We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunningly outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waiatarua
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I can't say enough about this sensational gem, right on our very own doorstep! This is the first time in my life I've ever felt inclined to write a hotel review - we had such an amazing time here, I just had to! I haven't a clue what the negative posts on here are on about (I think maybe it's something they just do, post negative comments wherever they go lol!!) as our two night stay here was just divine. The air out there is just so pure, clean and pristine and the service we received is comparable to none, our every wish was granted, and then some!!! The food in the restaurant... Omgosh my mouth is starting to water just thinking of all the yummyness we got to enjoy! I will definitely be heading back again to revel in the sights and sounds of this unique beauty that brings a huge smile to my face every time I think of the gorgeousness of it all... Your very own private bush walk as well and stunning grounds and gardens, I could just go on and on!!! But instead, if you get the chance, do not pass go, do not stop in jail lol go strrraight to the Estate! :-)

Room Tip: All the hotel rooms have outstanding views and NB my rating for the 'fitness room' above is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medadane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 228 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

Beautiful, small and very great for time away from it all. Good food and wine, fantastic views and privacy for all, great lounge to relax in, gentle walks on the edge, no light polution.

Room Tip: all rooms face the same way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

That's what we try to offer all of our customers. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed one night on a special deal that included a double room and breakfast. We arrived to a warm and friendly greeting at reception and were given excellent information as to what was available at the Estate and surrounding attractions / things to see or do. The room was immaculate and comfortable with outstanding panoramic views. Everything was well appointed and modern. Enjoyed a pre-dinner drink in the character filled lounge. Dinner was superb with great service and food cooked to perfection. The Estate was very quiet and peaceful overnight and we had a most enjoyable breakfast before taking advantage of the 11am checkout. The swimming pool was spotless and the grounds immaculately maintained.
We cannot fault in anyway the place, the staff or the food and our overall experience was fantastic and would not hesitate to rebook in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thank you for your positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We got a online deal to say here.... right from when we first drove in the appearance is of a shabby motel not a 4 star hotel, it does get slightly better once inside so it’s a shame the outside doesn’t look better. We were shown to our room which was nice but on the balcony they'd let a bush grow to high which took out the view of the city. Then after we’d even emailed to say we wanted to dine there when we booked we were told that because they had a wedding on there was no room, what kind of a 4 star hotel can’t cater for a function and its guests? We were told we could “order in a pizza or drive to Titarangi” which is miles away, after reintegrating that I did say on the email when I booked that we wanted to dine with them the receptionist then went off behind the door to have a huge argument with the chef and I could hear all of it (at which point I wondered if I was in an episode of faulty towers!). They then offered to squeeze us in at 6pm if we were quick but after hearing the chef shouting at the receptionist I thought our food would be spat in or accidently thrown on the floor! At this point I was so upset as it was supposed to be a romantic night away, which was ruined and we lived in Auckland we decided to just check out and drive home, so we paid $175 for about 20minutes and of course no offer of a refund....

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

We recall your recent stay at the hotel and the manner in which you departed. Our response is as follows:

A wedding was in progress on Saturday, 25 February and although the kitchen was fully staffed the delays experienced were primarily due to late arrivals of in-house, casual and wedding guests which interfered with the night's booked dining arrangements. Delays like this affect any operational kitchen.

The staff did attempt to accommodate your dining request and had you accepted would have delivered the same service and respect afforded any valued guest.

Whilst we do not deny your claim of raised voices, they were not from the Chef or Receptionist.

Titirangi, a 10-15 minute drive away is the closest destination to Auckland's Waitakere Estate and offers good dining options. The suggestion of a pizza delivery was only mentioned as you indicated Titirangi was too far for you to travel.

We remind you the decision to leave was yours.

A lot of people were in attendance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Good and bad points. It's quite a unique hotel in the bush. The rooms are lovely - recently renovated, comfy beds. Food was good. We paid too much though. We wanted to book a package and the packages we were ridiculously priced for what it is. But then when we got there they had another special on they hadn't told us about. The reception lady is a bit fiesty too and likes to watch what you're doing all the time, so doesn't feel so private. I noticed recently they were adverstising another special and at reduced rates - it would be worth staying here if you get a special but we paid too much. The other staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familytravellers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thank you for your comments.

At Auckland's Waitakere Estate we attempt to provide our customers with good food and service at all times. These expectations vary from guest to guest.

We highly recommend and encourage guests where possible to view our website in advance of contacting the hotel and identify menus, room, accommodation packages and prices. All are available for viewing on the website and you can book on-line (if preferred) when an appropriate accommodation package is identified.

As part of our check-in procedures and service to customers, our Reception staff strive to make guests feel welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

You think you are seriously travelling to the top of the world - spectacular location on top of the Waitakere Ranges. Shame it wasn't lovely weather, as we only had snippets of the panoramic view in between sheets of driving rain!

The accommodation was nice - but felt that the decks to the units should be non-smoking as well, as we ended up inside, with the door closed to avoid all the smokers! And then found none of the windows opened! This spoilt our experience considerably.

We splashed out on the high tea, which was a lovely experience. Food was nice, but got told if we wanted another cup of tea, it would be an extra $6!! Thought this very exorbitant and should be advertised a little more clearly.

The dinner was very disappointing. The meat I had was tough and not very tasty. The service was generally very bad - we were largely forgotten while other tables around us were served.

If the overall service and food quality was improved, this would be a fabulous place to plan a get-away weekend break or short treat. Let's hope that happens.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodlover27264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Weather conditions are out of our hands at the top of the world however, sunshine or rain, surrounded by forest, the Waitakere Ranges are the perfect destination for a restful escape.

As is customary of High Tea, the first beverage or pot of tea is included. Subsequent beverages are additional. This is normal High Tea practice. The $6.00 charge you refer to was for a pot of tea, 2 cup equivalent. Both High Tea and Beverage menus are available for viewing on the website.

We regret on the night of your stay the service in the Restaurant was not to expectation however our Head Chef orders and serves top quality meats and produce. In the event a meal is not satisfactory this should be taken up with the waiter at time of dining and a replacement meal would be provided.

We welcome your custom and hope this does not deter you from returning in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We have just had one night at the Waitakere Estate, Waiatarua and wish it had been more. We arrived just on 3 pm and shown to our room, wow, what a view - fortunately it was a gorgeous day, everything was spotless, the brass and chrome fittings were gleaming. We had friends popping in to see us in the afternoon and I requested tea for four. The set afternoon teas are usually on Saturday and Sundays but there was no problem on Thursday, beautifully served and two pieces of mouth watering cakes each - we relaxed in the lounge and then took a short walk around the gardens. In the evening we were expecting more friends for dinner, so waited for them in the Bar. We were the only people staying in the hotel so understandably the barman was not in attendance all the time and we did have to ring for service. The barman did not always hear the bell. This is the only reason I have marked down "service" one point. Dinner was superb, a stunning view over Auckland and one of the best meals we have ever had - and we have had a few. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. There was only one problem in the morning. My husband had had a good shower but by the time I got in there something had happened to the hot water pressure. But this was fixed within five minutes and did not cause unnecessary delay. These things do happen, but it is how they are dealt with which makes the difference. Check out time was not until 11 am so we had time to take a short walk into the bush before we left. Waitakere Estate is a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are similar but those on the second floor would have a better view. I believe sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Manager at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

It's always good to hear from satisfied customers. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiatarua
5.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
#1 of 1 in Waitakere City
156 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,395 reviews
11.2 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
11.9 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,452 reviews
12.2 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate

Address: 573 Scenic Drive, Waiatarua, Auckland 0650, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiatarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waiatarua
Price Range: $112 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the heart of luxury at Auckland’s Waitakere Estate and retreat to the peaceful surroundings and breathtaking scenery of the native rainforest, only thirty minutes from Auckland. Escape the everyday and experience the magic of this spectacular rainforest retreat, featuring sweeping views that overlook the lush forest and native bush, on to Auckland and the Hauraki Gulf. Great in every season, Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate offers luxury accommodation and premier facilities within easy reach of the city. We have something for everyone, whether it’s relaxing amidst our beautiful grounds and gardens, exploring the magnificent open spaces of the Waitakere Ranges, or tempting yourself with a superb meal or high tea at our stylish restaurant. No matter your agenda or interests, our friendly welcoming staff will delight and indulge you, ensuring that your holiday is a truly authentic New Zealand Experience. Book today and immerse yourself in this elegant rain forest setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland`s Waitakere Estate Hotel Waiatarua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing