderina Green Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Caderina Green Village

Property: Maria Caderina Green Village
Address: Localita Predarva SNC, 08020, Posada, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Posada
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Posada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maria Caderina Green Village 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maria Caderina Green Village is situated in a suggestive country location, just a stroll away from the village of Posada and its beaches. The hotel has a gorgeous restaurant, a indoor fitness area, a swimming-pool, two meeting spaces. Facilities for disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Maria Caderina Green Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Caderina Green Village Posada, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing