We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waiatarua
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Its Good to go there if you just want to go away form the city life. we stayed here for 1 night and when we check the website and room description it looks good and interesting. when we reach there we had a smooth check in. the room was OK but you can see the spiders in the rooms. i know its in the middle of forest but still cleaning is part of the room. you have to pay $100 excessive when you check in even you don't want to eat or drink there. all they want is money and don't even care about what customer want.
we have already informed the reception that we have to check out at 05:30 Am in the morning and we will not be using any facility but still we have to pay the extra amount. I don't understand that why you have to charge extra even i am paying for the accommodation and you have my credit card details already. I work in hotel as well and i don't think it should be like that. Hospitality is not just about money , its about what customers think about you.

Room Tip: If you expecting something exciting then shouldn't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RaviMorya4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for your comments and we appreciate your feedback. As is the practice in most hotels we do require a bond on arrival. Where a guest has a credit card an authorisation on a credit card is fine, this way a prepayment is not required and if there are no charges payable this can be zeroed out on departure resulting in no charge to the card.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 225 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Purchased a package which included breakfast - definitely on the pricey side just for one night but didn't mind as it was our anniversary. Set in a beautiful location with lovely gardens it looked lovely from outside, however once inside the decor was very tired. Our room was stifling hot and with no air-con or even a fan we had a terrible sleep. Staff were lovely, and the food at the restaurant was absolutely delicious but again very, very pricey. The breakfast which was included was average and some decent coffee would definitely have helped. We wouldn't stay again, although if it was refurnished it would have huge potential.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NZ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Your feedback is appreciated. In terms of the styling of the hotel all of hotel public areas and rooms have been recently refurbished in a classic styling by some top Boutique Hotel interior designers and is definitely not tired. The design is classic, very warm and welcoming and the style is well illustrated on our website www.waitakereestate.co.nz We have received considerable positive feedback on the design of the hotel.

Our restaurant cuisine is of a high standard and is well priced particularly in comparison to restaurants of similar standards in the City. We also offer a number of package options which provide great value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

First a huge caveat...we really enjoyed our stay at the Waitakere Estate and would 100% recommend. But.....to live up to it's "Boutique" claim it needs just a few tweaks.

Service at reception from check in onwards was superb, friendly and helpful, whilst our needs were minimal(an overview of the estate and walks and a taxi booking) they were dealt with in a friendly manner with the personal touch of a hand written note on our door confirming our taxi had been booked.

The grounds and estate were superb, perhaps only improved by tidying up some of the areas around the outbuildings which looked a little like junk yards.

The room itself was very pleasant, the views superb and clean and tidy all round, the bathroom was small but perfectly formed with good toiletries and a great shower, if you are mega picky perhaps a boutique hotel should have a giant bathtub???

Decor of the actual room was good but compared with similar establishments I have stayed in that have had that boutique/country retreat feel to them were perhaps underspecced in terms of quality of bed and flashness of entertainment systems and furniture( you did get a relatively modern flat screen TV and ipod dock but it wasn't the flash Bose or Bang and Olufsen you would find in some "boutique" establishments.). These are minor points however. If I were to describe the room (not including bathroom) I would say overall it was akin to a mid range business traveller hotel room anywhere in the UK/USA but with an awesome view.

The main reason however for 4 stars rather than 5 comes down to the restaurant. We dined offsite in the evening mainly after reading the odd review that suggested that occasionally the restuarant which whilst good could be quiet and you may be one of only a few guests dining.

We therefore cannot judge the nicely designed degustation menu or even the a la carte. We can however comment on breakfast.

On the whole I'd say this.....waiter was pleasant however slightly curt and felt like you were being rushed. As some of the selection was buffet I went to grab an orange juice and had not looked at the hot menu by the time he arrived, when I said I needed a moment he let out a heavy sigh and plodded off.

The buffet selection again would be adequate in a business traveller hotel but to raise the game needs to be a bit more flash, cereals ok, pastries etc good but tinned fruits????

The hot selection again just needs a minor tweak, the eggs were great however quality of sausages poor, I've seen better outside Bunnings in a slice of white bread.

My top tip would be to push the boat out one Saturday morning and get the chef a chance to have brekkie at the Sofitel, steal their concept and suppliers and you will get 5 stars from us.....

Overall a great stay and we will recommend to friends and family and perhaps stay again but perhaps eat out for breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adsnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for your comments and we do appreciate your feedback.

We regret you felt rushed by your breakfast waiter and have taken this matter up. Also some good news on the breakfast front, we are looking at a new concept for the breakfast buffet along with some other hotels in the Heritage Hotels Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had been very busy tourists in NZ for a week and decided to splurge on a high note in what looked like a fantastic boutique room for our final night. Waitakere Estate proved to be an excellent choice. Just driving up and around to find the accommodation was terrific. The light rain added to the beauty of the surroundings. Maddie at reception was warm and welcoming and escorted us to our room. We had great views from our room even though it was raining with low cloud to begin with. Had a lovely walk through the bush and grounds when the weather cleared a bit. The room was clean and attractively furnished and the bathroom was modern with lovely toiletries. Loved the shower with it's rainfall shower head. We were booked in for dinner which was delicious and very artfully presented. The waiting staff were attentive and friendly. The view from our window seat was spectacular as the lights from Auckland started to twinkle. A comfortable bed meant a restful night's sleep and the following morning we were greeted with a beautiful sunny morning and wonderful views once again. Lovely cooked breakfast. A memorable experience and one that we hope to repeat in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7...great because there are views from two directions as it is on the end of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SUE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had a lovely stay here, only 45 minutes from where we live but felt like we'd got away. The views are stunning and the grounds of the estate are lovely. We enjoyed a bush walk, played petanque, swam in the pool, played squash and just relaxed. Enjoyed delicious food at the in-house restaurant. Prices perhaps slightly on the high side. Views from the restaurant were amazing and I've seen all that landscape before! Family owned and the hotel has a nice bit of history attached to it. Staff really lovely and helpful.
Hotel decor is a bit tired and out dated but everything wonderfully clean. Lovely modern bathroom though. Felt the room price was slightly on the high side but in keeping with most Auckland places. Place could do with a face lift, a few cosmetic things really.
Only downer was the rowdy people next door but as it was New Years eve we let it slide.
Would go back again and would recommend to people wanting a nice treat out of the city. Would make a great wedding venue too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaPedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Had a lovely stay in the estate accommodation. The views from the room were amazing, being able to see from South Auckland to the North Shore, as well as Rangitoto and the Bridge. The birdlife was prolific, so lovely to see kereru flying past.
An olde world experience, but the meals in the restaurant were outstanding, being well plated and very well cooked.
The owners have put in many new features- our bathroom was exceptional.
So close to the magnificent Karekare and Piha beaches too.

Only recommendation would be to modernise the sports area and maybe heat the ever so clean pool.

Room Tip: Our room no 4 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

I booked this with the anticipation of something special. We had 3 rooms and they were fine. Great views and well maintained. When we went for dinner it did become a bit Fawlty Towers like as per a previous review. A bar with no coke or lemonade and concern about whether there was more than 1 bottle of tomato juice???The staff were pleasant but were running from one task to another and seemed to be let down by the lack of staff on duty and this impacted on the service right thru the night. It looked to be a full house of guests and the management could have staffed up accordingly. It is marketed as a boutique up market place to stay and the prices reflect that so it is important that the service backs the marketing up. Unlikely to return as for price of $400 plus per couple for the stay there are better options available around Auckland.

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiatarua
5.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
#1 of 1 in Waitakere City
150 reviews
12.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,883 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,341 reviews
11.2 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 65 in Auckland Central
325 reviews
12.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#10 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate

Address: 573 Scenic Drive, Waiatarua, Auckland 0650, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiatarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waiatarua
Price Range: $107 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the heart of luxury at Auckland’s Waitakere Estate and retreat to the peaceful surroundings and breathtaking scenery of the native rainforest, only thirty minutes from Auckland. Escape the everyday and experience the magic of this spectacular rainforest retreat, featuring sweeping views that overlook the lush forest and native bush, on to Auckland and the Hauraki Gulf. Great in every season, Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate offers luxury accommodation and premier facilities within easy reach of the city. We have something for everyone, whether it’s relaxing amidst our beautiful grounds and gardens, exploring the magnificent open spaces of the Waitakere Ranges, or tempting yourself with a superb meal or high tea at our stylish restaurant. No matter your agenda or interests, our friendly welcoming staff will delight and indulge you, ensuring that your holiday is a truly authentic New Zealand Experience. Book today and immerse yourself in this elegant rain forest setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland`s Waitakere Estate Hotel Waiatarua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing