We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveler rating
85
79
41
23
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
79
41
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaitakere rangeshigh teaauckland cityeye filletwest coast beachesbridal partymain buildingdeluxe roomcooked breakfastan updatenew zealandlounge areaspa bathcourse degustation menubushgrabonedriveway
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 250 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed at the Waitakere Estate in July with my partner for my birthday. We took advantage of an online deal which gave us a late checkout and a glass of wine each amongst other treats.

We were met at reception by one of the nicest and most helpful ladies I have ever met. She made us feel instantly comfortable, running us through the amenities of the hotel and what we could do nearby.
She took us to our room and showed us around there and left us to it. We took in the breathtaking views and relaxed in the room until our early dinner booking which was something we had both been looking forward to after hearing some favorable reviews of the food.

We were not to be disappointed! My partner commented that it was the best food she had eaten since she had moved to Auckland which says something as we have tried a number of Aucklands best. The staff in the restaurant were a good mixture of sociable and professional. The menu offered a number of different types of dishes that would appease any appetite. The restaurant was busy, most probably fully booked but the food was delivered promptly and beautifully cooked. The portions were generous and pricing was in line with restaurants of the same high quality food.

The most important thing that can not be overlooked at waitakere estate that you will not get anywhere else is the outstanding view, encompassing a full view of greater Auckland and Auckland City, absolutely breathtaking, especially at night.

If you are looking for a getaway from the big smoke without actually having to travel far, Aucklands Waitakere Estate is for you, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMiddleton43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Delighted to hear your birthday escape was memorable. Don't wait for another birthday celebration to visit !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

after a long drive, i was a little apprehensive about what we were going to get. however, after a great meal in their fair priced restaurant, & a great sleep in the peacful surroundings, we were ready to relax for a couple of days.
the grounds are beautiful, however the tracks were not for the unprepared(i.e good hiking shoes). they are great walking tracks, classic kiwiana style.
the views from the bedrooms were amazing, & set up in such a way, you could wash in the luxurious shower & look out over the valley, or close the wall off for privacy.
even the restaurant had amazing views of auckland city. the food served was wonderful, & although they were short of 1 meal after an unexpected influx, they were quick to remedy the issue for dinner the following night. i was happy with the price of the meals, but i eat out very often, & i know what to expect. they were of a high quality, well presented, & tasted great too. they were not over priced, & neither was the drinks menu. in addition to this, i have never in my life had a cooked breakfast at a restaurant for so cheap!
the only thing i would like to have changed, would be availability of a water cooler, or somewhere onsite to purchase bottled water or drinks, during the day.
having worked in customer service for 20+ years & spent some of that in the hospitality industry, i can say, i was very impressed with the service given by all the staff.

Room Tip: all the rooms seem to have great views.. ask the reception, they'll be more than happy to help
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spookikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thank you for your review and don't forget to come back !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is a great location and good views. The room was large and adequately furnished, although dateted. Unfortunately we were the closet room to reception and the lounge area, even though we were one of only three rooms booked, so we got a lot of noise for reception.

The restraint was very disappointing, very over priced for what they served,vibe waitress told us not to order a couple of things of the menu as the chef did not cook them well. Wha we did order was still disappointing.

However the venu is in a lovely location.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank t2cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Had not ventured out this way before and very glad we did.
We were extremely impressed with the staff & services. Nice place to relax and get away from the noise of the city. Our room had an amazing view over the city lights. Dinner was exceptional, the deserts require a special mention!! The chef is a real credit to this place! Look forward to coming back here.!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for your positive response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Sadly the Estate didn't live up to the stunning web pictures! From the outside the paint's peeling, it's tired and it's 70s glam is all but gone. Inside the receptionist was wonderfully helpful, the bar's been nicely done up, but there's no one there to serve drinks - and the beautiful view from the windows is dominated by the car park! The rooms have also been done up and are lovely with stunning views. But the pool was sad, cold and with no amenities - just a few broken director chairs. The outbuildings were terribly tired and shabby. As for the restaurant, it looked great, the staff were lovely and chatty, but it was terribly overpriced for the quality of the food you got, which was good, but not that good. Sadly there were no other meal optons, no bar snacks, no room service menu, nothing except a very expensive restaurant. The breakfasts were even worse, outrageously expensive for the extremely sad, lacking in choice buffet. Overall, the result was disappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LASAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

In response to your review, painting preparation and painting was being undertaken at Auckland’s Waitakere Estate on the “out-buildings” during the February / March period. Whilst the walls and pathways may have had a “peeling” look from scraping and water-blasting they are now all freshly painted.

It is difficult to satisfy all dining expectations as they vary from customer to customer however our marketing clearly advertises Auckland’s Waitakere Estate as a Boutique hotel. We believe this appeals to guests looking for a quiet retreat in a rainforest, hinting at a level of exclusivity. The menu prices are not out of line with other dining establishments of a similar standard around Auckland.

Our continental breakfast buffet has recently been extended to incorporate a selection of stewed fruit, fresh fruit, dried fruit, cereals, croissants, yoghurt, fruit juices and tea and coffees.

A breakfast menu is also available for guests wishing to have a cooked breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews