We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Corner Post Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Corner Post Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Indulge in a delicious menu for the whole family in a welcoming environment.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

When we walked in it was quite dark, we asked for a seer outside and my first impression was, not so great. It looked old and wasn't looked after very well. There is a lovely play area for kids which is a bonus for any one with children. Our food came and it was out of this world. Husband had a burger , i had a platter. Big portions and so affordable. We will definitely head back for the tasty food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppietjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tori K, Owner at Corner Post Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.

We are so pleased you enjoyed you meal with us and thank you for the compliment on our kiddies area.

Regarding your first impression, we are in the process of revamping the bar and certain items in the outside courtyard area. We recently revamped the restaurant.

We hope that next time you come to Corner Post, you will have a pleasant surprise not only with
food, drinks and service, but with the revamp as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    7
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thought we'd ignore the negative reviews and give it a try...... ”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Travelled down for Midmar Weekend, so we knew every restaurant would be full to capacity, and staff run off their feet. Seeing the negative reviews mixed in with some good ones, we thought we'd give it a try. We ate in relays and what was bought to the table was not how it was described on the menu. Sauces and accompanying items not served. To their credit the chef did come out personally to the table, but its no excuse to say we busy. Everyone knows The Midmar Weekend is busy, so instead of complaining and making excuses... fix it. Staff up. Its a real pity that the service was lacking ( we weren't expecting 5 star) but with proper training and management it could be really good.

Helpful?
Thank NHTSandton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tori K, Owner at Corner Post Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.

Thank you for your constructive criticism regarding the service you received during midmar weekend. We will definitely follow up on your complaint regarding the sauces/accompanying items and eating in relays, with our chef, as this should not have happened and we apologise.

We hope that next time you come to Corner Post, you have a fantastic experience not only with
food and drinks, but with the service as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Terrible service! Managers attitude bad and the waitress Kim as wel”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

They will not listen to customers comments and suggestions! Even overcharge for items that appear on the menu at a specified price!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rugbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornerPost, Owner at Corner Post Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
We work hard to offer good food and friendly service, and we are sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations.
We are also disappointing to hear that you weren't given a comment card or your details taken down by our manager so that we could have contacted you.
However, we have addressed your concerns raised in this review and do hope you will give us another chance in the future.
If you’d like to contact me directly so I am able to address your concerns, please email me at enquiries@cornerpost.co.za
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The service is okay but the food is not worth the price. Some dishes are okay (like the chicken and mash) but everything else has clearly been pre-prepared and is served lukewarm and average. Nice for drinks though!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neleroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tori K, Owner at Corner Post Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.
We are glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Our food is made fresh to order, so we surprised to hear that it was not to your satisfaction, and will definitely follow up on your complaint with our chef.
We hope that next time you come to Corner Post, you have a fantastic experience not only with drinks, but also with our food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Had our Christmas dinner here!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Good food, good service, great value. There are internal tables, verandah tables and a lovely beer garden with place for the kids to play. They have created a lovely place here.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxembourgWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tori K, Owner at Corner Post Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our restaurant. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas dinner and our service. Happy New Year! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner Post Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Howick, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing