We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Stocklands Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Howick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stocklands Farm
Ranked #8 of 16 Howick B&B and Inns
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

On arrival it looks lovely and to be fair the grounds are lovely. I chose this for my friends to stay at for our 2 sons christenings - people came in from the US, Australia and Capetown. The US people left due to their room not being clean and smelling, also no aircon even though at booking it was confirmed they had this. The Australian friend who is very relaxed had a nice room - although it was a little dirty but asked if they could do some ironing as it does advertise Ironing is available - she even offered for them to give her the iron and ironing board - she was told to bring her ironing and they would do it - it was 2 items. When she came back with them the landlady shouted at her and told her to go to the kitchens and do her own. The family was given the house which was lovely except the shower leaked everywhere and due to this the carpets were mouldy. when they asked for towels for the pool they were told there were none. On check out the land lady said they had broken the shower when it was VERY obvious that it had been broken for ages and they did not know how to take cards.

I would not recommend this place at all - the land lady needs to take lessons in hospitality - if you dont like people dont be in the travel business

Room Tip: not sure there is one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meg242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

A wonderful old 1850's house with stunning grounds. Eve and Roland are excellent hosts, very thoughtful and relaxed. Nothing is too much trouble. Stocklands is one of the most comfortable B & B's we have stayed in with lots of love and thought having gone into each room.. Our special room...room 1 has a warm cosy bed ( electric blanket) with an mohair blanket for those chilly days common to the Midlands, Fireplace, sherry and DSTV - all our creature comforts. Bath and shower.Breakfasts are served either in the dining room full of beautiful things or outside on the stoep overlooking the gardens. Eve's breakfasts are delicious...free range eggs and all healthy things. Eve's special porridge with Scotch porridge oats is a must. We visit time and time again and it never fails.

Room Tip: Room one with terrace outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 54Judith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stocklands has become for us a Home from Home. The atmosphere and attention to every detail is luxury dressed up as comfort. We always leave feeling as if we have left family behind.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

After our recent visit we can't say anything else but thank you for the wonderfull place to stay! The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is fantastic. The ownes are friendly and most helpful. Stocklands Farm will see us again. This was definitely not our last visit and we recommend it to all ouir friends and family. Danie & Johannatjie

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danievn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Stocklands Farm is a beautiful setting. The rooms are surrounded by beautiful gardens and the house we stayed in was very well equipped BUT ... The house slept six (3 bedrooms) and there were only two bathrooms - only one of which had a shower and it leaked. The water leaked out of the door into the passage way and the damp carpet (which obviously had been like that for a while) made the bedroom smell. The second bathroom had no shower, only a tiny little bath. In their manual they offer a laundry service but there is no mention of the fact that they do not do laundry on Sundays and when we asked for our laundry to be done at first it was refused and eventually after much persuasion it was agreed to but very half heartedly. There are also no air conditioners in the bedrooms which we think, seeing as it has a 4* rating, there should be. We stayed in many other 4* B&B's on this trip and this place in comparison to the other places we stayed at is definitely not 4*. We also found Eve extremely rude and unaccommodating. The place is beautiful but needs upgrading and I feel for the price we paid to stay there it was not worth it. This place does not deserve a 4* rating and I think it needs to be re-evaluated.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlohaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

This was our second visit to Stocklands, and hopefully not our last! A very pretty spot with nice rooms, good friendly service and fantastic breakfasts. The smoothies are the best! Well placed to see Howick Falls and to do the Midlands Meander. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUSSEX
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We spent 5 days here using it as a base for seeing the Drakensburg and to watch our daughter on hockey tour at local schools. The rooms were clean and spacious, it was incredibly peaceful and they provided a wonderful breakfast to help us on our way. The gardens were well kept and it has a nice pool with a poolhouse that was perfect to sit and relax in.
Howick is a lovely spot, we loved the falls, but preferred the Karkloof Falls just a few miles away.
The Yellowwood Cafe next door to the farm was superb, wonderful food and wine in a traditional South African house, the bar was nice too.
Stocklands farm was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLBUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Howick hotels
0.3 mi away
Rockwood Lodges
Rockwood Lodges
#3 of 17 in Howick
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Biggy Best Cottages
Biggy Best Cottages
#5 of 17 in Howick
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nutmeg Guest House
Nutmeg Guest House
#16 of 16 in Howick
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howick Falls Hotel
Howick Falls Hotel
#15 of 16 in Howick
22 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sunbird Guest House
Sunbird Guest House
#9 of 16 in Howick
16 reviews
1.0 mi away
Azalea Bed & Breakfast
Azalea Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 16 in Howick
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stocklands Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stocklands Farm

Property: Stocklands Farm
Address: 4 Shafton Road | Karkloof, Howick 3290, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Howick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Howick
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stocklands Farm is an early settler property set in the Midlands of KwaZulu of Natal. The original Voortrekker house still stands and adjoins an English settler house. There is a three bedroom self-catering cottage, two one bedroom self-catering cottages,two luxury rooms, one Courtyard suite and one standard room. All rooms have private rooms with verandahs that open onto the gearden and all have en suite bathrooms. Breakfasts are served either on the garden verandah or in the dining room in the old settler house.There are extensive gardens, which include a small idigenous forest, a swimming pool and large poolroom all for the use of guests. For attractions around Stocklands there is the well-known Midlands Meander with a wealth of craft shops, artisits and restaurants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing