We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waiatarua
Sydney , Australia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Nightmare”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Booked into the hotel with Expedia via Trip Advisor while on the road to Auckland. On arrival it was obvious that this was probably not going to go well. Reception was not manned by a receptionist as they had left for the day by the time I arrived just before 7pm. This meant that I also was not on the "arrivals" list but a good bit of tracking by the guy who was manning the desk located the email to the hotel from Expedia with the booking. Then the news I was given was that yes I had a room but none of the facilities were open (food, drink) as the chef had gone home early also! So here I was in the middle of the ranges ... i.e: in the middle of nowhere .... with a room but nothing to eat or drink. The gentlemen behind the desk did his best but frankly when the reception staff and the service staff all head home early then there is no hope. Needless to say I went looking for a place that could actually provide the service I was paying for ... and I found it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We note you made the booking, by your own admission last minute/impromptu whilst you were on the road to us at almost 6pm. We acknowledge you were not on the printed arrivals list updated late that afternoon, however the booking was, as you agree, in our booking system and had been confirmed to you.

Reception was manned by our Night Manager, the gentleman who greeted you immediately upon your arrival at approximately 7.30pm; we are unsure why you have stated that we had no receptionist /service staff given that you liaised directly with them.

We understand that it must have been upsetting for you that check in was not as smooth as either you, nor we would have liked; and we sincerely apologise for that. However, a room was available for your stay, and a free upgrade to our Deluxe Room was offered to you by our night manager as an apology for the delay in locating the specifics around your booking.

As the other guests we had in house had made arrangements to dine offsite at eateries nearby (of which there are numerous options), a decision was made at 5.30pm to close the restaurant for the night as we had no dinner reservations for that particular night.
As I am sure you appreciate, that with no bookings for the restaurant, there was no reason for us, as a small boutique hotel, to keep a chef on when there was no one at that late stage in the day confirmed to cook for. Normally whenever a booking is made with appropriate lead time we contact guests to ascertain if they would like to make a reservation in our restaurant.

We would have been more than happy to have given you menus, directions and made a booking on your behalf to the restaurants and cafes nearby (the closest just 5 minutes drive), had you given us the opportunity to do so. instead it was your choice to leave and stay in the city, 30 kilometres away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    65
    35
    20
    15
See reviews for
21
152
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was there for a conference. My group had booked out the whole hotel. I was one of the first to arrive and we requested a change of rooms. The room allocation software must be incredibly old as it took almost two hours (and a very flustered desk clerk) to swap the occupants of two rooms. The place was very cold on arrival as the fire in the nice big guest lounge had not yet been lit. I eventually got a room in the main building. It was a good size, had a great view and was very comfortable. Nice semi open bathroom to rest of room. However, the bathroom fan was an unwelcome noise which continued for ages after the bathroom light was switched on.

I had strict dietary requirements which were advised many weeks in advance. Unfortunately, every meal was a frustrating battle to get something that fitted my needs. Other colleagues had similar difficulties. They really don't do this well.

They muddled through providing the conference requirements. And serving a meal to 28 of us sitting down to dinner at the same time was too challenging. Main courses come with no vegetables and the side order vegatables were delivered after almost all the meals were finished. They sell wine by the glas (limited) and by the bottle but do not pour to allow tasting of purchased bottles of wine.

The checkout was dreadful. They asked us all to vacate our rooms before the conference began for the last day - a few hours earlier than the advertised checkout time - but did not have the bills ready when everyone was queing up to check out. Took many hours to process us all. Many of us did not have all the dockets attached to our bills verifyling room charges.

The wifi connection was so difficult to use and mobile reception was patchy. If this is important to guests, you should also think twice before staying here.

Think carefully before you stay here for a conference or come here if you have special dietary needs. Otherwise, because of its views and pleasant surroundings, it might be a nice place to stay for a day or two. Arrive in daylight. Too hard to find in the dark..

Room Tip: If rain is expected, you may want to ask to be in the main building rather than one of the outlying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 03Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on the hotel and your stay; we are sorry to hear of your comments, especially given how hard we tried to meet the ongoing requests of yourself and your group throughout your stay.

Unfortunately the delay in re allocating and moving your colleagues room (as yours was unchanged from original allocation and available for check in immediately) was due to a glitch in our new room software, however, you were kept updated of progress throughout the 30 minutes it took to complete this rearrangement, and apologies for the delay were made multiple times during this. Had it been communicated to us, via your conference organiser prior to your arrival that certain guests within the party were required to be situated within the main building, then we could certainly have accommodated this when allocating rooms the week prior to your arrival; no delay would have being experienced at all had this been the case.

In regards to your dietary requirements, based on the information provided to us a few days prior to your conference we established that many of our menu items accommodated your dietary requirements - however it was your choice not to have these. When there was not a suitable option/s available to you our chef consulted with you directly to provide options across the three days you were here; previous guests have sincerely appreciated this personalised consultancy - our apologies that this has come across to you as incompetence as opposed to a higher level of service in which it was intended.

The last day of your conference was scheduled to conclude after check in commences; as we had other guests checking into the hotel that day we did ask that your group ensure your luggage was out of the rooms prior to the 11am check out time so that we could service the rooms ready for the guests arrival at 1pm. I am sure you will understand that it was a fair request to ensure that incoming guests were not impacted in their experience and stay with us with delayed check ins.

In regards to your bills, all dockets were available for you to view prior to settling your bill, an itemised statement was provided outlining each charge and individual dockets were attached with your copy of the final bill upon settlement. In the unlikely situation that any dockets were not included with your bill, then we could have certainly reprinted a duplicate of these for you upon request.

Our wireless network is by log in, similar to most other wireless setup's, requiring you to join the network using a username and password, we are sorry that this proved difficult for you. Most of our guests do not experience difficulties in doing so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Beautiful hotel hidden in the Waitakere's with amazing views over the city, especially at night. Beautiful lobby with a great old-fashioned feel and good sized rooms with excellent bathroom facilities. Great hotel for a lovely little weekend getaway from Auckland!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennart085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us; we are pleased that you appreciate our decor; we recently refurbished the hotel in a manner which is tastefully reflective of its gracious history. As you look out over the city it is hard to believe we are so close to Auckland, yet feel like another world away - as you experienced in your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Fantastic and spectacular views from this estate within the rain forest of the Waitakere's. Greeting on arrival was friendly and welcoming and full of relevant information on activities available during our stay. Sadly, a very stormy afternoon and evening put a stop to us exploring the many walks in and around the area. Dinner was tasteful and staff very attentive. We enjoyed our night away and would fully recommend staying.

Tip: watch your GPS directions, it took us to the back entrance where we came across a locked gate, upon ringing reception, they kindly sent staff to unlock for us. Otherwise we would have to had turned around and drive an hour to the front gate. Reception advised this happens to a few of their guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asign0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We have tried corresponding with Google to redirect customers to our Scenic Drive address with no success.

The Opanuku Road entrance is a private driveway and not always accessible to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

What a great experience and yet only moments from Auckland city. This was memorable from the moment we arrived drving down through the forest and suddenly out to the hotel carved out of the bush and perched on the point with the city below. The welcome at the front desk was the best we have ever experienced, friendly, extremely efficient and gave us all the details that we needed. Our rooms were very recently upgraded and very comfortable. Sitting in the lounge in front of a roaring log fire we felt a million miles away. The degustation dinner was an enjoyable experience and the fully cooked breakfast (included) the following morning just capped off a great night. Just wish we could have had longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
It's the quality of a stay that's important, not the quantity.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future when another opportunity presents itself.

Don't leave it too long !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We are pensioners and my dear wife's 70th birthday was coming up, we wanted somewhere extra special to go to in Auckland. We had family coming in from overseas and a group of 20 guests in total.
We checked the Internet and THE WAITAKERE ESTATE took our fancy as it was historic, was different and the glowing reveiws on the food and service closed the deal.
Booking was a delightful experience the girls at reception were very helpful and contract and deposit was paid.
On the day we were treated like royaly, had a bar an and our own waitresses. Meal was delicious drinks were cold and everyone aged from 12 to 81 enjoyed there lunch and the experience, views and ambience. THANK YOU WAITAKERE ESTATE 5 stars.

Room Tip: Winding drive way over a kilometre take care, good parking. Try the venison shanks on mash, deliciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you Arthur. We were delighted to host your wife's birthday luncheon. Wherever possible we attempt to meet and exceed customer expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Was given this weekend getaway as a huge thank you ... Was teally surprised to come down the huge drive not knowing what was in store... Had a beautiful light picturesque room over looking the pool... Was glorious... Reception was great .. The lady remembered the conversation on he bookng,,, was a bit dissapointed at the actual buildings a bit run down. But it looks like they are working on that.. Had a coffee out on the deck by the dinng room... Really nice... Had a massage in our room was well done...and then a 6course degustation meal for dinner... Wow very small portions. My husband was sure we were off to find mc donalds after BUT could not fit another thing in after course no 6 .... Was really yummy and really well presented.. Decore in dining area really outdated but the vew was amazing only thing we could fault was that there were no .loungers to sit byy the pool would have been lovely

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidz4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Degustation menus traditionally are small portions with several courses. We are pleased you were not disappointed by the offering.

Your additional comments are noted with thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiatarua
11.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
12.5 mi away
Vineyard Cottages
Vineyard Cottages
#1 of 1 in Waimauku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
#1 of 1 in Waitakere City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
12.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
12.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate

Property: Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
Address: 573 Scenic Drive, Waiatarua 0650, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiatarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waiatarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Boutique Waitakere Estate is set in a stunning rainforest setting only 30 kilometres from Auckland City and the Airport. The property is a 21 room 4 star boutique hotel with restaurant and lounge bar facilities. The hotel's ridge top setting provides magnificent views of the surrounding rainforest and of Auckland City. There are extensive bush walking options on-site and in the surrounding Waitakere Ranges Heritage Park. The spectacular West Coast beaches are also neraby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland`s Waitakere Estate Hotel Waiatarua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing