We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers - how we love it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waiatarua
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Yes, it's a quirky hotel - a little like fawlty towers, OK a lot like it - but it's home for us when we visit Auckland. The estate setting is breath-taking - looking out over a fern forest and down to the lights of Auckland. The lawns are lovely, and there are nearby hikes. The rooms with balconies have been redone in the last three years - the balconies all have great views and are perfect for late afternoon wine drinking. We are a little daring - not afraid to turn on the sauna and use the unheated pool (lots of sunlight so not too bad). A favorite treat: driving over to Titirangi for breakfast - or all the over the hill to the beach at Piha to watch the surfers.
Check their online deals - you can get very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwplatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 223 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

If you want to get away from everything - nice place to sit back & relax. Stayed 1 night in deluxe room & 1 night in spa room. Would have been nice to have sky in the rooms though but overall enjoyed both nights, wonderful staff - friendly & helpful receptionist. Thank you

Room Tip: Both rooms were good, deluxe room was more upgraded & spa room was more spacious & private...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel is tired and needs a complete overhaul, it's stuck in the 60's. On arrival the poor chap at the front desk was also our barman, pool person and maitre d at dinner. We had just spent 2 nighs previous in the Sofitel in Auckland which was 10 times better and get this CHEAPER.... Yes the views are spectacular but they gave me a sore wallet.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Sbz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Auckland's Waitakere Estate was totally refurbished in modern classic styling prior to the Rugby World Cup. The response from guests was extremely complimentary. We suggest potential guests look at the webside to form their own opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Came here with my mum for high tea and we were delighted with the location (not too hard to find and the long driveway is very nice and secluded), with the friendly/quick service, the lovely decor and of course the food. Will definitely be coming back with friends - also looks like a really great place to stay with a pool/spa and a cosy living area. - also just down the road before you come to the estate there is an antiques shop at 515 scenic drive called Rose Hellaby House which is worth a visit with a lovely story about Rose Hellaby the old owner, a good view point, a nice dog to pet and an eclectic collection of not too pricey antiques.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khed4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Auckland’s Waitakere Estate High Tea offerings are reputable and a convivial way to spend an afternoon in the company of family/friends.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just our luck - the weather was shocking and a landmark we were told to look out for was shrouded in fog so we missed it, but the signage is good. The 1km driveway down to the accommodation is not for the faint-hearted or inexperienced driver. It is steep, downhill and narrow. The accommodation and beautiful lounge are just delightful. Unfortunately we did not merge out of the fog until the next morning when we saw a lovely view over the rainforest although it was still raining. This would be a great place to come for high-tea (we saw a group of four enjoying just that when we arrived). You can stay - the accommodation is modern and the room we were in, had a small balcony overlooking the pool, a level below us. The restaurant has lovely windows to enjoy the view. We found the restaurant food in the evening not quite as good as we had hoped for, however the cooked-breakfast was very good the next morning. The staff are mutli-talented and as a result, sometimes the wait for service was a little longer than one might expect but it was a holiday weekend and we were not in a hurry. Accommodation was very comfortable and this is a nice place to just get away to and so close to Auckland city. There are lovely bush walks and west-coast beaches within the vicinity.The lounge is spacious and like an old-fashioned hotel with beautiful, comfortable lounge furniture and the open fire was blazing. There is a swimming pool (not heated), squash courts and sauna but the pool was closed as it was winter and we did not use the other facilities. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcdlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Rain or shine, Auckland's Waitakere Estate is the perfect destination for relaxation. Make sure you take advantage of the hotel facilities on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We just returned home from our beautiful stay at TheWaitakere Estate, what a stunning location and view it offers, we took advantage of an online voucher purchased from grabone with a night accomodation and degustation menu.

On our arrival we were greeted by the loveliest lady who gave us a rundown on what's available and what you can do in the area, which my husband and I really appreciated, she did with such enthusiasm - I will commend her (working on saturday afternoon) as this service is what makes up for it.

There were however some downsides:

There is no sky available in your rooms or dvd players so forget about taking your dvds to relax and watch, there is however a comon lounge with sky, but don't forget this has to be shared with others. There is no spa pool, the receptionist tries to make up for this by stating there is however a sauna with a great big smile. The rooms are ok but things in the estate smell damp and a bit musty, the old 70s feel which is nice however the place is in need of a major overhaul revamp on both the outside and on the in, especially around the pool area - big scrub and paint, inclusive of the squash courts etc everything needs airing out a scrub and paint to bring it up to modern standards....

Now to the rooms...
So this is where we got frustrated...a car comes back to the estate after midnight, they are located in the room above us, their shower is running for over an hour with loud stomping which wakes us up, next door to us the walls are paper thin unfortunately we can hear snooring so loud it keeps us up, by the time we get back to sleep it's 3am, we were not happy campers the next day. People - take your ear plugs.

On the plus side - The 6 course meal here was lovely, great for those who are gluten free, we enjoyed the view from the restaurant and the relaxed atmosphere. This plus the service makes up for the rooms and the noise.

For a hotel like this though I would highly reccomend putting money into it to bring it up to the modern standards of 5 star hotels. Exterior paint, interior make over, new heated pool etc

Pretty much if you are like us and use to 5 star accomodation this may not meet your expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcrleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Auckland’s Waitakere Estate is a 4 star boutique hotel secluded in a rainforest in Auckland’s Waitakere Ranges.

The hotel’s interior decor, Reception, Lounge Bar and Restaurant are all of a classic styling and were only refurbished in August last year by a reputable Auckland designer and the Deluxe and Loft Room offerings completed not long prior.

Guests are welcome to bring CD’s/DVD’s with them when staying at the hotel as all of the Deluxe and Gate Villa accommodation include DVD players in the rooms.

Auckland’s Waitakere Estate is promoted as a 4 star not 5 star hotel, making it desirable and affordable for prospective guests seeking friendly, hospitable, clean and comfortable accommodation located in a rainforest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a great time in our warm and welcoming room, and thoroughly enjoyed dinner at the restaurant.
As others pointed out previously: the place is right in the bush, which doubtlessly adds to its charm - but you expect quite a bit of mosquitoes in summer. As there are no provisions on the windows to keep insects out, we were wondering how management thinks that ventilation will work in summer? If some windows were screened or mosquito nets provided, I would gladly spend some nights in summer at this place. As it stands, I see myself up all night chasing mozzies. I noticed that management previously replied to similar comments: sorry, nothing can be done about it - but that is not actually true. I wish something would be done about it, in which case I gladly returned.

Room Tip: Great views from upstairs rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuaMaRima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Mosquitoes are rare at the hotel and albeit surrounded by forest we are removed from areas of still water.

For the benefit of international guests, mosquitoes in New Zealand do not carry malaria.

The hotel is great in summer with limitless leisure activities in and around the Estate.

Choose a dip in the swimming pool, relax in the sauna, a game of petanque / squash or perhaps a beautiful on-site bush walk.

The spectacular West Coast Beaches are nearby, magnificent bush walks, golf courses and a spot of wine tasting in the local vineyards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiatarua
5.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
#1 of 1 in Waitakere City
144 reviews
12.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
12.5 mi away
Vineyard Cottages
Vineyard Cottages
#1 of 1 in Waimauku
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,351 reviews
11.8 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland Central
702 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate

Address: 573 Scenic Drive, Waiatarua, Auckland 0650, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiatarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waiatarua
Price Range: $112 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Boutique Waitakere Estate is set in a stunning rainforest setting only 30 kilometres from Auckland City and the Airport. The property is a 21 room 4 star boutique hotel with restaurant and lounge bar facilities. The hotel's ridge top setting provides magnificent views of the surrounding rainforest and of Auckland City. There are extensive bush walking options on-site and in the surrounding Waitakere Ranges Heritage Park. The spectacular West Coast beaches are also neraby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland`s Waitakere Estate Hotel Waiatarua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing