We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware - don't be fooled b appearances - food here was very poor”
Review of The Victorian Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Victorian Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Beware - don't be fooled b appearances - food here was very poor”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This cafe looked OK and the menu looked OK too. But appearances were deceptive. I had ploughman's lunch with whole grain bread that was hot and soaking in butter - not much good for putting cheese and ham on. The ham was processed, blue cheese was a long way past it's use by date, and there was some other rubbery cheese and a wilting salad with lettuce going brown at the edges. My partner had a "home made" made pie which was bland and boring and had obviously been frozen, with instant mash potato and limp frozen veg. "Fresh" orange juice was cheap canned stuff. AVOID

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank OceanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
“Simlpy The Best”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife & I had a weekend special staying at The Howick Falls Hotel, The Victorian café is attached and supplies the breakfast required for the Hotel. It was very busy and lots of plates of food was leaving their kitchen at a rapid pace, we didn't wait long for our breakfast to arrive it was so good that we decided to go back for lunch, again it was very busy ( I was told a Tour Group) We had what is described as "The Best Burger in Town" WOW it truly lived up to its name it was out standing, We watched a few other meals going to other tables and they looked equally as good. I would highly recommend this little coffee shop for good food and good service,Our whole experience in Howick has been truly wonderful . Thank you Howick

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great homemade food!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The service and atmosphere was not great but the owner/manager was there and she was very friendly and helpful. The food was homemade and delicious. The pies are yummy and the homemade lemon meringue pie is delicious. Howick itself was not the most interesting stop but our lunch was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dominique W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chintsa, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Would not recommend...”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Popped into this restaurant for lunch as it was close to the falls and had been recommended by a local. Service left a lot to be desired, a few things on the menu weren't available and my friend fell ill within 1hr of eating the "lasagne" which was a bowl of mince with melted cheese on top. Would not go again and would not recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CintsaSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Left with a bitter taste of bad service”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Do not have the quiche! It was terrible and for the price it is unacceptable. Service was really bad too, the attitude of the man there was shocking. Very disappointing! Would most certainly would not return.
Kerri visiting from Johannesburg

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coaker1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Victorian Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing