We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country styled comfort”
Review of Fern Hill Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Howick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fern Hill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howick
Certificate of Excellence
Durban
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Country styled comfort”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Rooms are very spacious and comfortable with all one needs for a quiet relaxing getaway. The Room is classically furnished reminding one of a "country styled hotel" with all amenities available including tea/coffee refills..We stayed dead bang in winter and was grateful for the warm ambience in our room assisted by electric blankets. The bar and restaurant is very lively especailly if a big rugby game is on. Due to this cold, we were unable to use the pool facilites but the pool looked in pristine condition.The only disappointment was that due to the number of guests that weekend, we were not given the option of the Buffet breakfast,which we were looking foward too but the kitchen staff advised they only do the buffet run if there are plenty of guests. However the food served up was ample and tasty. Great value for money and friendly efficient staff make this hotel a Winner in my book.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donovan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    34
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
43
22
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I spent a night at Fern Hill on my way to the Berg in November and have decided I like it. It is a bit stuck in the "country hotel" warp of the 1990s but I rather like it that way. The accommodation is comfortable and, because there is a chef's school on site, the food is extremely good. Setting is lovely and everything is well-maintained. Staff are friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AuntieFr0mJ0zi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

After just having spent R1300 for the four of us at an atrocious B&B, with our skin crawling from white ants and black mould, and feasting our senses on viewing huge rats...we landed up by accident and good fortune at Fern Hill.
There was accommodation to spare and we lucked in to a comfortable 2 bedroom family unit, for R600 per day for the four of us! The unit had airconditioning, was decorated nicely and the boys shared a room with two single beds. We had Tv with DSTV, the linen was fairly new, clean and was kept clean and made up

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a family reunion and decided to have Sunday lunch at Fern Hill Hotel. The hotel serves a carvery on a Sunday and it was pretty full so thank goodness we had booked ahead as there was 9 of us.

I was so impressed that they offered so much choice, hot and cold starters (crumbed mushrooms - my favourite), soup, salads, and fish. I had to go back twice just for the mushrooms.

The carvery looked good but as a veggie there was a lot of choice for me as they had a pasta choice as well as all the accompaning vegetables etc. I haven't seen this much choice at a carvery in a very long time. The desserts were delicious and the waiters even brought out ice-cream especially for one of our younger family members who didn't eat any of the desserts on offer. How good is that?

Tea and coffee were included in the meal and I would say that this is very good value. The staff are polite and you weren't made to feel rushed in order for them to fill more seats. Yes it is a training hotel but I found the trainees very friendly and I even had a good laugh with a few of them.

When I am back in the area I will certainly be going back to Fern Hill with all the family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jules0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Had lunch here with friends and relatives. Food was delicious, staff were charming and couldn't have been more helpful if they'd tried. Altogether a 5 star experience for us.

Room Tip: To eat in the main restaurant, even on a weekday, it is advisable to make a booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Business_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

http://www.fernhillhotel.co.za/
Guests should note that this is a training hotel, but having said that, there were some areas of real excellence and some that were downright dismal. The rooms are very small and the bathroom tiny. Beds comfortable. Heater did not work but housekeeper replaced it at once. She could not have been more helpful and obliging. Our waitron in the restaurant in the evenings was very professional but one breakfast waiter was rather sad. Front desk staff were generally sharp and friendly with one or two dodgy responses to telephonic queries. Restaurant food was very good. Full on smoking in the pub was a big no-no for us. Clearly a local hangout where rules have not been imposed. One big downside - Needing medical attention in the middle of the night, we found the main building was locked and barred, not even a security guard could be found to help us and phones were not answered. This could have had a very serious outcome. The grounds and gardens are very pretty and pleasant with a superb play area for little kids.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lindores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howick
7.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
234 reviews
14.4 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
83 reviews
14.4 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel and Conference Centre
2.0 mi away
Biggy Best Cottages
Biggy Best Cottages
#5 of 17 in Howick
107 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rockwood Lodges
Rockwood Lodges
#3 of 17 in Howick
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Hill Hotel

Property: Fern Hill Hotel
Address: R103 Midmar, Tweedie, 3255 | R103, Midmar, Howick 3255, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Howick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howick
Hotel Class:4 star — Fern Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run hotel and firm favourite in the Midlands for over 20 years. Fern Hill has 26 rooms, a pub, the award-winning Snooty Fox a la carte restaurant, conference facilities, wedding venues and a chapel. We pride ourselves on offering the best service in the Midlands! We also have an internationally recognised (City & Guilds) Hotel School. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing