We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveler rating
85
79
41
23
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
79
41
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaitakere rangeshigh teaauckland citylong drivewayeye filletwest coast beachesbridal partymain buildingdeluxe roomcooked breakfastgrounds are beautifulan updatenew zealandlounge areaspa bathsquash courtcourse degustation menu
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 250 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Sadly the Estate didn't live up to the stunning web pictures! From the outside the paint's peeling, it's tired and it's 70s glam is all but gone. Inside the receptionist was wonderfully helpful, the bar's been nicely done up, but there's no one there to serve drinks - and the beautiful view from the windows is dominated by the car park! The rooms have also been done up and are lovely with stunning views. But the pool was sad, cold and with no amenities - just a few broken director chairs. The outbuildings were terribly tired and shabby. As for the restaurant, it looked great, the staff were lovely and chatty, but it was terribly overpriced for the quality of the food you got, which was good, but not that good. Sadly there were no other meal optons, no bar snacks, no room service menu, nothing except a very expensive restaurant. The breakfasts were even worse, outrageously expensive for the extremely sad, lacking in choice buffet. Overall, the result was disappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LASAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

In response to your review, painting preparation and painting was being undertaken at Auckland’s Waitakere Estate on the “out-buildings” during the February / March period. Whilst the walls and pathways may have had a “peeling” look from scraping and water-blasting they are now all freshly painted.

It is difficult to satisfy all dining expectations as they vary from customer to customer however our marketing clearly advertises Auckland’s Waitakere Estate as a Boutique hotel. We believe this appeals to guests looking for a quiet retreat in a rainforest, hinting at a level of exclusivity. The menu prices are not out of line with other dining establishments of a similar standard around Auckland.

Our continental breakfast buffet has recently been extended to incorporate a selection of stewed fruit, fresh fruit, dried fruit, cereals, croissants, yoghurt, fruit juices and tea and coffees.

A breakfast menu is also available for guests wishing to have a cooked breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I can't say enough about this sensational gem, right on our very own doorstep! This is the first time in my life I've ever felt inclined to write a hotel review - we had such an amazing time here, I just had to! I haven't a clue what the negative posts on here are on about (I think maybe it's something they just do, post negative comments wherever they go lol!!) as our two night stay here was just divine. The air out there is just so pure, clean and pristine and the service we received is comparable to none, our every wish was granted, and then some!!! The food in the restaurant... Omgosh my mouth is starting to water just thinking of all the yummyness we got to enjoy! I will definitely be heading back again to revel in the sights and sounds of this unique beauty that brings a huge smile to my face every time I think of the gorgeousness of it all... Your very own private bush walk as well and stunning grounds and gardens, I could just go on and on!!! But instead, if you get the chance, do not pass go, do not stop in jail lol go strrraight to the Estate! :-)

Room Tip: All the hotel rooms have outstanding views and NB my rating for the 'fitness room' above is for the surrounding tracks lol!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medadane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Beautiful, small and very great for time away from it all. Good food and wine, fantastic views and privacy for all, great lounge to relax in, gentle walks on the edge, no light polution.

Room Tip: all rooms face the same way
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

That's what we try to offer all of our customers. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed one night on a special deal that included a double room and breakfast. We arrived to a warm and friendly greeting at reception and were given excellent information as to what was available at the Estate and surrounding attractions / things to see or do. The room was immaculate and comfortable with outstanding panoramic views. Everything was well appointed and modern. Enjoyed a pre-dinner drink in the character filled lounge. Dinner was superb with great service and food cooked to perfection. The Estate was very quiet and peaceful overnight and we had a most enjoyable breakfast before taking advantage of the 11am checkout. The swimming pool was spotless and the grounds immaculately maintained.
We cannot fault in anyway the place, the staff or the food and our overall experience was fantastic and would not hesitate to rebook in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thank you for your positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We got a online deal to say here.... right from when we first drove in the appearance is of a shabby motel not a 4 star hotel, it does get slightly better once inside so it’s a shame the outside doesn’t look better. We were shown to our room which was nice but on the balcony they'd let a bush grow to high which took out the view of the city. Then after we’d even emailed to say we wanted to dine there when we booked we were told that because they had a wedding on there was no room, what kind of a 4 star hotel can’t cater for a function and its guests? We were told we could “order in a pizza or drive to Titarangi” which is miles away, after reintegrating that I did say on the email when I booked that we wanted to dine with them the receptionist then went off behind the door to have a huge argument with the chef and I could hear all of it (at which point I wondered if I was in an episode of faulty towers!). They then offered to squeeze us in at 6pm if we were quick but after hearing the chef shouting at the receptionist I thought our food would be spat in or accidently thrown on the floor! At this point I was so upset as it was supposed to be a romantic night away, which was ruined and we lived in Auckland we decided to just check out and drive home, so we paid $175 for about 20minutes and of course no offer of a refund....

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

We recall your recent stay at the hotel and the manner in which you departed. Our response is as follows:

A wedding was in progress on Saturday, 25 February and although the kitchen was fully staffed the delays experienced were primarily due to late arrivals of in-house, casual and wedding guests which interfered with the night's booked dining arrangements. Delays like this affect any operational kitchen.

The staff did attempt to accommodate your dining request and had you accepted would have delivered the same service and respect afforded any valued guest.

Whilst we do not deny your claim of raised voices, they were not from the Chef or Receptionist.

Titirangi, a 10-15 minute drive away is the closest destination to Auckland's Waitakere Estate and offers good dining options. The suggestion of a pizza delivery was only mentioned as you indicated Titirangi was too far for you to travel.

We remind you the decision to leave was yours.

A lot of people were in attendance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews