We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stocklands Farm
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton(Pietermaritzburg)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redlands Hotel and Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
$115
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Pietermaritzburg)
$105
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Thorn Tree Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg(Pietermaritzburg)
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa(Nottingham Road)(Great Value!)
$132
$129
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveler rating
38
10
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
10
1
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 51 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We arrived on a filthy night with the heavens opening to find a lovely warm room which was so welcoming. Our host and hostess were friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. The beds were comfortable as was our room, and all one could have needed for a night's stay. Breakfast was served on the terrace overlooking the beautiful gardens and it was plentiful and delicious. Lots of history to the house and family, and this is in their brochure in the rooms. Interesting reading. I will certainly return if I am in this neck of the woods in future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GastronomeNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveM704, Owner at Stocklands Farm, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your very positive review! I am so glad that you were warm and comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay. Today is the first fine and sunny day that we have had for nearly 4 weeks - we are holding thumbs that it will continue at least over Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay a night in this gorgeous little place. Clean, pretty rooms and an excellent breakfast. Beautiful gardens, lovely pool and excellent hosts. Would highly recommend making this one of your stops.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveM704, Owner at Stocklands Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that the rest of you holiday in South Africa was good too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

On behalf of our friends whom we met up with at Stocklands BnB for a weekend reunion, I want to thank Eve for a wonderful weekend. I would highly recommend Stocklands as a home away from home - the rooms are thoughtfully furnished with attention to detail and full of little surprises. The breakfasts are first class too. Thank you Eve and Roland for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Luane Brannigan

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveM704, Owner at Stocklands Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come back again on the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We just spent one night here and were really pleasantly surprised as to how nice it was: really great value for the price we were charged. We stayed in Dairy Cottage which is very comfortable and has everything you might need including a large TV in a comfortable sitting area, a fully equipped kitchenette and even electric blankets.
As others have mentioned, there are some really nice touches with sherry etc. but also great personal attention such as switching on the room heaters before we arrived since it was a chilly day and doing breakfast for us although we were staying in a self catering unit.
This would be a good base for a longer stay and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katejcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveM704, Owner at Stocklands Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! It really means a lot when guests take the time to comment and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We found this accommodation through their efficient web site and we stayed in one of the converted farm cottages which was spacious and clean. We appreciated the extra touches like a flask of sherry, liquorice allsorts, fresh fruit, fudge and so on. We enjoyed using the swimming pool which was sparkling and carefully maintained by the owner with clean towels provided. We were self-catering and on the morning of our departure we were unable to cook breakfast so the staff cooked it for us on their gas range.

We would have liked two chairs for the table as having only one meant one person had to eat off a tray on their lap. However there were outside seating areas - it was a little cold in the evening for that though. WIFI was available in the undercover sitting area by the pool. There was also cable TV with a flat screen TV and a selection of channels.

The cost was very reasonable and represented good value. The staff were very helpful. We would stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank OceanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveM704, Owner at Stocklands Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we a were able to help you with breakfast. I am so sorry that you had only one chair - thank you for alerting us to this - we will make sure that we put this right and that in future guests have the comfort of two chairs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews