We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wish come true”

Karkloof Canopy Tour
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Howick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Canopy Tour® takes you on an unforgettable adventure as you slide from one platform to the next along a series of steel cables set amongst magnificent natural surroundings. It is widely regarded as one of the best eco-adventure activities in the world and is something for people of all ages with the youngest being 3 and the oldest 90 so far to do the tour. The concept of Canopy Tour originated in the rain forests of Costa Rica, where scientists were studying animals and birds in the Canopy Layer of the Forest. Safely sliding from tree to tree to a series of platforms became a novel way to see the flora and fauna of an indigenous forest. A whole new level of appreciation was born when the concept became one of South Africa’s most popular eco adventure activities. Karkloof canopy tour is only 1:30 from Durban, near Howick in the Midlands, this is a must do activity especially for nature lovers or adventure seekers looking to do something truly unique. Professional guides assure the safety of each group and point out interesting facts along the way. It’s ideal for team building, kid’s parties, family get-togethers, corporate events or just a fun day out. Open every day, with tours every half an hour from 8am to 3pm. Come experience one of South Africa’s fastest growing eco-adventures with thousands of satisfied thrill-seekers having already caught the bug.
Mooi River
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A wish come true”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

For years we had wanted to experience the Karkloof Canopy Tour.
Our safety was very important and the guides efficient. I was terrified, but when I saw the 6-year old ahead of me enjoying the flight, I had to ‘suck-it-up’ and be brave. It was fantastic!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie-AnnBuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    39
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
239 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was an awesome experience! If we knew it was so much fun, we would have bought two tickets and go again. It is very safe but still quite an adrenaline rush. The views are spectacular and it is really nice to spend some time in nature. The guides are very experienced and efficient and regarded our safety very high. It was also great to see how much they enjoy their job which made it even more fun! A definite must do when you are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PretoriaTravelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A friend was visiting from the UK and had to show him what we have to offer. The canopy tour was an amazing experience. To fly through the trees at such speeds, is awesome. The guides were knowledgable, and very efficient. They certainly enhanced the experience. They sure loved what they were doing and it showed. The photographer got some awesome pictures and the CD at the end was well worth it! It definitely is a must do. We had a snack ( chomp) and a small liquifruit at one point, plus a toasted sandwich at the end, with juice. I thought that was a really lovely touch. Would hapily do it again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well worth the experience”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stunning is the only way one can describe the natural beauty of the area.Young & old are able to participate on this very safe canopy tour

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“BREATH TAKING”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Karkloff canopy tour is not only and awesome experience but the scenery and environment are breath taking. When traveling the Midlands Meander this is one place you cannot afford to miss out on. This is an adventurers paradise.

They have a cute café surrounded by beautiful gardens and you can sit an over look the forest area whilst having refreshments.

Well worth the trip, even for those who don't want to do the "height" thing, there is lots to see and appreciate just being in that environment, while you wait for the adventuress ones.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karkloof Canopy Tour also viewed

 
Nottingham Road, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Karkloof Canopy Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing