We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by breakfast and no wifi in room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverhouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverhouse B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Upwey B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Let down by breakfast and no wifi in room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Room and dinner fine. Breakfast horrible. Soggy pasties, boxes of cereal (cornflakes and a sugar crusted version of cornflakes) plus one tiny sachet of muesli. We are actually happy to not have cooked breakfast but fruit, yogurt and bread and toaster would be more acceptable. It seemed a generous amount but we only had the juice and tea.

We asked if there was wifi before we booked. In the evening we used it in the dining room BUT in the morning pub is locked and no wifi in room. I think we should have been told wi fi not in room.

Very big bathroom set up for use by person with mobility issues. - showier chair and accessible toilet. Not sure is room accessible by wheel chair.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluenanou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine D, Owner at Riverhouse B&B, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
GREAT NEW WIFI - Thank you for your feedback in relation to our WIFI - We are happy to inform you that we now have a great new WIFI system installed in all our rooms. We are also serving full Englilsh Breakfast as an added extra - Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    21
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
56
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, Channhel Islands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our room, named Bramble, are big and airy, with a good sized ensuite bathroom. The Freeview TV did a good job, and the tea / coffee making facilities were more than adequate. Breakfast was a continental breakfast, with the milk kept cool for you in a small fridge in the room.

The inn itself offered a very good and varied menu with competitive pricing.

The package represents good value. My only gripe was the broadband was only available in a corner of the Inn itself, and the connection speed couldn't manage 0.5MB and kept dropping off. When I highlighted this to the owners there was no interest in resolving matters.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJB26210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

spent a great two nights at this friendly and beautiful place to stay. The gardens are stunning and a cool place to relax. The hosts are great and ensure your stay is trouble free, giving you time to concentrate on stunning Dorset. Previous reviews have a problem with the breakfast?? There are only six of us staying so cooked breakfast's aren't viable for the Hosts. A toaster in the room would be a good thing though. Rooms are great. Spacious, well equipped, but be honest you do not spend a great deal of time in them. Will be returning

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We recently stayed at the Riverhouse Inn for 2 nights in August and we were not disappointed, The rooms were large and spotlessly clean and the food in the restaurant was to die for
Beautifully cooked very tasty and good value for money
The staff were very very pleasant and professional and nothing was too much trouble
We will definitely be going again

Room Tip: If you want a quiet peaceful break I can recommend The Riverhouse Inn the Garden is beautiful and if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Booked two nights here
Room is very stuffy at night not able to get any air into room
Rooms are clean and tidy but breakfast is really bad unless u like your Danish and croissants soggy as they are put into your room the night before .
Also be aware that the owners don't fit around you you fit around them if you get lost don't bother ringing as they have a answer phone on unless its during their opening hours which again for a pub are strange don't open at all on a Sunday and no advise on how to contact them if you have a problem o unless the place is on fire ! Make sure you do your research if you want to stay here as it seems to be customer unfriendly from our experience very cold reception as it was 6 o clock pub was open. Be aware also if you come back late their are only cheap solar garden lights which make it very difficult to see your way back to your room . Again not customer friendly.
We had a meal in the pub which was average chips not cooked and all you can taste is chip fat I had a mixed grill 14.95 which was very average not worth the money we had to send other food back which we could not eat . Billed as a good place to eat but not really value for money and then not really bothered when you do complain so for customer service and looking after their customers I would give them a 3 out of 10 won't be booking again or eating their.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advance11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The room was clean and had all the usual facilities. The mattress was really bad and I ended up sleeping on the floor. The 'mediterranean garden' mentioned by others was scruffy and needed attention. The worst feature was breakfast. A tray of packaged cereals, juice and biscuits, with two croissants and pains aux raisins was put in the room about 10.00pm the night before.
When we checked out this morning about 9.30 the pub was in darkness and locked up so we left the key in the door.
Locals told us that they were trying to sell the business; better happen soon or there will be no customers left

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BiviBag_ADV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel was offering a rate of 2 nights for £99 which on reflection was good value for money.

The location is semi-rural - only 10 mins drive to Weymouth or Dorchester and there is a good sized free car park.

The rooms are a good size and clean! They are set in a nice location as you can walk straight out into a little garden area and it is very quiet!

The only thing that let our stay down was the poor attitude of the landlady. She was obnoxious and quite rude in all honesty - without going into details she made us feel uncomfortable and unwelcome during our stay.

I would liked to have fed this back directly however the restaurant was closed when we checked out! Overall a pleasant stay, hopefully this lady was just having a bad day!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upwey
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
3.0 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pump Cottage
Pump Cottage
#1 of 3 in Upwey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swallows Rest
Swallows Rest
#21 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse B&B

Property: Riverhouse B&B
Address: 54 Church Street, Upwey, Weymouth DT3 5QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth > Upwey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Upwey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic and picturesque village of Upwey this traditional inn is between Dorchester and Weymouth. Near to the famous Jurassic coast and Jubilee Trail, Came Down Golf Course and ideal for exploring the Dorset Countryside. The luxury en-suite accommodation is located in converted stables overlooking the Mediterranean garden. Established in in a peaceful setting , this family run B&B has an informal relaxed atmosphere. Serving full English breakfast or continental. Free parking makes it a great choice if you are catching the Ferry from Weymouth Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Riverhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing